We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place good people and outstanding service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marquis Los Cabos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marquis Los Cabos to your Saves list
Marquis Los Cabos
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Transpeninsular Km 21.5 | Fraccionamiento Cabo Real, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Marquis Los Cabos)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great place good people and outstanding service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Let me start by saying this has been the 5Th time we have stayed at a Secrets resort, and we truly believe that Secrets is one of the best small chain resorts.

The rooms are beautiful grounds are well kept and the food is great!


Now that we have been to a few Secrets we kind of look for the differences between all of them.

Secrets Maroma is still one of our favorites.



*Secrets Marquis has a much more relaxing feel to it. If your looking for some much needed R&R this would be the place.



*Cold towels by the pool and passed

hors d'oeuvres pool and beach side.



*Infinity pool blends right in with the ocean water. (nice touch)



Anyone looking to visit Cabo should know its hard to find a beach that you can swim at. Secrets Marquis staff take a daily walk down to a part of the beach that you can enter the water.



*The Coffee shop is amazing!!



*Staff are also amazing!!



*The lobby is breath taking!!





Now on to why I give it a 4 out of 5.



*The restaurants are great but they need at least 2 more.

*They do not have a pool bar(not sure why if they have one at every other Secrets).



*The shows at each secrets I have been to were over the top great(Vegas style), except for Secrets Marquis. I'm not sure why but they don't put much into the shows at this resort.



*I also got the feel that they were more worried about the corporate events then the couples at the resort.

It always seemed they had something going on for a group of 150 or 200 people and pushed the couples aside.

One night they had a beautiful sky lantern lighting on the beach but it was only for corporations that were staying at the resort.



Another night they had a buffet on the beach for corporate events only, and our special night was at the back of the resort in a meeting room for a Mexican buffet.

(Not cool)



We always make the best out of each of our vacations and would return for a short stay but not more then 4 days due to the amount of restaurants and lack of entertainment. Its defiantly a great place to have a Corporate event.



My trip was back in may of 2013 weather was great also did some good fishing.


We Just booked a trip to secrets newest resort in Cabo, Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort set to open December 15.


We will be going January 13 for 7 nights.


Cant wait to review it for you guys hoped this helped. feel free to ask any questions.


best price I could find was on be4youbookit.com


Have an Outstanding day!

Room Tip: They all have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    194
    65
    20
    15
See reviews for
35
562
23
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel is absolutely beautiful and the rooms were more than expected.

The staff is very helpful and very attentive without being overbearing.

The food, except for the French restaurant, was very good for an all exclusive resort and the liquor was top shelf.

Would go back every year if I could afford it.

Room Tip: Go in the beginning of December or after Thanksgiving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

The service was great over all but on a couple of occasions the front desk staff forgot we were standing there for their help. The pool waiters were on top of their game. They were there once my drink was gone. Food was really good from the buffet, room service and restaurants. The activities and entertainment were so much fun, it is a must to participate. David the entertainment manager was a blast to hangout with too. The bad parts of the hotel were pretty bad. You had to pay for the Internet (the cheap places advertised free). The TV's in the rooms need to be updated especially when you want to relax after spending all day in the sun. We experienced tropical storm Lorena and the front staff were running around with their heads chopped off. We had to stay a couple of extra days and the hotel did give us a discounted rate but my Expedia deal was actually much cheaper. I noticed all the flaws in the paint and there several leaking spots. I was really annoyed when the hosted placed us next to the leaking roof for breakfast, lost major brownie points with me. Over all the resort was awesome when the weather was great because you were distracted by the beautiful ocean.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara A, General Manager at Marquis Los Cabos, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay ! We have already implemented all necessary actions in order to avoid that the inconveniences presented during your stay ever happen again. I actually would like to take this opportunity to mention that we have already bought NEW TVs to all of our rooms. They will be installed by the end of this month.
I sincere hope you can give us a new opportunity to better serve you.
Looking forward to welcome you very soon !
Cordially.-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just returned last evening from Secrets Los Cabos. We had an excellent time there, the service is wonderful, especially around the beautiful infinity pool. The guys that look after you are second to none, always making sure you have a drink or if you need a towel or chair and they have a great menu for snacks during the day. Look for VICTOR OR ALBERTO -there wonderful and felt like we had a few new friends when we left. We upgraded our room to a Casita on the beach on the first floor, absolutely stunning, and great access to the pool and beach. If you can afford the upgrade, it's well worth it. The Spice restaurant was good but our favourite was the French restaurant. Breakfast buffet was nice and the coffee and buns they send to your room in the morning is a nice touch.

Room Tip: Casita rooms are wonderful - room 710 is our favourite, close to the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great adult only resort in Cabo. It's a bit far from the city so a taxi cost 25 each way unless you want to take the bus. All inclusive food was fantastic! Make sure you get reservations for the better restaurants on site because they fill up fast. Also no junky liquor brands served. Will stay again next year!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have been to lots of all inclusive hotels in Mexico, and this one was by far the best one we have ever stayed at. Not only was the property impeccably taken care of, but the beds were comfy, the staff accommodating and helpful, but the views were amazing!! We only stayed for 3 nights, as that is the usual maximum i can take for an all inclusive in Mexico; however, it was far too short for this property, we wanted to stay for a couple more days!
If you are planning a trip here, just be careful to read the dress code before zipping up your suitcase for the last time if you want to enjoy all they have to offer.

Room Tip: they are all amazing, we visited several with friends along the trip, but we had a room on the top f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Secrets Marquis 8/10/13 to 8/17/13 and had a wonderful time. It was our first time to Cabo and our second all-inclusive resort. We met several other couples by the pool and hung out with them the entire week. We loved the pools, atmosphere, and food. There was nothing we were served to eat or drink that we did not like. The servers at the pool were generally very quick to bring you drinks and food. Some of the fruity drinks were weak for my taste so I always just asked for it with extra liquor and they accomadated me every time without questioning me. They also would randomly bring us drinks even when we didn't ask for them b/c they knew us after a few days and knew what we liked. Everything was great.

We had a room on the 4th floor which was very nice and the view was awesome. I loved watching the sun rise every morning on our balcony with the freshly squeezed orange juice, sweet rolls and a fruit plate that was delivered every morning to our nook in our room around 6:30am. I asked for orange juice b/c we are not coffee drinkers and they were pleased to grant my request. Everyone who worked there was super nice and helpful. I loved all the intricate marble and stone accent detail around the resort and they kept the landscaping and all common areas very well maintained. As I watched the sunrise each morning I could see all the workers down by the pools cleaning and getting everything ready for the day. The workers all worked hard and were nice.

The Mexican themed buffet and show they put on every Saturday night was great. I tried several new foods that I never had and really enjoyed all of them. The show was also very good and really the best show the entire week we were there so don't miss it. We also enjoyed the pub crawl that the hotel organizes every Sunday and Wednesday night for $20 per person that includes transportation and shots (kamakazee/fruit type shots) at each bar. We went on the pub crawl with several other couples we met at the hotel on a Wed night and had a lot of fun. However, they should call it a "night club" crawl vs pub crawl. We are in our mid 40s and enjoyed the music and atmosphere better at the first and last night clubs and could have skipped the other 2 if we had known where we were going to end up to meet the rest of the group. We went to downtown Cabo a couple other times on our own by using taxis ($25 each way) and had a great time and some great meals in Cabo.

We loved the breakfast buffet every morning before going to the pool. The food eas great and so many options. Every day they had sevearl of the same items but then rotated other items on the buffet. They had a huge selection of freshly squuezed juices which i enjoyed mixing and a huge selection of fresh fruit, pastries, and many other items. We tried the Tapenyaki which was good and the only thing you need a reservation for. The French restaurant was our favorite but then again everywhere we went we loved the food. FYI- we come from Chicago and know good food and eat out 2-3 times a week at home and were very impressed by the quality of food at this hotel.

I also tried out the spa which was very nice. I had a 80 minute head to foot hot stone massage which was really relaxing and great but was $160 after using a $40 credit coupon the hotel gives you when you check in. More expensive than I would have paid at home but we were on vacation and I enjoyed it very much.

We will definitely be back to Cabo and Secrets Marquis. They have some beach vendors that sell some souveniors if you want them. They are the same type of things you can get in downtown Cabo but make sure you bargain them down. Start your pricing at 25% of what they initially tell you. All in all our trip and stay at Secrets Marquis was perfect for what we were looking for.....relaxation in the sun, fun, great food and resort.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and had a great view. I would sit out on our balcony and watch the sunrise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marquis Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Los Cabos

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 21.5 | Fraccionamiento Cabo Real, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Marquis Los Cabos)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marquis Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As of November 18, 2014, Marquis Los Cabos left the Secrets Brand to be operated directly by Marquis Hotels. Marquis Los Cabos is the only member in Los Cabos of the Leading Hotels of the World. Marquis Los Cabos reopened its doors on March 1, 2015 in an only adults, Marquis all inclusive program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, LHW, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Marquis Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Marquis Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Marquis Los Cabos Hotel
Marquis Los Cabos Resort
Marquis Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marquis Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.