We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marquis Los Cabos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marquis Los Cabos to your Saves list
Marquis Los Cabos
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Transpeninsular Km 21.5 | Fraccionamiento Cabo Real, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Marquis Los Cabos)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We have just returned from two weeks at Secrets Los Cabos and were delighted by the trip. I had read some mixed reviews on here before we went and can only really conclude that some people are most happy when they have something to complain about!! Lets start with the limitations - there is no free wi fi though there is a business centre below the hotel (which they don't tell you!) where you can check emails etc for free. The pool isn't (or wasn't when we were there) heated so it can be a little "bracing", however if the infinity is off it heats up pretty well and we also found that the pool on the left (by the Barefoot & Baracuda) was a little warmer. Some of the staff do have limited English and occasionally you may have to ask for something again if it isn't exactly as you wanted it, however to be honest - so what! Its not like asking for an ashtray twice is going to kill you! Also, we found that the staff pretty quickly got to know us (always worth talking to them!) and knew what we liked e.g. an ashtray, boiled eggs, etc. A further tip, if you are having problems getting something understood ask the reception to write it out for you and learn it a little (we did it with ashtray) and the problem will be overcome pretty quickly. Other than that there are no real downsides to this place.

The beach is a lot bigger, wider and better than it appears on photos and it is a nice walk along to the Hilton or the other way past George Clooney and Cindy Crawford's houses. The rooms are good sized and well stocked, the restaurants are all excellent as well and we ate so much I thought I might be going back as excess luggage! Canto del Mar is the French one and is a real treat as is Spice but really all the restaurants are good. THere are lots of extras free such as prize bingo, tequila & wine tastings and we even got to help release baby turtles into the sea. The themed nights and entertainment are pretty good too especially the Mexican night, although don't feel you have to eat the buffet - you can always just watch the show and then have dinner at one of the restaurants.

We also via concierge hired a fishing boat for a morning and even caught a marlin! You can bring the fish back to the hotel and they delight in cooking it various ways for you. You can easily get to both towns by bus (don't bother paying a cab) which stops right outside the hotel, however just be careful when crossing the road! San Jose is very pretty but very touristy whereas San Lucas looked more suitable for restaurants, bars etc. THe fare is about $2 each way and only takes about 20 mins. If you want to go fishing or just out and about around the coast, just go into San Lucas and go around the harbour - there are no shortage of places offering trips and if you are very lucky you will be joined on your boat (yes, on it!) by the local sea lions who tend to hop on to see if there is any live bait left!!

We loved the whole trip and felt we had been there much longer than just two weeks. We would definitely go again.

Room Tip: the rooms around the mid 20s and early thirties are central and above the bar and main restaurants w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    192
    66
    20
    15
See reviews for
33
549
22
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

My husband and I really liked the whole experience! All areas exceeded our expectations. Service, food, pools, employees, etc. were flawless. Thank you. Highly recommend. The service was unbelievable but not too much. Will definitely go back! Met some fun people. Hi...K. and M.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AMResorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We just recently returned from our honeymoon and my birthday.

I will start with the limited downside, in my opinion:
-Unlimited Luxury should include Wi-Fi, and if you pay for Wi-Fi, it should work.
-Unlimited luxury should include heated pools when the temperatures are cooler.
-Unlimited luxury should include a hot tub.
-Unlimited luxury should include the adult beverage you want in your room or available via room service...not a couple of beers they select .
-Unlimited luxury should not have sand paper towels and sheets, nor hard as a board mattresses.

I never did understand the coupon racket. Put a price on something and offer it up. We just used one for the Wi-Fi, and did not try to do the math on the other offerings.

We did not have any pressure for any sales pitches, but I politely made it clear that we were not interested and never heard another word.

The golf concierge will only book the three courses they offer. I thought that was crappy to only help a guest if they make a dime from it. Palmilla is available on GolfNow and Cabo del Sol is available on GolfHub.

The food was good. The drinks flowed freely (thanks Ezuqine "Suzi"). The facilities were in good shape. They need a sit down beach bar.

We saw a breaching whale from the hotel beach.

After writing all of this I dropped my rating from a 4 to a 3. A 3.5 is probably more accurate.

Tipping - you will see people working very hard to make your vacation as relaxing as possible. They hustle to do everything for you to make your comfortable. They more than likely do not make much. Yes, gratuities are included, but is $20 worth of ones a day going to kill you?

Room Tip: High floors towards sunset side are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Just finished a 6 night stay at the resort. The staff and the effort of the staff to provide good service combined with high quality food service made this stay very enjoyable. Everything was not perfect all of the time, however it was easy to see that middle level staff management was doing everything possible to hit "the perfect mark". The French restaurant was outstanding and the fish and seafood preparation was always outstanding no matter where we chose to eat. The ocean facing rooms are well worth the view. The choice of available beverages and mid to high level alcohol choices are also good. Beer choice is pretty limited but what the heck. The physical location of the resort as it is oriented to the ocean view and beach would be pretty hard to beat and in about 20 minutes you can get a ride to the Marina for shopping or whatever. We thoroughly enjoyed our interaction with the staff and the staff at the hotel, particularly the waiters and service staff for food and drinks really made this place a good value as well as good quality place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

7th time to Cabo, first time to this resort. It was spectacular! Really, the only thing that was disappointing was the fact that WiFi was not included as an amenity. It really should be. Everything else was fantastic.

Restaurants - all great. Daily ceviche with guacamole & chips was our favorite. The sushi & sashimi at Spice was wonderful. The only restaurant we didn't try was Dos Mares. CoCo Café was a treat to have coffee in the morning before breakfast. The breakfast buffet was smaller but very good quality. You're not in want of anything. You can also order off the menu.

Service - The staff is hardworking & very accommodating. Thank you, Juan and Salvador, for ensuring a class experience. No swim-up bar at this resort, but absolutely not needed; poolside drinks & food were delivered fast! The staff completely caters to you.

Grounds - We upgraded to the 5th floor ocean front - best upgrade ever spent. Since the resort is structured horizontally & not deep, the ocean front feel is maximized. The infinity pools are also long & crawl the length of the resort grounds.

Entertainment - A singer one night - Karla. Exquisite voice. A guitarist a couple other nights. I understand that they're not set up for bands or larger entertainment, but it would be good to also include more variety, or even a keyboardist. Only 2 bars in this resort - the beach bar, and Suspiro. Would also be good if they had another one open, or that Suspiro would be open earlier hours.

This is a "chill" resort. Come here if you want to actually hear ocean waves instead of loud pool music & activities over a microphone. We'll definitely be back, counting the days.

One note - I don't know the name of the cab company the resort uses, but the driver that took us to the airport dropped us off in Arrivals vs. Departures. It's a long walk - with luggage - so we had to flag another cab to take us to Departures. Could be an honest mistake, but I didn't think so. The cabs know where to go.

Room Tip: 5th floor ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stated in this beautiful Resort in December 2013 for a company meeting. We had a really good time, the pool area has stunning views and we got to see wheals. The food was actually good, I recommend you to try the ceviche. Couple of things you need to know before you book, the wifi is not included and even if you pay for it the signal is not strong, there is no night club in the resort, and even though they have night activity there is no place to dance. The hot tubs are in the SPA and to use them you have to pay $15 extra. The pools are not heated and this time of year that would of been nice. Make sure to walk down to the beach to the Hilton's, they have a place where you can get in the water and it is crystal clear. Enjoy it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Cabos Baja California Sur
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. We were greeted with warmth and very welcoming smiles from the staff. Everyone at the resort was lovely and treated you like a movie star. We felt very special. The staff would go out of their way to get anything for you. and without you even having to ask. The food was great and the cocktails by the pool were amazing!!! would definitely stay here again if we had the chance. We didn't want to leave .! Thanks Secrets

Merryn & Chris Nicosia

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AMResorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marquis Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Los Cabos

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 21.5 | Fraccionamiento Cabo Real, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Marquis Los Cabos)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marquis Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As of November 1, 2011 Marquis Los Cabos has officially been transitioned into Secrets Marquis Los Cabos offering all of the privileges of adults-only, Unlimited-Luxury® for the first time on the scenic Baja Peninsula. At Secrets Marquis, guests can enjoy handsomely appointed suites with world-class amenities, 24 hour romantic in-suite dining, exciting daytime beach, land and pool activities, nightly entertainment, gourmet a la carte dining without reservations, complimentary international and domestic brand beverages and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marquis Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Marquis Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Marquis Los Cabos Hotel
Marquis Los Cabos Resort
Marquis Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marquis Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.