We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing time at the Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos to your Saves list
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo del Malecon l-5 D, Fonatur Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Los Cabos Palace Deluxe)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All Inclusive Resort
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Amazing time at the Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I stayed at the Hyatt Ziva for a week. It was our 2nd all-inclusive vacation, the first in Mexico. All I can say is that we are glad we chose the Hyatt Ziva and Cabo as our first destination in Mexico!

The Hotel:

The hotel is very clean and well maintained, not sure how old it is but it seems to have been kept up pretty well. We booked a standard room (non-oceanview); our original room was on the 2nd floor (lobby level) but it was a bit noisy due to its proximity to the pool. On our 2nd morning we inquired if another room was available and were offered a room on the 5th floor at the end of the building, which actually had an ocean view (albeit obstructed). We took this room and were glad we did. The 2nd room was much larger, with a separate bedroom and living room and two full bathrooms. Housekeeping did a great job keeping the rooms cleaned and the guys restocking the mini-bar daily was nice enough to only stock what we wanted. The wi-fi in the room was pretty weak, but we mostly used it in the lobby so that wasn't an issue.

The food was excellent for an all-inclusive and the wait staff were mostly very attentive and courteous. There was quite a bit of variety for all 3 meals although you tend to see a lot of repetitive items towards the end of your stay. Nonetheless we had no complaints about the food. We tried the Japenese a la carte, but not impressed so didn't try any of the others and stuck with the buffet for the rest of our stay.

The Beach is amazing. We only came out either early in the morning or later in the day and it was not busy at all. You can walk pretty far in either direction along some of the other hotels on the beach. There are vendors on the beach but they do respect the resort boundary and will not bother you too much if you indicate your lack of interest. The fire pits on the beach were awesome and we used them a couple of nights before and after dinner to relax. Hotel grounds are very well maintained with a lot of seating space everywhere. There is nightly entertainment, we attended part of one show and it seemed very well put together.

Location (Cabo): The hotel is located in San Jose del Cabo, which is close to the airport (about 20 min drive I think) and about 30 min drive from Cabo San Lucas. Outside the hotel there are a lot of condos in the area as well as a small shopping mall across the road. We did venture over but it wasn't the best place to shop, for that Cabo San Lucas is better. You can take the local bus to the centre of San Jose, there are some souvenir shops in that area but we found the Cabo San Lucas shopping to be better. Cabo San Lucas is a 30 mins drive from Hyatt Ziva. We took a cab there, was about $15 I believe. On the way back we took the local bus, which was less then $1 per person and dropped at the shopping mall across the road. Would definitely recommend a day trip to Cabo San Lucas and if you can take a whale watching excursion.

Overall it was an excellent all inclusive experience for us at the Hyatt Ziva and would be happy to return if looking at Cabo for vacation again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    220
    75
    26
    18
See reviews for
293
396
15
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This review is specific to an issue that we spent much of our honeymoon time talking with Fernanda, who was apparently one of the hotel managers. They double charged us for one night of our stay back in September (once through they Hyatt and once through Expedia) when we were assured that the finance department would refund our credit card within 2-3 days. Thinking this is a Hyatt, an american company, we would be safe. They are clearly unorganized, as we have been talking to corporate for months and they have asked for our credit card bill (2 times) and still have not given us the refund. To avoid being charged inappropriately, I would take caution with this hotel. We are extremely disappointed and will no longer stay at any Hyatt hotels for our travels. It's too bad, since this is a beautiful hotel.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed with some friends at the Hyatt Ziva in September for a bachelorette party. 3 people shared the room for 2 nights and 2 on the third night. This was all clearly booked properly in our reservation confirmation received via email. Our overall stay was good but when we checked out the staff said their printer was broken so they could not show me my final bill. When I returned home I saw my credit card was charged more than what I had agreed to at check in. Upon calling numerous times, I found out that they billed me for an additional person the last night. I explained that this person used the hotel shuttle to the airport and they could verify that there were just two people the last night. I was put in touch with Rodolfo Sanchez who said he would look into it for me but then has not returned any of my emails. So I am out the $80 as of now. This could have all been avoided if their printer was not "broken" upon checkout.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The most memorable thing about the last trip we went on to the Hyatt Ziva in Los Cabos was the food. We tried most of the restaurants and found all of them to be excellent! We can't wait to go back again!

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time that you took to write your comments, we appreciate your kind words.

It is great to know that you experienced all our restaurants and enjoyed them.

Los Cabos is in continue development and improvement we are working hard to become the favorite destination in Mexico.

We are looking forward to see you soon.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva
General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've never reviewed on trip advisor and I am a fairly well seasoned traveller that has come to expect that not all hotels are different and that they operate differently from city to city and country to country. Having said this, I have unfortunately had a very poor experience with the Hyatt Ziva in Cabos and have found it difficult to express this. Fall 2014 we contacted Hyatt Ziva to book our wedding for July 2015. Since that time, we have been bounced through 3 different wedding planners and have yet to recieve a contract with them, despite numerous detailed emails going their way. While they have suffered a massive set back with the hurricane, we did not contact them for over a month in the thoughts that they had much bigger things to deal with. After some time, we contacted the hotel and they said they are gauranteed to be open on April 30, 2015 and to go ahead and book the wedding, even giving our travel agent confirmation. The wedding planners have not answered emails including after a phone conversation where they said they would send the contract for the wedding and some follow up information. It has been 5 weeks since that conversation and we have heard nothing back from them; despite sending polite follow up emails to them to inquire as to the status. Today, after numerous attempts, we got a hold of the wedding planner on the phone who told us that the hotel will not be open until mid June 2015 and would we mind pushing back our wedding - this is after they told us to go ahead and book, took the money, etc.
For a destination wedding, this hotel is very expensive - charging $75 pp for a wedding. Despite this price, we went with the Hyatt because we were told they followed the Hyatt brand to T and delivered on that quality. Unfortunately, we have not had that experience in our 5 months of communicating with the hotel. While I am aware that they are having trouble on their end, I feel that they have not given their prospective and BOOKED clients fair treatment. We are now looking into pulling our 130 booked people for July 2015 from this hotel to another because of the severe lack of communication, professionalism and respect that they have shown us and our travel agents. I am not sure if others have experienced this frustration. I am not mad at the hotel, just earnestly let down by the Hyatt brand that I think their managers and supervisors should be aware of how Hyatt is being represented.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumner, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We traveled to this resort Septemeber 11-16, 2014, to celebrate our anniversary. This resort is beautiful! The staff is very accommodating! The buffet bar is ok, but we did get to try the French, Lotus was good, Steakhouse which was good. Did the tour of Cabo, which was fun, some of it was short lived because of hurricane Odile coming.

As hurricane was approaching, management got us together for a meeting of protocol. We gathered a few necessities & headed to the theater. The resort provided us food, water, & pop, gave us mats from outdoor chairs for our beds, gave us linen & pillows. They had movies playing to keep our minds off of with hurricane approaching. It did get scary when the first part of the storm hit, but once again, management & staff stepped up and tried to keep us informed & comfortable. The next day, the destruction was devastating! That evening the resort was able to get a land line out to call our loved ones. Following day management arranged for to go back to our rooms, gather our luggage and provided transportation to military airport base to evacuate.

It was a long process, and confusion at the airport, but we finally managed to get onto a plane, 5 1/2 hrs later. One word of advice, if this ever happened again, bring all the water you can carry with for evacuation. It was very hot in the sun & people were getting dehydrated.

After hearing from other travelers at other resorts, I feel very blessed that this resort took very good care of us! They did not abandon us, like other resorts did to people. They took excellent care of us! What sunny days we had, we truly loved this resort!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,

We truly value your comments and the time you took to write them.
Your perceptions with regards our services help us to keep improving to provide the best services to all our guests. We have the fortune to have excellent human beings as associates that took care of all our guests during such unfortunate experience.

Your kind comments are our best motivation.

We hope to have another opportunity to host you again.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva
General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, Missouri
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at this location over the summer holidays. My family typically take a summer vacation at an all inclusive resort and we typically stay with AM Resorts. After a few years of the same repetitive experience we decided to be adventurous and try something different. We were skeptical about booking with another company. I ca honestly tell you that we had a fantastic experience. I would highly recommend this location. Staff was friendly, food was fantastic and accommodations were top notch. Hyatt thanks for making this a very special vacation for the entire family.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing with us you experience at Hyatt Ziva los Cabos, your opinion is very important for us, it help us to keep improving day by day, your kindly words motivate all of our associates to work and achieve the satisfaction of our guests.

I hope your next visit will be even better, best regards.

Francisco J. Silva
Managing Director
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Address: Paseo del Malecon l-5 D, Fonatur Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Los Cabos Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 619
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most majestic peninsulas in the world and offering spectacular views of the Sea of Cortes, Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos is a luxurious all inclusive oasis of sophistication and comfort. This magnificent beachfront resort is minutes from beautiful downtown San Jose del Cabo and features plush accommodations, impressive amenities, impeccable service and is just minutes from the international airport.Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos is a unique, all inclusive experience that offers a myriad of activities from fine dining options at six a la carte restaurants and two gourmet buffet restaurants, to unique spa treatments, Children’s programming and nightly entertainment shows. Enjoy deep-water fishing, scuba diving, world-class golf and many more adventure activities nearby. Or, simply relax and soak up the sun in one of the resort’s five swimming pools and breathtaking beachfront.This luxury resort also features 35,000 square feet of meeting facilities and ideal locations combined with the special touch of event planners who will attend to every last detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Los Cabos Palace Deluxe Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Barcelo Hotel Los Cabos
Barcelo Resort Los Cabos
The Grand Baja
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.