We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Los Cabos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Decameron Los Cabos to your Saves list
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Malecon San Jose S/N zona hotelera | San Jose Del Cabo, Baja California Sur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Tipperary, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Okay place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed the end of February 2014. This resort has a lot of potential.

We arrived prior to check in, were promptly provided a welcome drink. The bell hop was excellent, provided an opportunity to change into beach attire and stored our bags. The front desk provided wrist bands at this time so we could enjoy the amenities.

The rooms are very well kept. Housekeeping and grounds keepers do an outstanding job. The resort is immaculate. We had a king room on the ground floor, beds are extremely firm. The room was very spacious. Safes are available in the room for an additional cost and they make the process difficult. I requested when we checked in and was told no one was there that could unlock the safe and had to wait until tomorrow. The next day we had to visit the front desk 4 times before we actually got use of the safe. Then was told someone would be to the room within 30 minutes to unlock. 2 hours later and still no one. I went back to front desk and the manager was there and took care of it immediately. The resort needs to include the safe in the room rate and leave unlocked for immediate guest use. Stop the hassle of using the safe. The one odd thing in the rooms is the shower door doubles as the bathroom door which provides little privacy.

The front desk can be great or terrible depending on who is working. There is an obvious trust issue with employees and it is very noticeable.

The bars were good depending on who is bar tending. Donny, Tomas and Antonio made a consistently good drink. The other bar tenders it was a guessing game what you might get and were inattentive. Tipping did not affect service but we still tipped knowing the wages paid are very low.

The resort is U shaped and small which we really liked. The downside of this is that is it VERY loud at night during the entertainment. It usually winds down 11:30pm though. The housekeeping staff starts work about 6am and carts rolling through the hallways can be loud. They also stand around in the halls visiting and because there is no sound barriers, it can be loud. Not a huge issue for us but could be for others.

The big disappointment for us was the food. It was not very good at all. The buffet is repetitive and lacks flavor. The bread was always yummy though. Service is hit and miss and they rotate the wait staff so you never know where to sit for good service. We tried the Luna restaurant twice. Wow was it night and day. The first time every thing was good except the caper fish (terrible). The next visit the same soup was like beef broth with a few veggies. The lasagna is edible. DO NOT ORDER STEAK, it is not steak by any stretch of the imagination. The restaurant by the pool (doubles as Luna at night) was always consistently good. The fish tostado, nachos, margarita pizza, fries, onion rings all very good. The lime ice cream is delicious!!

The pools are nice and always clean. Chairs are plentiful and no need to reserve. The beach is beautiful but the ocean water can be really rough. Would not recommend swimming there especially children. Current is very strong. The entertainment staff comes across as arrogant, didn't care to be any where near them.

Overall the resort is nice but leaves a lot of room for improvement on service and consistent quality of food/beverages. Don't think we would return unless screaming deal.

Room Tip: No rooms are quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    178
    33
    16
    15
See reviews for
67
220
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Very late doing review, was here for Christmas 2013 the resort had just opened so everything was not finished, however as the week progressed it just improved and improved, I would love to see it now it must be perfect.

The resort is smaller, under 200 people, we liked that we got to know everyone but still had our own space. Our room was on second floor overlooking pool and beach perfect, the pools are lovely, the buffet resturant was excellent the speciality resturant was okay needed a better variety, but they were trying very hard.

Staff was great especially Cyril at front desk he was very pleasant and helpful.

The resort is close to everything so you are not tied to a resort and the area appears to be very safe.

Hope to back Christmas 2014 I am surfeit will be perfect.

Room Tip: Our room was on second floor can't remember the exact number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

At first we thought we wanted to be closer to Cabo San Lucas, but after taking the bus there, we were very happy that we stayed in San Jose. The resort was very nice, food was very nicely presented in the buffet and the drinks were adequate. We walked to San Jose and were very impressed with the downtown area, not as commercial or congested as Cabo. We felt very safe wherever we went. Will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Rooms on third floor were very nice I think we stayed in 312
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Just got back from a trip March 22-29, 2014.

Checkin
Very quick and efficient. Welcome drink provided and people are arranged into lines by last name to check in quickly. Our room preferences were honored (high floor, big room, ocean view and crib for infant) as we had spoke to the manager in advance (Jesus). Jesus was a great host and even gave us a late checkout since we had an infant! Could not have asked for better service.

Rooms
There are only 18 ocean view rooms on the resort and these are at the end of each side of the building. We were in a suite (2 double beds in one room, 1 King in the other and 2 bathrooms - only 4 suites on the property). A friend was staying in a standard room and it seemed to be well maintained and spacious. All rooms have either a King or 2 double beds with a sofa or 2 chairs. The only think about the rooms is the shower door doubles as the bathroom door, making privacy a bit of an issue. Safe ($), coffee-maker, ice bucket included in rooms.

Resort
On the smaller side of resorts but very well-maintained overall. I would give it a solid 4 maybe 4.5 star. The resort only had two restaurants - buffet and luna (a la carte). Only 1 elevator on the property located in the lobby). The building has 3 floors and is one large u-shape. 2 pools in main area and 1 adult pool located on the rooftop of the spa (this was a great area to relax if you wanted a quiet area). Pool bars in each pool and other bars located near beach, middle of resort and lobby.

Beach
Great beach with plenty of chaise lounge chairs - not much shade though. Waves very high and dangerous water if you're a not a good swimmer.

Spa/Gym
Gym was free but use of Jacuzzi or any service in spa cost $. We used the gym only.

Room Tip: Choose a higher number room (closer to the 50s) and a high floor to get a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

There were six of us at the resort from March 15th to March 22nd. There were 4 young ladies in their middle 20’s and 2 young ladies in their early 50’s.
Room
We stayed in room 216 and 217 and 335. The rooms were standard, one without a balcony and two with. The rooms had plenty of pillows and a nice warm duvet style covering. The beds were firm but we had no problem sleeping on them.
The shows were from 9:30 to 10:30 pm. 3 out of the 7 nights we were in bed by 9:30 and the noise from show didn’t bother us in the least. No issue sleeping.
The shower door acts as the bathroom door as well, but there is still privacy as the glass is frosted.
I messed up the safe in my room and called to have someone reset it for me and they were there in 5 minutes. That was fast!
We had fresh water in our room daily. 2 bottles a day, along with 2 beer and 2 pop, if we needed it. If we ran out of water during the day it was available at the bar and there was also a water cooler at the lower pool bar available at all times.
We paid $50.00 each for a week of Wi-Fi. No big deal, it kept us connected to our families.
It did go off sometimes, but never had trouble getting it back.
I would like to shout out to the lovely lady (my bad for not getting her name) who cleaned our rooms every day.
She was sweet and very thorough.
Food
We all thought the food was great! So many different selections.
Warm spice loaf, banana bread and donuts, omelets, smoked salmon, cheese, assortment of fruit, nuts, cottage cheese, smoothies, meat slices, and bacon….the list goes on, you name it, and it was there. Guacamole!!!! I loved it, even with cilantro in it, which I do not like.
Lunch was great, dinner…wonderful. The snack bar by the beach had a smaller selection but was really good as well.
Bar
The bartenders served marvelous drinks. If they didn’t know how to make the drink we asked for, they would look it up when they got home and have it available the next day/evening. Outstanding service.
Front Desk
Polite and professional any time we needed to speak with them. (This wasn’t often as none of us had any real issues)
Pools/Grounds
Very clean. The lower pools were cool and the upper pool was warm. Beautiful view in the upper Jacuzzi pool and you could see the whales splashing about at certain times of the day. If you didn’t want to lie in the sun you could curl up on the lounge couches.
No need to save a chair, there was always a good choice. Towels always available.
The grounds were immaculate. There was always someone cleaning and polishing.
Watering plants, ect……
I have bad knees but didn’t have any issues using the stairs around the resort.
Red flag always up, as they do not recommend you swim in the water.
Entertainment Staff
They made sure they touched base with everyone. You were able to join in on any activity if you wanted, but no one pushed you. I liked the daily guessing game. Good idea.
They also came down to say goodbye to everyone when we were leaving on Saturday. Nice touch. (There were about 150 people checking out at one time.)
Thanks Alberto and gang for making us feel so welcome.
Travelling the area
It was great to have the mega store across the street. We had a chance to browse the store and other stores in the mall.
My friend and I went to the Villa Valentina for lunch. It was maybe a 10 minute walk. It is on the right side of the Hyatt right across from the Resort. You would miss it if you didn’t know it was there. It is a very pretty little restaurant in what appeared to be a court yard of the villa. It also had a bakery, art studio, winery and decorating shop on the property.
We took the bus into Cabo San Lucas and into the town of San Jose. No problem. We felt safe and were safe.
We went into San Jose on Thursday for the Art Walk. Since we were early we went for dinner at La Panga Antigua.
The presentation was amazing, the food delicious and the setting was stunning.
I recommend the Art Walk and La Panga Antigua in San Jose.
When we went to Cabo San Lucas, we stopped in to eat at Cabo Wabo. Food was very good.
We also went on the Buccaneer Queen for the sunset cruise. The view was lovely, but the show a bit cheesy.
Flight
Canjet was alright. The flight was delayed a little both ways.
The Nolitours Rep was very nice and informative.

Would we go back to Royal Decameron? Absolutely!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo, n.y.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed at the Decameron San Jose 3/20 to 3/27. My wife and I found the resort to be what other reviews have stated.
Rooms, grounds, pools all 3, exceptionally clean as was decks from beach. Have people wiping the sand off deck all day. Beds a bit hard but comfortable, lot of storage and nice size closet. Room we were assigned was a double. No big deal for us, got bigger room and more dresser room. The walls and glass doors are pretty thin, so you do hear noise from bands outside but it stops at 10:30 11:00 and if your that tired you will sleep. If noise is an issue, send an email ask for room away from the band, keep email for proof they seem to not get them. Front desk girls not a lot of help. Ask for a manager.
The food was very good. Lot to choose from. Only suggestion I would make is don't try a little of everything everyday, you will tire of it real fast. Luna the sit down is very nice very good food a you order off menu.
If you want a change.Take the bus into town. Stand in front of hotel look for school bus and for $1 your there. Lots of very good places to choose from and prices, from inexpensive to expensive. Lot of little shops for shirts, shoes, etc. Don't be afraid to barter down, they start off stupid high knowing tourist are going to do this.
Drinks, ice is at a premium so if you like ice you have to keep telling staff to put more in.
Liquor don't have the top shelf but carry pretty good variety quality. Im not a sweet drink person, but bartenders can mix whatever you throw at them.
Wine is only red or white. Red is not so good from what I understand white is pretty good. I don't drink wine but my wife drinks white.
Staff is great, friendly, most will go out of their way for you. If you have a problem ask for a manager and it will be handled immediately from what I saw.
This is a very nice 4 star hotel with upgrades to liquor, food and better bedding it will be 5 star with the staff and management in place.

Only suggestion I can make to management is turn stage and middle bar to face out to beach so the noise doesn't echo around the complex, or just use the big stage turned again to beach. This would stop the noise at night for those who have to get up for early sightseeing.
Jesus Proda the front end manager is fantastic and if you have reservation problems or front end related issues.

Room Tip: ask for quiet room, send email and KEEP email with you for proof
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

nothing bad really, had to get moved the first day because of sewer smell in our room, trucks backing up at big Hyatt resort in morning makes that side of resort a little less enjoyable but with the change in rooms we got away from there. We were on top floor and at 3am two nights in a row someone would be up there walking around and waking people up and the courtyard can be a little noisy especially when a women is beating her husband and screaming at him at 3am because he was being a bad boy.Staff was great the bartenders in the spa pool were great the food was excellent the local buses were fun but the bus stops were a little difficult to find and on the other side of a four lane highway with no crossing lights Some good restaurants in town of San Jose and we went into Cabo San Lucas with all the students on spring break which brought back lots of memories. Lots of stairs which kinda gets to be nuisance. All in all a nice clean resort in a nice location but last words never trust a fart in Mexico

Room Tip: stay away from the hyatt
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Decameron Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Los Cabos

Address: Boulevard Malecon San Jose S/N zona hotelera | San Jose Del Cabo, Baja California Sur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Decameron Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Decameron Los Cabos is located in the south of the peninsula of Baja California on the Sea of Cortez just 15 minutes from Los Cabos International Airport (SJD) and 5 minutes from downtown San Jose del Cabo which showcases the best of Mexican tradition, showing peaceful streets covered with trees, galleries, restaurants and boutiques, with its center located a few blocks from the sea, a beautiful Spanish colonial style city hall, among other features that are immersed in Mexican culture . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Groupon, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Royal Decameron Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.