We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Las Ventanas= All Star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosewood Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosewood Resort to your Saves list
Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosewood Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ctra Transpeninsular Km.19.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Las Ventanas= All Star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2007

I absolutely loved Las Ventanas. Until now, my favorite hotel was Four Seasons in Hualalai (for a variety of reasons) but after spending a few days here, I am left scratching my head as to which is the all-star.

Julio picked us up at the airport in the Mercedes, which I thought was excellent. I loved the soft ipod music in the background, chilled water and cold towels that were included. The ride was very comfortable and exactly what I needed after 6 hours of travel. He also alerts the hotel you are on the way, so they are all prepared for you in every way when you get there. The handoff is so smooth. I thought this was all very cool.

The rooms are magnificent, definitely better than Hualalai. We were supposed to be in a oceanview suite but were upgraded to an oceanfront one bedroom suite in the residences when we got here. The room had many views of the ocean from different angles, which I thought was wonderful. All night you hear the terrific waves crashing down on the ocean below. No detail was overlooked- complimentary tequila in the room, candles by the jacuzzi, a wonderful separate bathroom suite with tub and shower, the largest mini bar ever, comfortable couches on the terrace.

The service was definitely terrific. Many of the staff knew our name when we left. At times, I saw more staff than patrons. Everyone stops what they are doing when they see you and said, "Buenas Dias". Several times, the staff made an effort to find out about us- where were we from, what did we think of Las Ventanas?"... Also, as I walked the property I would often see staff meetings being done. I guess each day they like to stay at the top of their game.

The pool is terrific. Terrific view. Waiters adjusting our umbrellas often as the sun moved through the day. Loved the chilled bottled water, evian spritz, sunglass cleaning, leg pillows, complimentary snacks brought around.

Sea Grill was terrific. So incredibly romantic at night. Excellent food and terrific wine list.

We also ventured to O&O Palmilla at Agua-also terrific view-they had music and fireworks there and loved that too. I might actually go back there, one day, although- I think that is a much larger resort and you tend to blend into the crowd. LV is far more exclusive.

Few Points:

1. Plan on spending in incidentals about $800-1,000 a day and you should be fine. This includes breakfast, lunch and dinner with drinks, drinks through the day, and a fun activity.

2. If you are trying to save $$, skip the spa. I wasn't impressed at all with the service and if you are from a city like NYC- when there are many good spas available, trust me- LV has nothing over them. The spa was the only true rip-off, in my opinion.

3. If you are from a major city like NYC, LA, Chicago and are used to fine restauarants, don't waste your time at C or even the Restaurant at LV. Go somewhere for the ambience, the waves crashing down. These previous restaurants draw is the terrific chefs, but honestly- the previous cities I mentioned- have the best chefs in the world. You can go to a Gramercy Tavern like ambiance anytime- you cant go to Sea Grill in NYC or Agua. C looked like any tough trendy restaurant in NYC. Ummm, no thanks.

4. If you plan on venturing out to other restaurants and taking cabs, bring plenty of $$ with you before hand. There is no ATM on the hotel premises so when we needed cash, the hotel gave it to us with a $5 surcharge. Forgetting that this is a little chintzy, make sure you have plenty with you.

5. Make your reservations before you leave for LV. We got shut out of the plaza/beach dinner (which looked fabulous and not to be missed) as this was a very last minute trip. Also, the porsche was rented for the whole week by someone, so we got shut out of that as well.

Have a terrific time and enjoy it. I really loved LV and would come back again- probably would try O&O for comparsion though.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    35
    12
    10
    7
See reviews for
73
425
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2007

We arrived absolutely astounded at the extraordinary set-up of this place. The service was superb, the views were spectacular, and the food was amazing. It was such a soul-filled experience and we plan to
come back again. Thank you for making everything perfect!

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2007

My wife and I stayed at LVP for 5 nights in mid-March for our Honeymoon. We had an unbelievable time. The resort is the most gorgeous place either of us have been, or could imagine in North or South America. The grounds are immaculate, the pools are incredibly beautiful and peaceful, the rooms large, extremely clean and decorated very nicely and the service the best we have ever had (including other resorts in Mexico). I highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for rest and relaxation. There were a handful of kids, who were all generally well behaved and quiet except for one crying baby in a room near the small pool which was annoying for a while given that everyone else is very quiet and either reading, sleeping or talking quietly.

The prices are expensive, but we did not encounter what several reviews had alluded to (i.e., $35 glasses of wine). Breakfast for 2 will cost you $55-$70 depending on how much you eat, whether you have coffee and fresh juice. That also includes 25% to cover taxes at 10% and service at 15%. Lunch can be really expensive or pretty reasonable for the resort. You can blow it out and drop $150 for 2 people at the Restaurant or get great salads, tacos, burgers, etc., and end up around $60-$90 for lunch for 2 people with tax and service. Dinner is more pricey, but you will spend about $150 for 2 people excluding alchohol for 2 appetizers, 2 entrees and desert. You can go higher if you are ordering high end steaks, but we always ate fish. They offer a meal plan for $190 per person per day (excluding tax and service), but we eat A LOT and could not figure out how anyone could spend that much unless they ate 3 courses and veal chops at every meal.

In terms of alchohol, the wine is the most over priced we have seen anywhere, but is consistent with that of other high end cabo resorts. My suggestion is to ask for a drink list. You can drink good Mexican wine for $10-$11 per glass if price is an issue. If you are prepared to drop 4x-5x the cost of the bottle in the states they have a very nice wine list. You can also order martinis for $10-$12 each, just again, ask for the drink list so you know the price. If they have the opportunity to upsell you they will.

Spa is amazing, beach is beautiful. You should go as soon as you can.

  • Liked — Size and cleanliness of room
  • Disliked — Could hear birds chirping early in morning
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2007

My husband and stayed at Las Ventanas two weeks ago and it was everything I imagined and hoped it would be. The Hotel is beautiful, and the service is very good. Our room, an ocean view with a roof deck, was decorated beautifully.

The amenitites are great- We enjoyed movie night out at the beach where we had a private dinner by candlelight followed by a movie on a large flat screen television they set up for us. Note- contact the romantic coordinator to book some special activities.

It is a quiet, relaxing atmosphere- not the type of place to go if you are looking for nightlife but amazing if you are looking for a romantic, relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2007

My boyfriend took me to Las Ventanas two weeks ago, and I am still positively glowing from the experience. If money is not an issue, this is the very best. We stayed for a week in a 2nd Floor oceanview suite, which has a rooftop lounge and its own jacuzzi on the terrace. We took full use of every amenity available- the private dinners on the beach, the private yoga and salsa lessons, the spa, the chef's table. If you are a social couple, definitely try the chef's table, where you'll meet several other couples over dinner. There are no kids here, just honeymooners, and couples. Lying poolside, waiters offered us games, lemonade, fruit. They cleaned our sunglasses and adjusted umbrellas. Another traveling tip: use the Director of Romance to book your amenities and plan any special touches, like having a letter in a bottle delivered to your spouse, or run a bath for you during dinner. I felt like I was living in a dream the whole time.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2007

We stayed at Las Ventanas for 5 days in January.

It was fantastic. If you are looking for relaxation, in a beautiful environment, at a first class, 5 star+ resort, this is the place to go. Although expensive - but you know that going in if you have done your research - it was worth every penny and more. We are going back in 3 months - the reservations are already made.

We stayed in the 2 bedroom, with jacuzzi on the balcony. We spent a lot of time, during the day but especially at night, in the jacuzzi. Everything about the rooms was perfect. Loads of space. Full kitchen (not that we used it much). Everything in the room was immaculate. The bathrooms were wonderful, everything was of the finest quality.

One of the treats was our personal butler. Ours was Raymundo. He did everything we asked, and went out of his way to please even when we didn't ask. The best example was: The day before we were to leave, we went in to San Jose Del Cabo, and purchased some jewelry. The stone had to be set, so we arranged with the store to deliver it to us at Las Ventanas that evening. When we received it, the store had not set the stone the way we wanted it (innocent mistake, but it just wasn't right). We had rented the resort's Mini Cooper that day for the drive in to San Jose but our rental time was up at 10:00 the next morning. After the jewelry was delivered that evening, we woke up early the next morning and asked the Concierege if we could keep the car a bit longer than 10:00 AM, explaining our problem, so that we could drive back to San Jose when the jewelry store opened up at 10. After about 3 minutes, the Concierege came back and asked us to explain/show the problem to her, and that she had spoken to Raymundo already and that he would drive it into town, get it fixed, and bring it back to us. That is what he did. We were saved at least 2-3 hours of our time, between the driving and the waiting time at the store, and the hassle of doing that on the day we were leaving, all because the resort and its staff, and our wonderful butler, went out of their way (as they did during our entire stay) to please and make our stay enjoyable in every way. All of the staff, whether at the pool or the beach or the restaurants, were always friendly and helpful.

We got in-room massages and several treatments at the Spa. They were the best either of us have ever received at any resort.

At the beach, you lay down and within a couple of minutes, one of the staff is there offering you water. They bring sorbet around to you while you are relaxing on the beach. Someone came by offering to clean our sunglasses. At the same time, they seem to use discretion as to when they approach you, such that you aren't bothered and do not feel that way in the slightest.

The food was excellent. We ate at the Sea Grill, The Restaurant, The Tequila/Ceviche Bar, and room service, for all meals. We would have been content to have every meal at the Ceviche Bar: lots of variety and perfectly prepared. All of the food was outstanding. You can get room service at any hour.

We also went on the 4 hour yacht cruise, which was quite a treat. We were served champagne, wonderful ceviche, and other treats. We saw several whales. We went snorkeling and there was a wave runner on the yacht, which was lots of fun. The staff on the cruise was very friendly, fun, and did everything they could to make the cruise enjoyable, which it certainly was.

We haven't been to the other 'luxury' resorts in Cabo, but we find it hard to imagine that any resort could be as first class, relaxing and luxurious, in every way, as Las Ventanas.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2007

My wife and I went to Las Ventanas for four nights in early February for a kid-free get-away. We'd heard so many great things about the hotel, so we thought it might be somewhat of a let-down due to our high expectations. We've traveled pretty extensively and stayed in nice hotels (Four Seasons, other Rosewood properties, etc.). We were not disappointed. The rooms are amazing (and we had the least expensive room, a gardenview suite), the property is beautiful, the food was great (we had margaritas and chips and guacamole everyday - unbelievable), and the service was phenomenal (with one minor exception at the pool one day). The resort is so quiet and relaxing - exactly what we needed for a long weekend without kids. Its not a party scene if that is what you're interested in (and we're in our early 30s). The staff is so friendly and anxious to attend to your every need - you'll feel very pampered. Our gardenview room had a good ocean view from our private patio. We went off-property for dinner twice (once to Mi Cocina in San Jose del Cabo, and once to "C" at the Palmilla), and regretted it.

Its really expensive, but we feel like it was worth it, particularly since we don't get away without the kids very often. We definitely will go back.

  • Liked — Beautiful setting, beautiful rooms, beautiful property, great food and service
  • Disliked — The prices
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosewood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosewood Resort

Address: Ctra Transpeninsular Km.19.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#1 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosewood Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosewood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Ventanas Al Paraiso, a Rosewood Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Las Ventanas Al Paraiso Hotel
Las Ventanas Al Paraiso Resort
Las Ventanas Cabo San Lucas
Las Ventanas Al Paraiso, A Rosewood Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosewood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.