We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our New Favorite Resort in Cabo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Los Cabos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Decameron Los Cabos to your Saves list
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
Boulevard Malecon San Jose S/N zona hotelera | San Jose Del Cabo, Baja California Sur, San Jose del Cabo, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Sacramento
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Our New Favorite Resort in Cabo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were the first guests to visit this new resort Dec 20-23:

CAVEAT: This resort is the former Desire/Temptations property and we were frequent visitors. Although we are saddened to see our favorite playground close, we are favorably impressed to find a suitable replacement we will continue to enjoy.

The Royal Decameron Los Cabos is a beautiful resort located on the beach closest to the airport. With only 150 rooms, it offers more intimate and tranquil accommodations than the mega resorts nearby. What distinguishes the Royal Decameron is the personal attention of the staff. Bartenders, entertainment and wait staff consistently referred to us by name. Assistance was offered before having to ask. The all-inclusive pricing makes the resort a tremendous value.

The resort offers 2 large pools (a huge new one) with swim up bars, expansive sun decks with plenty of lounge chairs and an extended beach area with umbrellas and palapas adjacent to the new pool. The newly renovated rooftop Jacuzzi with swim up bar is for adults only and provides spacious views of the coastline and an intimate and tranquil respite from the familial pool area. Two separate restaurants feature both buffet and a la carte dining. We found the buffet superior to others we have experienced and the a la carte menus and service rival most exceptional restaurants. Special orders are welcome and accommodated. After dinner entertainment segues into nightly disco until wee hours of the morning for the more energetic set.

The small community of San Jose is within walking distance (or a $5 taxi). There you will find ample shopping and restaurants filled with ex-pats and visitors. Each Thursday features an art walk exposing the local extensive and popular art community. San Lucas is a 25 minute taxi ride for more glamorous shopping and extended nightlife.

While the resort is brand new, there are a few adjustments to be made. We will save the nit-picking to the critics. Overall, our experience was outstanding.

If you are considering your first trip to Cabo you should look no further as the all-inclusive Royal Decameron is your best choice. If you are familiar with the area, we recommend you visit this newly remodeled resort as we believe you will agree it offers the best alternative to enjoy Los Cabos.

Room Tip: Request the ground floor near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    121
    23
    13
    13
See reviews for
41
143
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tillsonburg, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Arrival: Dec 21-28
We booked this trip last minute and the low intro price was the main reason we went to this new resort. We were there for opening week - it was definitely not ready but pretty close. First time we have travelled from Hamilton airport - loved the smaller airport. We have travelled numerous times and flight/airport transfer was uneventful. Hotel check in was very late and travelling with a child made it a time we will make sure to avoid - morning flights are so much better! Seemed to be alot of confusion during the slow check in process - hotel did attempt to entertain and the alcohol was fast flowing.

ROOMS:
We had a regular Pool/Gardenview room on the third floor. Room had spacious bathroom (shower only), safe, dresser, 2 double beds, table and chairs. Large balcony overlooked main pools and garden. Duvet bedding & pillows were amazing - beds may be too hard for some.

Hotel is a small u-shape with only 153 rooms (most not ready for opening week it seemed). Our room had no issues - satellite lcd tv with lots of english shows, lots of hot water with good pressure, a/c worked great, our room was cleaned mostly between 5-6pm which was difficult when getting ready for supper.

RESTUARANTS & BARS:
We ate at the only a la carte just once - one of the meals ordered never was served. We ate at the poolside grill several times -- service was horrifically slow and we actually left twice after never any service.

We ate at the buffet daily - excellent food really for buffet - smaller selection but more than enough to keep us happy. Buffet serving staff was amazing!

We did not have any problems with getting sick and the alcohol was always flowing.

BEACH/POOLS/GROUNDS:
There are 2 pools - one heated - one not. Everyone gravitated to heated pool. Our son cut his foot TWICE on the bottom of the pool - tiles falling off constantly. Lifeguard on duty was great with quick medical attention first time - second time no one seemed around and front desk actually refused us bandaids and suggested we run across street to grocery store!! Thankfully some of the awesome buffet restuarant staff came to help us regardless of appaulling front desk treatment.

Beach is NOT SWIMMABLE. There are chairs/palapas for lounging.
Walkways and grounds were very clean.

ACTIVITIES ON & OFF RESORT/HOTEL:
There were very limited activities on resort - although they talked about it in the resort intro meeting. I think we had water aerobics at lunchtime "most" days - I saw water polo twice and yoga once on the beach. There was a singing competition one day and a guessing game another afternoon. Really everyone was poolside simply drinking or off the resort "touring".

There were no activities for children at all - our son played frisbee with one of the entertainment which he enjoyed but otherwise there were not many kids there.

We stayed on the resort almost all of our days there. We did not book any trips through the resort. We rented a car (whopping $130US) but had an amazing time exploring & going snorkelling on our own. We are avid geocachers so this was perfect. We also took a taxi ($7US each way) in town for some shopping.

Other Comments:
We had very little language barrier issues with any of the staff – English is well spoken by vast majority.
Wifi was offered free for the opening week but it was DREADFUL.
The evening entertainment was AMAZINGLY SUPER LOUD and went on all hours of the night.
This resort is a great place for couples - not families - who like to PARTY who want sun and fun with great food.
The area (los cabos) is VERY touristy - think Las Vegas or Niagara Falls - like being in a hotel on a strip...not what we personally prefer in a holiday. If you like shopping with all the amenities of home - you'll love it. Starbucks right across the street - no Tim's though ;)
We had a nice time but would not return. I would recommend this resort as a solid 4 STAR.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here the week of Dec 28 to Jan 5th. We were warned it was under renovations before we booked so the work going on was expected and didn't hinder our vacation in any way. This was my 2nd trip (first was to a 5+ star in DR) and my girlfriends first trip. The Nolitours staff were the first to greet us and bring us to the resort. Very friendly and helpful people as we booked our excursions through them as well. The front desk staff and bell boys ect. were very friendly and got us in our rooms quickly. We did the room upgrade and were very happy with our view over the pool to the ocean. The activities staff went above and beyond with their shows and attention to detail (specifically) with the new years eve events. The maid staff forgot a few things when cleaning our room from day to day but nothing major. The resort is still in the hiring and training faze so it was to be expected. There were a few small issues around the resort we noticed like this but could see just in the week we were there the management was fine tuning things and improvements were constantly going on. Off the resort we did 2 excursions (sunset sailing and camel safari) both were amazing. We also wandered down to downtown San Jose (art district) for shopping, Rock and Brew and Shooters to watch the Jrs hockey as well as San Lucas to the marina and Cabo Wabo + sight seeing. We heard of some of the renos going on and plans for the resort and all of them sounded amazing. I expect this resort will exceed most expectations and the reviews will get even better as the renovations are completed.

Room Tip: Recommend the room upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We went for the opening week (Dec 21 - 28). In my opinion they handled opening week very well. We have been to opening week at a resort I Cancun and had a very bad experience. These people did a great job. The resort is beautiful! And yes, they were continuing upgrades all week but it was not overly intrusive I have never seen such a hard working bunch of people. We had room 129 and it had a beautiful view and great access to pool.

Check in was handled well for the amount of people they had to process. Taking us down for a drink and a bite to eat first was a nice gesture after a long day of travel.

The rooms are comfortable. Nice firm beds and luxurious pillows. Shower has a rain style head, plenty of hot water but I could have used a bit more water pressure, hard to rinse off. Although they have complimentary shampoo etc in room I would suggest bringing your own shampoo, or better yet, buy it at the Mega store (like a big Walmart) which is very nearby to avoid having to pack it..

The buffet food is typical all inclusive resort fare. Not great but not terrible either. They do take great pains for food safety, Always checking temperatures and making sure food did not sit around too long. Hair nets and face masks on staff. Hard working and attentive staff. Coffee isn't great but they do have a Starbucks across the street. Snack bar by pool is great. Nachos, burgers, pizza.

Activities staff were very friendly and energetic. Look for Bryan. He is a wonderful warm man and very good at his job, personally making sure you are having a good time.

Pools are beautiful, one well-heated, one "refreshing" ( AKA cold..)

Beach is fantastic, a bit windy at times. The sunrises and sunsets are breathtaking. Be sure to pack a few warm things however as the mornings and evenings can be chilly. I wasn't aware of this and luckily The Mega across the street had what I needed.

I would go back in a heartbeat. The few issues remaining to be ironed out won't take long. You will have a great time.

Room Tip: Try to get an oceanview room if you can. Will cost more but it well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We arrived for a weeks stay over christmas break, this is a new 4 star resort with 5 star service the staff are out of this world great. It's very clean check in was fast and every person seemed to want to make our vacation amazing. The nolitours reps were available and approachable with our requests always. The wait staff were very friendly, the entertainment staff made every person feel like they new who you were and had so many different things for everyone of every comfort level to enjoy. Pool/bartenders fast and knowledgable of variety of drinks, cleaning staff polite and efficient. We go away several times a year to 5 stars and this resort was the most welcoming and safest feeling by far. We used our electronics and belongings openly locked doors sporadically and explored area freely without reason for concern. At first we thought maybe we just felt like this but then talked to many others on the return bus and they experienced the same thing we did. We werent expecting over the top luxury with a bunch of a la cartes and a huge resort but what we got was so much more. A super relaxing easygoing safe fun and convienent stay. They even let us stay in our rooms later and opened the breakfast buffet for us at 3:30am so we could eat before our flight which had been delayed. Thanks for everything royal!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at the Royal Decameron over the Christmas holidays. We had a great time and enjoyed the food and drink. They are still working on some fixes and construction, but restaurants, rooms and bars were in full service. We especially enjoyed the a la carte restaurant - between the beach and the pool, great food, service was fine. The evenings can be a tiny bit cool, take a sweater or hoodie, the days were all 28-30ish. The beach is fabulous and long, we walked every day .. . . we saw a baby turtle make it's way to the water just after hatching, wow. The surf can have some undertow, but I went in the ocean a couple of times, not a big deal. It's quite shallow and totally sandy. We flew direct from Hamilton - which they tell me is going to stop, too bad, that was an easy flight.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor ( 3 of 3) it's was good, we could see the ocean from the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Decameron Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Los Cabos

Address: Boulevard Malecon San Jose S/N zona hotelera | San Jose Del Cabo, Baja California Sur, San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Decameron Los Cabos is located in the south of the peninsula of Baja California on the Sea of Cortez just 15 minutes from Los Cabos International Airport (SJD) and 5 minutes from downtown San Jose del Cabo which showcases the best of Mexican tradition, showing peaceful streets covered with trees, galleries, restaurants and boutiques, with its center located a few blocks from the sea, a beautiful Spanish colonial style city hall, among other features that are immersed in Mexican culture . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Royal Decameron Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.