We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort & amazing room, Expensive food/drinks, Annoying concierge orientation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabo Azul Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cabo Azul Resort to your Saves list
Cabo Azul Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Malecon SN Lote 11 Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort & amazing room, Expensive food/drinks, Annoying concierge orientation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

The pictures on the resort website are accurate. Our one-bedroom villa was spacious, very clean, and beautifully decorated. All the lights had dimmer controls and were indirect. The bedroom had a jacuzzi tub, the kitchen was complete and had stainless steel appliances, and the patio was large. The hotel was quiet at night. Housekeeping did a great job cleaning our room.

The pool area was really nice and surrounded by lots of green landscaping. There were lots of available beach chairs located both around the pool and on the beach. The staff made sure that the hotel beach area was vendor free. The pool area was illuminated at night and looked absolutely beautiful.
The atmosphere was very relaxing. Guests were primarily in their early 30s-70s, and there were few children. The market on the premises was convenient.

Complaints:
After a very long day of travel we were tired and hungry and just wanted to get our key and go to our room. However we were forced to meet with the pushy inpatient rude concierge before we could get our key. It was more like like a sales pitch under the guise of a hotel orientation. Luckily, we were not approached for a sales talk at any other time.

It is about $4 for a can of Tecate and 3x that much for a mixed drink (the mixed drinks didn't taste very good). I would especially avoid the mojito during happy hour. The food was okay (but definitely overpriced). The pool area waiters were fairly attentive although service was slow at times.
There was about a 30-40min wait for the hotel-arranged shuttle from the airport.

Tips:
The bathrooms are dimly lit so it's important to bring a compact mirror. Stock up on food basics and alcohol at the Mega (only a few minutes away by taxi). The hotel Market is worth checking out for snacks. Check out the pool area at night, it's absolutely beautiful. Hotel is not finished, but construction seems to have abruptly stopped, you may want to call ahead of time to see if construction is going on.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    187
    41
    21
    18
See reviews for
265
438
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

My husband and I recently treated ourselves to a romantic long weekend at the Cabo Azul. It could not have been a better trip! Everything was perfect...from the location, to the food and dining experiences (best shrimp tacos in Cabo), to the natural beauty of the lush landscapes and beach, to the serenity of the luxurious villas and the first class spa. We couldn't be more happy with the service and amazing staff...so friendly and helpful. We will return to this resort again and again!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

It's the nicest place I have ever stayed in Mexico. Very pricey, but who cares, when you are surrounded by beauty. Highly recommended, for family's and couples.

Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

The place is definetely beautiful, no doubt. BUT the attitude and attentiveness by the front desk, the "concierge" and that level is very lacking. On the other hand, the wait staff, room cleaning staff, bus boys, and pool attendants was outstanding! I guess my advise would be get checked in and don't deal with the administraters and you will love it! It is a $35.00 cab fare to AND from Cabo San Lucas. San Jose is a very artsy nice town. Be sure to ask ...we went to the wrong part and thought it was awful, until we walked a bit further and found the main area which was great!

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

March 7-11 I stayed in a two bedroom Villa with just my boyfriend since i was upgraded to it. After not being able to use the Jacuzzi on my last nights stay, they wanted to move me to another room but i asked for the Penthouse, and boy did we get it. My last night there was the most amazing of all. Guys Defintely check this hotel out, it's TOP NOTCH. Great for adults. There were very few kids there during my stay (Thank god) and the Staff there are extremly Friendly and very helpful. I stayed at the Barcelo hotel previous to checkin into this one and by far was i Blown away with the Service, the Food, the Staff, The heated trio level pools and its restaurants.
I give it ten stars ! You wont regret this one ! :) Happy Vacationing

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the Cabo Azul resort in San Jose del Cabo. Initially I was extremely concerned, as we had booked our reservation through Travel Zoo and received an incredible deal ($599 for 4 night stay -Sunday - Tuesday). I was hesitant because I had been reading some of the other Trip Advisor reviews and was concerned that the deal was "too good to be true" or had strings attached - such as a catch all when we got in to town. This was NOT the case at all. Upon arriving they upgraded us to a 2 bedroom Villa - which was GORGEOUS and huge by anyone' standards. They asked us if we wanted to do a timeshare presentation upon check-in and I politely declined. They gave us the vouchers (that other Trip Advisor reviews have mentioned) and we declined to use them. They also called us a couple of times during our stay to inquire if were interested in the timeshare presentation and again we politely declined. Though they were persistent and a bit aggressive, we did not let that ruin our vacation. We really thought the Villas were a notch above anything we have ever stayed at before - and we've stayed at beautiful hotels and resorts around the world and domestically here - from Ritz to Four Seasons to Viceroys etc....and this Villa was first rate. I do agree with the other travelers opinions regarding the bathrooms - the lighting makes it very difficult to see - so I would recommend a small compact travel mirror. The beds are comfortable and they even have turn down service each evening. I think the TVS could be a bit nicer, but who needs nice TVS when the weather and the location are what you come here for. The resort pool and amenities were fabulous. The hotel has 3 infinity pools and 2 are much warmer than the one closest to the ocean - which is very cold at all times. They advise NOT swimming in the ocean though the beach is pretty and very accesible due the riptide currents in the area. Despite this warning, we did see several people in the ocean during our stay. There are plenty of activities to do near the hotel if you aren't a beach / pool maven. If you need groceries there is a MEGA (think Wal*Mart) nearby and there is also the Cabo Azul market which we frequented often. The prices were reasonable and they also have a little deli which serves really good salads, sandwiches and pizzas until about 10 pm each day. The other restaurant on site the Flora de Noche is really good too - and reasonable. The bar is poolside and has a very friendly staff. We did not try Javiars as some of the other people we spoke to around the resort had said that they had dined there and found the experience to be overrated and expensive for what you get - I would recommend doing your fine dining off-campus at Morgans or La Panga - we ate both places and they are wonderful - Morgans Cellar (they have another location called Morgans Encore) is probably one of the best meals we have had while traveling. It is a flat rate $5 (american dollar) cab ride - single trip into town - $10 RT. The town is more hopping around 5 pm vs. during the day where it looks like a ghost town with tons of tourist shops and no tourists.

Overall, Cabo Azul is a beautiful resort and I would definitely recommend.

We will be returning next year!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

We enjoyed ATV's, wave runners, snorkeling, swimming, shopping and a short excursion to Todos Santos. But, the best part of our trip was enjoying the resort and all it has to offer. Cabo Azul rocks.

Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabo Azul Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Azul Resort

Address: Paseo Malecon SN Lote 11 Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cabo Azul Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Azul Resort is an award-winning resort that features an award-winning spa, Paz. This resort also has a purpose built, $15 million wedding chapel, Corazon, that overlooks the resort out to the Sea of Cortez. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Cabo Azul Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Azul Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hotel Cabo Azul
Cabo Azul Resort Spa
Cabo Azul Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabo Azul Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.