We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice beach to walk along.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Hotelera

Playa Hotelera
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A nice beach to walk along.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

A wide expansive beach to walk along. We started at the north end, at the Estuary, and walked down to Zippers beach restaurant, at the south end.
The waves can be big here, and there is under tow, so not ideal for swimming. The Hotels along this beach are mostly all inclusives, but the beach never seemed to crowded. There were horse back riding outfits here, so you can ride a horse if you like.
A nice beach to spend the day on. There are better swimming beaches, further down the hotel corridor, or along the east cape road.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Markp779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Whales, Pelicans, and Sea Turtles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

While staying on the beach in San Jose del Cabo, my husband and I took long, daily walks on the Playa Hotelera. Some days we walked down to the Estuary, and on other days we walked in the other direction, toward Zipper's restaurant. This year we saw whales spouting, dozens of pelicans skimming the water and flying in formation, and two baby sea turtles in the shallow water. They were apparently among the last of the hundreds of turtles that were protected in the turtle sanctuary, hatched, and released in December. The beach is very long, clean, and uncrowded, with very few vendors compared to the mobs at the beaches in Cabo San Lucas.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Clean and calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

It worth for the view and beauty of this place. Sea color is amazing.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ivete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Walking with a View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

While it is not recommended for swimming, it is fun to walk in the water at the edge and a great walking beach

Helpful?
Thank DebAlCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A lovely beach for a walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Posada Real right on the beach, and we enjoyed walking on Playa Hotelera at least once a day, sometimes at sunrise, and sometimes at sunset. It is a beautiful, clean, uncrowded beach, stretching all the way from the marina at San Jose del Cabo to Zipper's Restaurant. It takes 45 minutes to an hour to walk the entire beach. We enjoyed seeing whales, dolphins, and pelicans on our daily walks. We also enjoyed exchanging greetings with other visitors from many other part of the world.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Joan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Hotelera also viewed

 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Playa Hotelera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing