We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm a Big Fan of The Drunken Sailor!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Drunken Sailor

The Drunken Sailor
La Playita | Tuesday to Sunday 12- 10, San Jose del Cabo 23403, Mexico
+52 403 329 6464
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Hello! The DRUNKEN SAILOR IS CLOSED ON MONDAYS. We are a Taco Shack located next to Jansens Bait and Tackle, overlooking the new marina in La Playita. We specialize in fresh Mexican style seafood with an international twist. The menu is simple, with daily specials.Our most popular item is a Vietnamese inspired seafood taco, a taco that is like no other taco you have ever tried! Light, fresh and crunchy,it is delicious! Our funky beach bar whips up fresh squeezed margaritas and ice cold micheladas in a friendly, fun environment. A perfect place to watch the sunset over the marina, and meet new people, locals and tourists alike.Directions-We are located in Puerto Los Cabos. Follow the signs for Hotel El Ganzo. We are between the boat yard and the Hotel El Ganzo, on the dirt road next to JANSENS Bait and Tackle. LOOK FOR THEIR SHARK SIGN ON YOUR LEFT.WE ARE RIGHT NEXT DOOR, IN A TWO STORY BLUE PALAPA.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“I'm a Big Fan of The Drunken Sailor!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This is a small restaurant with seafood and vegetarian dishes. I love the falafel tacos with the lime french fries.
Great view of the marina.
Staff is super friendly.

Located next door to Jensen Fishing Tackle.
Prices are very affordable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    38
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My wife and I were walking to the fishing port when we saw the name of a restaurant: The Drunken Sailor. That name, I saw it first in reading very good comments on this restaurant on The Trip Advisor web site, a few weeks before doing this trip to the San Jose del Cabo area. My wife had a taco chino and I had a shrimp ceviche. Both dishes were great. I also enjoyed a very cold beer. Prices are low for a very good and fresh food.
The service was excellent. The very nice young woman gave us some details about the menu.
Thanks again...we will come back soon....

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Unique and Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Yummy food, friendly staff, cozy, fun and casual. You must try their shrimp mexican burger and hibiscus lemonade tea. They closed on Monday and Tuesday. Great place for lunch or early dinner and the view of the Marinas is really nice from upstairs.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Aargh! Mateys! This is the place for you!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I found this recommend place on TA of course from another traveler who had similar tastes and interests so we decided to give it a try. After a winding drive to Puerto del Cabo, we found this small but colorful restaurant, parked right in front and were immediately greeted. Both ladies said to grab a seat anywhere. From downstairs, you can smell delicious fish being cooked. We climbed the stairs to the perch, the crow's nest, the upstairs Palapa. Call it what you want, it was really cool. The adorable Spanish speaking waitress and an American came by to take our drink order and recommend a few items. We opted for the shrimp burrito and fish and chips along with a shrimp cocktail and kid's quesadilla. The shrimp was lightly coated in a panko crust and wrapped in a flour tortilla with mint, cilantro, pineapple, cabbage and a delicious sauce. It was unusual and not your typical burrito. All of the flavors worked together. The fish and chips were also panko crusted with sesame seeds. The fish portion enormous. The chili-lime fries were excellent. They were fresh potatoes, thinly sliced "fry" style then dusted with some chili lime. The shrimp ceviche cocktail was also excellent with larger than expected shrimp in a usual but flavorful tomato, cucumber, onion and avocado mixture. We enjoyed chips, guac and Mexican sauce along with our Cokes, Dos Equis, and purified water with ICE! We will return the next time in Cabo.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great View Of The Harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stumbled upon El Marinero Borracho after a long search. Although not easy to find, this MEXICAN CANTINA is the place for SEAFOOD and CERVEZAS at Puerto Los Cabos. Next to the Hotel Ganzo it offers a excellent view of the Harbor from the upstairs tables. The service is warm and friendly. Unique and unexpected artwork abounds.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Drunken Sailor also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to The Drunken Sailor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Drunken Sailor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.