We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay at Secrets Marquis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Marquis Los Cabos

Save Saved
You added Secrets Marquis Los Cabos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Marquis Los Cabos
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Transpeninsular Km 21.5 | Fraccionamiento Cabo Real, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Marquis Los Cabos)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Hot Hot Promotion!!
Ranked #12 of 39 hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome stay at Secrets Marquis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I HIGHLY recommend this resort for couples who are looking for a quiet and relaxing getaway. Our room was very spacious with an ocean view (all of the rooms have an ocean view) and it was very clean. We were very pleased with the food and we never had to wait long for room service no matter the time of day/night. The restaurants also did not disappoint, but our favourite spot to eat was by the infinity pool! The service during is so fantastic, and they always went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. By the end of our stay, our favourite server knew our favourite spot by the pool, and if there were no chairs available, he would bring some over for us. As I said, I just can't say enough about the service here.

Such a beautiful resort and property! We will definitely be returning!

This is a

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    423
    173
    58
    17
    14
See reviews for
29
476
21
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Had a great time and enjoyed this resort very much. Note to others - very quiet and not a lot of action going on so if that is what you are looking for, you've found it. Rooms were very clean, staff was excellent. Restaraunts not all open every day. French restarant was closed some days as was Spice. A little disappointing, but the food was very good. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. You are a 15 minute ride to either los cabos or cabo san lucas but easy travel by bus for 20 pesos each, one way. All in all a very nice resort - no complaints.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view, so no worries there. A lot of noise from the ocean pounding the beach. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed at Marquis a few days recently and really enjoyed the time spent there. A quick run down: the rooms are nice and large compared to other all-inclusives in the Cabo area. The bath is comfortable for two to get ready at the same time with two sinks. The shower is large but water pressure is a little low and could use a nicer shower head. Beverages and snacks in room were ample and were restocked daily. Nightly turn down service and room refresh was a nice touch. Pools were heated and large with lots of chairs. Bar and food service around pool was very, very good. They even brought linen placemats to your lounge chair.

Food and restaurants: Even though my stay was short, I sampled the food at all locations. The Coco cafe was a good stop on the way to the pool early morning. Plenty of coffee choices along with danish and sandwiches. The Asian restaurant, Spice, was very contemporary and we enjoyed the food. The upscale dining option (French) was very good and the presentation was over the top. Room service breakfast was a treat as well. Lunch at the pool was always delicious.

Spa: We both had treatments and found them very nice. The facilities were clean and staff was friendly.

Overall Environment: This is a quiet place. If you are looking for a quiet vacation where you can read by the pool and enjoy a few massages during your stay....this is the place It is not "high energy" with a lot of thumping music.

I only had two complaints but they were not enough to stain a really nice stay: 1) shower water pressure and 2) a large group staying there dominated the scene at times and got a little loud.

Hat's off to the entire staff for a great experience.

Room Tip: High rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We recently traveled to Secrets Marquis for a corporate incentive trip. We had stayed at another Secrets property in Cancun, so we knew a little of what to expect from this all-inclusive group. This resort was formerly a Marquis changing over to a Secrets, and so far so good! The service was incredible and Secrets handled our group of approximately 240 very well!

The property is beautiful - from the double infinity pool to the landscaping down to the decorative stone detail in the steps. The lobby area and restaurants have a nice, open layout, which is good since this a hotel-like setting versus the villa-setting that has become popular. This is also a smaller property, so you are fairly close to everything. There is also great whale-watching right from the resort!

Pool / Beach - The pool area is fantastic. There are 2 heated infinity pools that wrap around and include built-in seats, hottubs and a great view of the ocean. Floats are available and a shallow lounging area in the pool. There was plenty of seating and umbrellas to relax out of the sun, as well as another center pool that is quieter. This resort had one of the cleanest pool restrooms I have ever used! The only thing missing was a swim-up pool bar. The beach is nice, but you cannot get in the ocean, and the sand is course due to the rough ocean. You can take a nice walk around the rocky point to the Hilton if you want to swim in the ocean.

Spa / Fitness center - The spa was smaller than the other Secrets I had been too, but very nice. The rooms were quiet with music at a relaxing volume and I had a great massage. The hot tubs overlooked the pool/beach area but still managed to be private. While we did not use it, there is a fitness center and daily yoga or water aerobics available.

Rooms - the rooms are great. The maids clean daily and straighten up again at turn down. The toiletries are very nice and some end up coming home with me (orange scented sunscreen)! The mini bar and snacks are well stocked. The TV picture is not the best and spotty wireless is typical of an international resort. The best part is the morning tray that magically arrives around 8am daily in the room service box, and includes coffee, fresh fruit and danish/sweet rolls. I cannot say I slept great here, but it was a combination of the 3 hour time difference that I never really got used to, the loud crashing ocean and bar crowd and the flat pillows.

Restaurants - the Breakfast and lunch buffet were acceptable but pretty much same every day with a few differences. Room service breakfast was better, and we often ordered off the pool bar menu. The chicken flautas and quesadillas were delicious! We had 3 group dinner buffets and one group sit down dinner. Again, the buffets were monotonous, and the sit down dinner ended up being fish vs. chicken as ordered, but overall the food is good. The best on-site dinner of the week was at Spice. We sat at the hibachi table, which is always entertaining. It's a lot of food, so plan around that. Coco's Cafe is wonderful - coffee service until 7pm with delicious light snacks and pastries.

Bars - The pool bar service was great, especially Adalberto!! We are a demanding group during a day at the pool, and the pool servers held up to the challenge! There is a central bar/lounge area where everyone congregated at night. It was very noisy with the marble floors, and sound traveled up to the rooms above. The nightclub is not open (yet?) but the resort did offer a bar crawl trip on Saturday night to downtown Cabo. It was great to check out the local nightlife and fun to experience the spring break scene!

As with any warm location where the average temp was over 85 for the week, you have to expect that ice will melt if you don't drink your drink fast enough. I laugh every time I read a review about watered down drinks in a tropical setting. Common sense people!! Bring a Tervis if that truly ruins your trip! Overall, Secrets was able to accomodate our group in the beverage area with minor shortages of American beer, some upscale liquors and other random items like tonic water, Sprite, but again, this was a large group drinking for the better part of the day and night!

Etc. - We traveled to San Jose (approx. 20 min. from hotel) for some shopping - lots of hand-crafted jewelry, art and crafts, etc. Downtown Cabo (approx. 30 min. from hotel) is larger and more touristy, t-shirts and trinkets. There are a lot of restaurants and bars in Cabo, as well as the marina, where you can take a boat trip to see the Arch for about $15. To either spot, I recommend sharing a cab. Each way is $20-25, but if you have over 5 people, its only around $5. US dollars are accepted anywhere.

I highly recommend this resort as well as Cabo in general. It is a fairly long trip from the east coast but the weather and atmosphere make it all worth it!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th and 5th floor offer the best view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

First, let me start off by saying we have stayed at many all inclusive resorts, so we do have others to compare to this experience. We stayed here from March 9-16, just got home to cold Michigan:(
Let me start off by listing the pros!!
-BEAUTIFUL room and very very clean!!!
-The pool was beautiful!
-The staff was amazing and always asking if we needed anything!
-Adalberto at the pool was the best waiter and went over and beyond to be sure you had anything you needed!
-LOVED the nachos at the grill by the pool!!
-No waiting at the restaurants. Irene was the best waitress at breakfast!
-Whale watching was fun! Lots of whales right in front of the resort.
-VERY quiet and peaceful resort (we couldn't believe it was full because it never felt like it), until a huge group came in for a work conference and the place became loud and crazy, but great people watching to say the least!!:)
-Nobody bothers you for timeshares:):):)
-No Kids!! We love kids (have 5 ourself), but when you are getting away for a week its nice to have peace and quiet!!
-We walked for miles down the beach, the water is rough so you can't swim in it, but many gorgeous beach houses, Cindy Crawfords is apparently right next to the resort!
The cons:
-Food was "okay", after being in a place like Cabo you really don't need all inclusive because the restaurants at the marina fight for your business and the taste of the food there isn't even comparable to all inclusive food you have day in and day out. Ordering off the breakfast menu was tastier than the buffet offered.
-Not alot was offered for entertainment in the evening (except for the wild bunch that came at the end of the week:), really need to take a bus or taxi to Cabo San Lucas for night life.
-We could hear the highway from our room sometimes because the resort is so close to the outside doors to the rooms.

All in all, we would totally go back to this resort again if we were going to do all inclusive, however, we really enjoy the marina restaurants and will definitely be back to Cabo, just not with the all inclusive option and will stay closer to the marina next time. Very nice resort for couples traveling without kids:)

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor which had an excellent view!!! Ask for anything from the 3rd floor up so no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The first part of our week was very nice. The food was as expected (good not great) and the service was very good. We enjoyed a beautiful view from our room and the infinity pool is very nice. Although you can't swim in the ocean in front of the hotel walking the stretch of beach along the coast is really quite nice. Other than the pool, volleyball court and table tennis there isn't much to do, which is ok if you are just looking for a nice relaxing holiday. We took taxis in to both Cabo st luca and San Jose del Cabo as well as did a Cabo adventure snorkel tour (highly recommended!) and all of these were easily accessible from the hotel.

The one significant problem was that on Thursday a large company was holding a retreat event (I believe) and the behaviour of these guests really interfered with the otherwise relaxing environment of the hotel. They were loud until late at night, and I found the behaviour around the pool during the day to be immature and not what you would expect to find at an adults only 5 star hotel. I appreciate the resort has no control over guests behaviour although I understand from other guests that they encountered a similar problem on their last stay. I would caution the hotel about hosting these events as it really did dramatically change my perception of my stay here.

Room Tip: The views from the ocean front rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

When we first stepped off the bus we were just in awe! Evening the entrance was beautiful and it didn't hurt to be greeted with a glass of champagne! Right away the staff were super helpful, and the helpfulness didn't stop throughout our whole week there. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, and were cleaned twice a day. All the food was really good, and the drinks as well. We went at the end of November, and the weather was perfect, not too hot, not too cold, and the resort seemed at half capacity which was great for us, as it wasn't too busy. You definately have to get down to the pool early and reserve a chair because the beach view ones book up quickly! Not the biggest fan of the cafe and it's drinks or food, but everything else was amazing :) What a resort for a honeymoon!

Room Tip: We spend a little extra and got an oceanview room, definately worth the money. So amazing to wake up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Secrets Marquis Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Marquis Los Cabos

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 21.5 | Fraccionamiento Cabo Real, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Marquis Los Cabos)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#9 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#10 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Marquis Los Cabos 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As of November 1, 2011 Marquis Los Cabos has officially been transitioned into Secrets Marquis Los Cabos offering all of the privileges of adults-only, Unlimited-Luxury® for the first time on the scenic Baja Peninsula. At Secrets Marquis, guests can enjoy handsomely appointed suites with world-class amenities, 24 hour romantic in-suite dining, exciting daytime beach, land and pool activities, nightly entertainment, gourmet a la carte dining without reservations, complimentary international and domestic brand beverages and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Secrets Marquis Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Marquis Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Marquis Los Cabos Hotel
Marquis Los Cabos Resort
Secrets Marquis Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Marquis Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.