We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabo Azul Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cabo Azul Resort to your Saves list
Cabo Azul Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Malecon SN Lote 11 Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Closed till 08/31/2015
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Traveled to Cabo for the first time with my parents. The hotel is simply amazing, beautiful impeccable grounds, pool and beach area were just perfect for relaxing, quiet, very clean and staff always there when you need them. The staff at the hotel is just outstanding from bell hop to concierge to pool staff to restaurant beyond efficient, friendly, accommodating and professional!

We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa which we loved. The decor is exquisite and the housekeeping staff did a great job. I'm a spa fanatic and the hotel's spa is one of the nicest ones i've ever visited. Beautifully decorated, serene and the staff at the spa are so professional and attentive. The massage was one of the best i've ever had, so relaxing. I recommend at least 1 spa day during your visit!

The hotel is located very close to Mega grocery store which has everything you need, pharmacy/toiletries, delicious fruit/veggies and great variety of products. I have a dairy allergy and was surprised to find a good selection of almond milk:) We stocked up on a lot of breakfast foods, water and snacks. Javier's at the hotel was great for dinner the staff very professional and so nice.

I loved San Jose del Cabo, the town is so charming with many art galleries and cute shops. Will definitely come back and stay at Cabo Azul, the hotel and staff fully exceeded all expectations.

Thank you so much Cabo Azul for an unforgettable stay/vacation!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    187
    41
    21
    17
See reviews for
263
435
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Another WOW at every turn, and that was before entering the one bedroom 1200 sq. ft. villa...Exceeded my expectations all around. The pool area neat and well appointed. Love the 4-5 inch padded pool chairs....The service was unmatched. Before I could ask for a pillow, the pool attendent was putting one under my head.......Oh, how I felt like a queen...

The entire staff deserves a huge compliment - great experiences from front desk to housekeepers. This was one of the cleanest resorts I have ever been to. I too have never witnessed so many staff members focused on cleanliness.

Loved all of the outdoor firepits, and covered cabanas....just beautiful! Did I mention quiet...oh yes, peaceful and quiet.

Room Tip: I personally would not want ground floor, however we were on 2nd floor and it was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna beach usa
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had such a lovely but hot time while visiting the resort in Sept but it was such a serene and beautiful, clean resort we came back last week...for 6 nights...loved it so much we're going back in March........the staff are remarkable....friendly, kind, courteous, helpful and happy. Our room overlooked the pools, beautifully kept gardens and ocean where we could view whales on a daily basis.....the restaurants and food and drinks are delicious. They also give you a daily global newspaper leaflet in your room each morning. Believe me we're spoiled! Our sister came w/ us and the room accommodated us amply......kitchen, baths, beds, balcony...amazing and we're kinda fussy....
also the town is close and the shops nice and the art galleries lovely representing some very beautiful art.....(we're artists)

Room Tip: higher or lower you won't be disappointed...our first visit we didn't have a pool, ocean or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have traveled to Cabo Azul twice in the last six months. I just returned on Sun 1/27 and feel the resort deserves a glowing review! I love luxury travel and this resort meets (even exceeds) my expectations. The rooms are all huge, well appointed and gorgeous. The resort itself is stunning! The pictures on the website do not lie - it's an amazing property!

The entire staff deserves a huge compliment - great experiences from food servers, housekeepers, spa personal, hotel management and Javier's restaurant manager. This is one of the cleanest resorts I have ever been to. I have never witnessed so many staff members focused on cleanliness in Hawaii or elsewhere in the US. Water on the property is purified.

I went with my husband the first trip and it was a romantic long weekend. I traveled with a girl friend for a relaxing weekend of R&R. The spa is beautiful and very relaxing. I feel like this is a hidden gem and reasonable for the high end experience. If you are thinking of getting married here or renewing your vows - the chapel is amazing. It would be a great destination wedding spot. I can't wait for my next trip!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Cabo Azul is a timeshare resort that was recently purchased out of bankruptcy. The new owners are desperately trying to sell shares. You are promised $200 off of your final bill if you attend the presentation. We were repeatedly assured at four different times that the $200 could be used for the room charge.

Come check-out we are told “ we are sorry but that money can only be used for resort fees” which we had almost none, and not for the room. My 25 year old daughter was livid. She couldn't believe how overtly deceitful they were.
BEWARE.

At the presentation, they tried to sell me the timeshare for my $500 a night room for $100,000 plus $1700/year homeowner fee. For the same price, you can rent the room for a week for 44 years! The pitch was that you would be an owner of an asset. It is however an unsellable asset for which you have to make your yearly payment or your shares are forfeited. Rip off!!!


The second issue involves the room. Our full priced room while beautiful, overlooked the roof of the building in front of us. No pool nor ocean view as promised. It was actually explained to me by the staff that the rooms with no view were given to people renting from services like Expedia because timeshare owners “wouldn't tolerate being placed in such a room”.. Not something you want to be told when paying over $500/night.
Beware.

Room Tip: If you are not a timeshare owner you may be relegated to a room overlooking a roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We checked in and they said to talk to the person about recreation things in the area. We went for 5 minutes and they presented brochures about dolphin swimming etc. We then said were not interested in the timeshares and we went to our rooms. I have stayed at Esperanza$$$$ Me in Cabo and the Marquis. This resort really is unbelievable. The three different temperature pools, the service was great. They also have service at the beach and great lounges and palazzos. The happy hour even better. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Wow, it's easy to write a glowing review of Cabo Azul both as a dream wedding destination and as vacation resort. The staff, restaurants (Flor de Noche, by the pools, and Javiers for evening dining), the large villas, and the overall experience exceeded both my own and my brides greatest expectation. I'll also address the question of construction at the resort (not remotely an issue). Unlike other luxury resorts I have been to that nickel and dime, this resort was generous and accommodating to a fault.

1. Wedding Destination: 5/5 stars - We worked with Maria Villafane, the primary wedding planner, and Georgina Tapia, wedding events manager, who were so professional, easygoing, and dedicated. We primarily worked with Maria, and she was so kind, and available. We had a our wedding in their open air chapel - which is more stunning than the pictures show. Then our reception was at outside on the deck of Javier's. Which Maria transformed into a stunning venue. While we were worried about the cool evening air and wind, this of no issue. The night was calm and the temperature about 70. The lighting, chairs, tables, flowers, wedding cake, and fireworks, all exceeded what we could have desired. All of it transpired under Maria's watchful eye, who was there the entire evening, supervising, and making sure everything went as planned - we felt so reassured. Maria made our wedding as beautiful and perfect as we could have dreamed. I thought the fireworks may not be up to expectation, but I was so wrong.

2. Cabo Azul Resort: Service - 5/5 stars, everyone from the front desk, the amazing concierge - we worked with Leon, Pedro, and Gabriela - these guys take care of everything, we even gave them some of the Dorado (mahi mahi- delicious!) we caught from our deep sea fishing excursion they booked for us as a thank you, the general staff are all super friendly and accommodating. They turn your beds twice a day, all villas have a full kitchen and large deck, all have a great Jacuzzi. Our penthouse suite was amazing. The poolside beach chairs have towel-like sheet covers that are changed daily and everything is uber-clean. The beach-front is gorgeous but not-suggested for swimming due to heavy rip-currents, temperature was perfect. There are 2 hot tubs, and 2 large pools - one with swim up bar to flor de noche. The onsite market has most anything you would need (certainly the alcohol), at a very reasonable not resort-like prices. If you need more there is a Mega (Mart) that is a 5 minute cab ride away.

3. Construction: Cabo Azul is not yet finished. Phase 1 is done which is the beachside half of the resort beautiful and complete. The only lacking part is that the lobby and concierge area is basically a group of villas masquerading as a lobby - a none issue, just not the grand lobby that will be next year. The street-front half of the resort is the unfinished portion which will include a major lobby area. We were very worried that were would possibly be ongoing construction, or very obvious unfinished work. We were reassured by upper management that this would not affect our stay or our wedding experience, and they were right. The unfinished areas are invisible unless you care to look for them, there was absolutely no construction going on - as we were promised. We would have had our wedding here 10 times over.

4. Staff: 5/5 stars - wedding planner Maria and everyone else was so helpful and friendly

5. Excursions: 5/5 stars.
- deep sea fishing: the sea of cortez is not exceedingly rough, but for the uninitiated 6 hours on the open water and beating mexican sun can be a challenge - bring your sunscreen and hat. A little over $100 each for 6 people for bait, license, and everything else - which is a great price. We caught 5 dorado (mahi mahi) ranging from about 8 lbs to more than 20lbs - average in the 16 lbs range. Javier's restaurant cooked them as a 5 course meal for us, that was easily one of the best fish meals I've had. I even cooked 2 meals for my wife, and it was still yummy. Marlin fishing is supposed to be amazing here, unfortunately no marlin for us.

- glass bottom boat to Land's End, and the Arch - totally worth the $30. Beautiful, even saw a humpback whale and her baby.

- golfing at Puerto Los Cabos: About $200/ person all you can eat and drink with cart, and range. DO NOT FORGET YOUR COLLARED SHIRT, or you will have to spend a $100 on one. Amazing views of the sea, great course, although for a 20 handicapper - the greens were uber-fast and slick. Would definitely do this again - maybe a little less booze next time. Oh and club rental is $50, but you get very new taylor made R11s, with the burner 2 irons. I unfortunately being a lefty were stuck with the prior model - but still best rentals I've encountered (and most pricey).

Room Tip: Ocean front view a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabo Azul Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Azul Resort

Address: Paseo Malecon SN Lote 11 Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cabo Azul Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Azul Resort is an award-winning resort that features an award-winning spa, Paz. This resort also has a purpose built, $15 million wedding chapel, Corazon, that overlooks the resort out to the Sea of Cortez. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cabo Azul Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Azul Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hotel Cabo Azul
Cabo Azul Resort Spa
Cabo Azul Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabo Azul Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.