We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Jose's Estuary and Bird Sanctuary

San Jose's Estuary and Bird Sanctuary
Paseo San Jose, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$65*
and up
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A spectacular beach where tourists come to view the sea lions in the month of June.
Dieppe, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quaint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went there to try to learn about the wildlife of San Jose. And we did! We saw all sorts of birds, some turtles and fish. Of course, we saw people on horseback...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    126
    44
    15
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Selkirk, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for birdwatchers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Nice easy walkway from the Holiday Inn. However, if you're not staying close to the area, it would be hard to find as there is no signage and no one seem to know about the estuary.
We walked the estuary daily to get to the town of San Jose del Cabo. Going at a leisurely pace, it would take about 30 minutes. We saw many birds along the way but not too much other wildlife.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
120 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great natural preserved area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

An oasis next to the village and the beach. Great place for birdwatching, estuary fauna and plants. The weather is several degrees fresher becaue of the shade and relative humidity. Swimming, boating, plant collecting or fishing prohibited. Free entrance and great area for photo safari if patient. Next to a Holiday Inn bou no services available. Walk a little further to find bars, restaurants and shaded areas after a short beach walk. Beautiful views.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“peaceful walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Nice peaceful walk pretty a beauty in the desert lot's of interesting birds just don't start walk on the beach side because you'll defiantly have an aventure

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not worth your time.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Don't bother, it was boring waste of time. Hard to find the entrance it looks like your going to the horseriding tour, but it's actually behind all of it. They need better signage. I think I saw more birds around our resort than on this walk. We walk part way and went back to the hotel.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Jose's Estuary and Bird Sanctuary also viewed

 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to San Jose's Estuary and Bird Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Jose's Estuary and Bird Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.