We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful cactus botanical garden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wirikuta Garden

Wirikuta Garden
Puerto Los Cabos, San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Improve this listing
Type: Gardens
Attraction Details
Selkirk, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful cactus botanical garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We visited in April and apparently it had just recently opened.
We had a guided tour that lasted approximately an hour. He took us through the greenhouse and showed us cacti varieties from around the world as well as those that are indigenous to Mexico.
Then we went for a tour of the sculpture garden where a local artist is displaying some of his bronze and granite sculptures. After that, we went for a tour of the gardens. They were beautiful, and the cacti will be spectacular when they are in bloom this summer. We were a little too early to see the cacti in full boom but we did see a few that we're blooming early. As well, they had just recently planted a labyrinth flowering shrubs. It will make a beautiful ,fragrant labyrinth when fully grown.
This would be a lovely spot for wedding photos!

Visited April 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“cactus paradise !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Unique place right out of San José. They say to collect over 3000 species of cactus! Perfect for an early morning visit.

Visited May 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Urban extension of the Baja California Desert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Wonderful collection of desert plants just aside the central city. Very little visual pollution and a nice place to learn about the enviroment.

Visited April 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“secret hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

this is a great secret place to go for a picnic in a huge grass park oasis in the desert...
full of wonderful sculptures... very romantic.

Visited April 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Place to see Cactus!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This place has a large collection of cactus. If you have any problem to walk you can not visit it. They offer guided tours about 1 hour length, this are not recommended to people with problems to walk because there are no facilities to help you. You need do it by yourself! They must have electric cars to provided the tours because is hard to old people, specially during summer time. They most inform you about this situation.

Visited February 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wirikuta Garden also viewed

 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Wirikuta Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wirikuta Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.