We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marquis Los Cabos All Inclusive Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
You added Marquis Los Cabos All Inclusive Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Marquis Los Cabos All Inclusive Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Transpeninsular Km 21.5 | Fraccionamiento Cabo Real, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Marquis Los Cabos)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Paradise found.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed Secret Marquis Los Cabos for seven nights beginning December 15. During that week, the hotel was about 50% full, but it became increasingly busier the weekend we left before the holiday. The overall atmosphere is very laid back. This is not a party place. If you want to party at the pool all day, you will be out of place. Most couples and friends here are lounging out all day, reading and enjoying the views.

We took Transcabo (prearranged) from the airport to the hotel and everything went smoothly both ways. Secrets is one of the first hotels on the corridor, and is about 20 minutes from the airport. We flew in to Terminal 2, which is new. It was very nice. There were pushy sales people outside customs that became annoyed when you ignored them, but we just said "no thanks" and kept walking.

We arrived around 3:00 p.m. and our room was ready. The room was very spacious and nicely decorated. We had a room on the second floor (oceanview). Since the hotel was so empty, I was hoping for a free upgrade, but no such luck. Anyway, we were always very comfortable in the room and loved the balcony and the view. As other reviewers have stated, the bathroom is totally open to the main room. This can be annoying, particularly if one of you has to use the bathroom in the middle of the night. Light will flood in to the bedroom and any loud noises can be heard. This is not a reason to avoid this hotel, but you should know what to expect before booking. The minibar was refreshed early every morning, and the room cleaned by housekeeping early in the afternoon. Turn down service was anytime between 6:00 p.m. and 9:30 p.m. If you were in the room on their first try, they would come back later to see if you were gone. The bathroom has very generous sizes of lotion, shower gel, shampoo, and conditioner for those that like that. I think they could easily last two people for a couple weeks. The TV is still a tube TV and the service is spotty. This needs to be fixed. Every morning we enjoyed the mini-breakfast on our balcony and watched whales swim by. They are out there if you keep your eyes peeled! Rays jumping out of the water could also be seen on several days. You can use a portion of promotional coupons towards wi-fi and we did so. It would have been $70 / week but with $40 in coupons it became $35 (not quite fair math!) Wi-fi access should be included with the room. When you consider the extra wi-fi cost and the TV, Secrets is really lacking in this area. It's almost 2013...rooms should have a flat screen TV with decent service and wi-fi included!

There is a breakfast buffet every morning at Vista Ballenas, but the restaurant also has a menu. In general I would say the breakfast is 1/3 American items, 1/3 Mexican specialties, and 1/3 European. The orange juice is freshly squeezed. They also have a green juice made with several juices and fruits - ask to try it! Very healthy and delicious. In addition to coffee, they will also bring you a latte, cappuccino, espresso...whatever you want! Sometimes there was a cook to make omelets, but if there wasn't, you could just order one of the menu. We were both very satisfied with the breakfasts. I personally enjoyed the Mexican items and wished they would have them available later in the day at a lunch buffet.

There are three pools. We ended up gravitating towards the right pool most often. To us, this had the best view since you could see out to the rock formations in the ocean, but there are no bad views at any of the pools! The temperature was comfortable most days, but on Thursday it was quite cold. It was like they turned off the heater for that one day. There were floaters available in each pool. The wait staff at the pools is amazing. They will bring you drinks, meals, and snacks all day! If they see you moving your umbrella, they come to assist you. These gentlemen are working so hard for you to be comfortable. The service was truly amazing! The pool on the right had menu items from Dos Mares and the pool on the left had items from Barefoot Grill. There was always plenty of towels available. We were always able to get loungers without any issue (including at 11:00 a.m. one morning after returning from Cabo) but some guests were going out there and putting a towel on their lounger before breakfast. The Friday before we left it was really bad. That being said, we did see the waiters give the loungers to other guests that wanted them if the original claimers hadn't been seen all morning. I thought this was fine and it's kinda ridiculous if people want to reserve a lounger and then go on an excursion all morning. The beach is beautiful for walking. You can swim at the cove in front of the Hilton. There are vendors on the beach each day. They aren't a nuisance but they are there selling silver, other trinkets, and pony rides on the beach.

There are activities scheduled all day. The entertainment staff will walk around and let you know what is going on (there is also a schedule, "The Sundial," delivered to your room each night.) During our week there were fitness classes by the pool, beach walks, volleyball, drinking games, R/C car races, a wine tasting, air rifle shooting, dance lessons, and tequila tasting. There is a pub crawl to Cabo for $20 on Wednesday and Thursdays. There is a snorkel trip to a nearby bay for $30 on Tuesdays and Thursdays but six people have to sign up for it to go. We tried both days but the hotel only had four people sign up so we never went. I suggest Secrets put more info on the trip in The Sundial and they might have more interest from guests. We had to go to the concierge to ask about where it was and how much it cost and many guests probably don't want to have to do that. In the evenings there were shows twice, an International show and a Mexican fiesta. The dancers were professional and amazing. There was also a gambling night and a beach party. Every other night a movie was shown at the center pool and that was fun as well. All in all, most people just wanted to relax and it seemed there was usually a small turn out for activities, but they are there if you want it. The entertainment staff is amazing and so friendly and we greatly appreciated their efforts!

All the restaurants were open during our stay: Vista Ballenas, Dos Mares, Canto del Mar, Barefoot Grill, and Spice. Spice recently opened and it is pan-asian but it is also tapas style. The food was amazing and exceeded our expectations. We never had a bad meal. The presentation was wonderful. The seafood is exceptional. We never saw food being "recycled." Dos Mares and Vista Ballenas were probably my favorites, but Canto del Mar was very good as well. You will be disappointed in the food if you are expecting a steak each night. You're in Mexico near the ocean, and the seafood is the specialty! There are beef and chicken selections on each menu but they are limited. Also, Spice was good, but it will likely not compare to your favorite sushi restaurant at home. Again, they are using local food, not flying in the highest grade fish for sushi. My recommendations: try the Yucatan ceviche and fish tacos at Dos Mares; the sea bass or other catch of the day at Vista Ballenas; the yakitori at Spice; and the beef medallion or chicken and shrimp at Canto del Mar. Barefoot Grill was typical grill food and we only ordered from there once. There were buffets setup outside as well on the evenings of the international and Mexican shows. I did not miss the large all-inclusive buffets and really liked the a la carte style. It was such a nicer dining experience. The waiters would bring you two of something if you wanted so you will not go hungry! That being said, after a week, you will have tried most items on the menus once or twice and will be ready for something else. I don't think the menus are lacking, but if you are there for an extended stay beyond a week, you will probably be bored with the menu.

The drinks were great as well. We both enjoyed their sparkling wine from Italy which is not too sweet. The house wines are from Chile. There was top shelf liquor available and they would gladly make whatever you requested. Not every bar has the same liquors, but if you wait a few minutes, they'll get you what you want if needed. They will bring you shots if that is what you want. The El Suspiro bar is nice, but I would say this property is lacking another bar (without TVs.) We were told there are plans to add a club and I would say that is needed.

We took the bus to Cabo San Lucas. It was $2 per person each way. The concierge doesn't recommend it but they will give you a map and explain where you will be dropped off. We took a water taxi to El Arco for $10 each round-trip. We got plenty of photos and there was no need for us to be dropped off. We went in the morning at 9:00 a.m. and were back at the hotel by 11:00 a.m. We also took the bus to San Jose Del Cabo on Thursday evening for the Art Walk. We took a taxi home for $20 though because it was dark and it felt safer. We enjoyed the Art Walk and it was a much more authentic experience in San Jose Del Cabo then Cabo San Lucas. The silver available in both cities is nicer than what was sold on the beach.

I've been to Florida, Hawaii, and Bahamas this same week before and Cabo had the best, most consistent weather. It was sunny every day, but the wind did pick up in the afternoon.

The guests here like to get dressed up in the evening, which I did not expect. I mostly brought casual skirts and did not bring any heels, and I often felt under-dressed. The restaurants state men should have a collared shirt and pants in the evening, but I only saw this enforced at Canto del Mar. Also, it did cool down in the evenings so be sure to bring a light jacket, shawl, or sweater.

In summary, this resort is wonderful. It exceeded our expectations and this was mostly due to the hard-working staff. You can tell they are genuinely happy to be working there. We wanted to relax for a week and we were able to do that here. We definitely recommend this property and wouldn't hesitate to go back. We will likely look at other Secrets resorts as well for future vacations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at Secrets during the first week of December. We have been to the Cancun / East coast of Mexico over 10 times, but this is our first trip to Cabo - We fell in love with the area. It is so beautiful. The weather was perfect all week. We never saw a cloud in the sky and there was a nice breeze and low humidity. It was so comfortable.

Although you can't swim in the ocean in front of the hotel, the beach is the most pristine, clean, beautiful beach I've seen. Not one teeny bit of grass, garbage, debris, shells. Just a beautiful beach to walk every day and listen to at night.

We usually stay in Secrets, Excellence or Iberostar Grand resorts, this one did not dissapoint. The resort is beautiful. The rooms were spotless and comfortable and the two ocean front pools were warm and inviting. The main pool was quite cool though. I tried water aerobics one day and I was freezing.

We thought the food was very good. We never had a bad meal. I don't know how people can complain about the food. The complaints must come from really picky people. You are in Mexico, not the US, so the descriptions and food may be different from what you're used to.... who cares, relax and get over it. the food was fresh and plentyful We loved the french fries! I think we had french fries every day at the pool.

The resort could use a few more activities and a change of music. The music was "chill" music at both pools. I didn't mind it really, but would have liked the option of more lively music at one pool. Every night they show a movie outside on the big screen with the ocean behind you - Great idea ! Also, maybe one more bar in the evenings would be nice. It is a compact resort, there is not that much walking you need to do to get around.

The spa was very nice. I go to the spa in every resort I stay in and this one was small and nothing special but the ladies there are excellent at the services. My husband and I went back a second time for massages they were so good.

There is a pub crawl the resort offers and I was not all that looking forward to staying up late going to loud clubs..... We had a great time though! Fernando took us around to 4 clubs like a group of VIP's! Everyone at the resort speaks english very well. The staff are so friendly and work very hard to please you.

We honestly have only one major complaint that bothered us. There were empty beer bottles and glasses on the ledge outside our room for the entire week we were there.... We just could not understand how numerous staff could walk by this daily and no one cleaned it up. My husband even moved the glasses to the middle of the walkway to get someone's attention and a few hours later, they were moved back to the side, and still not picked up. Maybe this is a management thing.... It was dissapointing.

Aside from the above, there was really nothing more to complain about. The resort was very nice and I would consider coming back since there are so few adult only resorts in Cabo.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful. The casitas are expensive but much more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Washington
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We adored Secrets Marquis! We were there from December 3 through 11, 2012, and had perfect weather. There aren't enough words to describe how fantastic it was, except to say that we felt we were in paradise the entire time we were there. The food was excellent, the liquor readily available, and the staff were all perfection. We started with an ocean-view suite on the 5th floor which was a lovely room with a massive ocean view, but after 3 days we decided to splurge and paid $100.00 extra per night for a honeymoon suite. We lost the massive view, but doubled our space, which for us was well worth it. We still had a view, but it was from the 2nd floor, but we gained a patio, a dip pool, a living room, kitchen area and a large, more private bathroom, and much more privacy in general.

We loved the food, and always had fantastic service no matter where we ate. Vista Ballenas and The Grill were our favorites, in large part because we loved the steaks in both places. There were plenty of food choices at all the restaurants. We had almost constant attention from the waiters when we were by the pool. They would bring you food and drink, and didn't wait for you to signal them for assistance, they just magically appeared. Their staff to guest ratio was very high. We never waited for service anywhere.

We rented a car the entire time we were there, and always used the fast and professional valet service at the hotel. We were able to drive to Todos Santos, San Jose del Cabo and of course Cabo San Lucas. Driving in Cabo isn't bad at all, and we didn't have any problems. Parking at the Cabo San Lucas mall is 15 pesos per day so we parked there and walked the marina and the entire shopping area during our visits to town.

We also took a glass bottomed boat tour to Los Arcos, which we highly recommend. No reservations are required. Just go to the marina and negotiate a trip with one of the many boat operators who are outside along the pier.

Secrets Marquis is a no tipping required facility, but we tipped anyway. We were embarrassed by a couple of demanding guests who barely said thank you after someone went out of their way for them. The staff were very grateful when you acknowledged them by giving them a little cash. Cabo is a tourist town so we were able to use our US Dollars everywhere we went.

All in all, we highly recommend Secrets Marquis. We arrived on a Monday and as were are in our 60s, we were the oldest guests at the hotel for the first five days, but we never felt out of place, and had a lovely vacation.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the honeymoon suite for the extra space, privacy and private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Arriving at Secrets in Cabo is a jaw-dropping experience -- the panoramic ocean views are matched by the elegance of the reception area and the friendliness of the service. After a bit of a hard-sell to look at real estate, you get to go to your room and ALL rooms in this resort offer outstanding views -- not only do you get to look at the horizon of water, but you can hear the water lapping away at the shore as well.

The pool-side service is fantastic -- you should look for Adalberto's section as he is a sincere and generous person whose service is exceptional. In a resort where getting any fresh fruit in a drink (everything is from syrups) seemed impossible, Adalberto managed to find some fresh strawberries from the kitchen for a delicious and not-too-sweet daquiri. You wouldn't think fresh fruit would be impossible to find in Mexico, but at Secrets, you can only find it at the breakfast buffet.

That brings me to the only major problem with this resort: the quality of the food. The food over-promises with impeccable presentation, but is completely underwhelming as far as taste, quality, and consistency goes. In fact, both my wife and I got sick eating at the resort and we normally have pretty strong constitutions. On at least two occasions, we were served seafood that was off. Once, we ordered tuna carpaccio at the "Italian" restaurant and it tasted rotten and smelled fishy. The second time was with the salmon at Spice -- it was also fishy and tasted spoiled. Also, if you want to know what the restaurants in the resort served for dinner the night before you just had to visit the breakfast buffet. I think part of the problem when we were there was the fact that the resort was about 1/4 full, so maybe they had to recycle a lot of things. Too bad they took a risk with our health to save on costs.

Other than the food, the resort exceeded most expectations. The rooms are clean and well-appointed, the service is generally very good, the views are excellent -- the resort has the potential to be a world-class all-inclusive escape if they manage to work on their food quality.

Room Tip: They're all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This adults-only all-inclusive resort nestled into the sugary sands of the Cabo Riviera is ideally situated mere miles from both quiet, traditional San Jose del Cabo to the North and the legendary nightlife of Cabo San Lucas to the South. A short cab ride--available on demand at the resort-- will bring you to whatever type of entertainment most interests you. San Jose del Cabo boasts an amazing dolphin facility, and is more the equivalent of a quiet, artsy district. Cabo San Lucas, on the other hand, is where you-- and the celebrities-- go when you want to hit the town. The hills above the marina are host to homes owned by Tom Cruise, Leonardo DiCaprio, Arnold Schwarzenegger, and too many more to list. (Sammy Hagar and Oprah own homes in the Riviera-- a wise choice.) I call the photo of the sea, "Beautiful & Cruel" in reference to Sandra Cisneros's vignette: the sea is beautiful to look at, but downright dangerous (at least in this area) to challenge. Undercurrents in this geologically and biologically diverse area make swimming something better done in one of the resort's many pools-- pools, I might add, supplied with water by the resort's own, environmentally friendly, desalination plant.

A note on water. The water here is as safe and clean as it can be given its method of purification. Bottled water is generously supplied for drinking and brushing-- and it's wise to use it instead of tap water. Bottom line: every water source contains some germs. You don't get sick at home primarily because your body is used to the bugs at home. Go anywhere else where the variety is likely to be very different and you can reasonably assume you will get sick. I'm happy to report that we were not sickened by water or food at any time while we traveled.

The service was beyond compare; our every want and need was met with a smile and, "it's a pleasure." Thoroughly fluent in English, the entire staff was helpful, pleasant, and eager to have a good time. On-premise currency exchange made all of our transactions simple and with no additional fee, easier and less expensive than conventional exchanges. Booking an upgrade was easy: while it is true that every suite in the place has ocean-front views and a whirlpool bath, the upgrade, in our case, was worth every penny. It was, after all, our honeymoon-- and for an enormous, luxuriously appointed casita with roof-top pool how can you go wrong? Concierge went out of their way to help us book every excursion we desired and made meeting our highest hopes a personal concern. They helped us decipher among the many pamphlets and were able to tell us which tours included which features, which were most preferred by guests, and which packages were the best to consider: their recommendations were spot on every time. Not a dime of our money was wasted.

Each morning, we awoke to a variety of traditional breads, fruit, and coffee in the Secrets box; thereafter we could order room service (free of charge) for breakfast, lunch, dinner, or late night meals when we decided we were too relaxed to bother dressing up for a night out. Someone one here actually had the nerve to call the breads stale-- to are SO NOT STALE. They are breads baked using traditional recipes that do not have the same texture as those you would get at home! Housekeeping visited our suite twice daily, once in the morning for tidying and again in the evening for turn-down service and cleaning; the mini-bar was restocked daily (with water, juice, and top-grade anejo tequilla, I might add) though we rarely ever needed it since free drinks were everywhere to be had. Every restaurant on the resort's property offered expertly executed culinary creations, but there were plenty of low-key options as well to satisfy those, "I don't want to get all-dressed up," cravings. Elevating food to fine art, Canto del Mar, Spice, and Dos Mares offered evening extravagance. Pevonia, the resort's spa, offered an extensive array of services and products all of which are the finest in quality and class: the only downside is the price. More than double what it would cost us in the states, price kept us from indulging more often in spa services-- Secrets would be wise to charge less for spa services and entice more repeat business.

We spent most of our days and nights out on the town for excursions, but on the few nights when we were around to see the activities, we were thoroughly impressed. Parties are no small affair on this property- resort staff literally transform the entire main concourse in a matter of hours. Fireworks, fiestas, dancing, movies, pub crawls-- if you can imagine it, they already have.

I couldn't have asked for more from a honeymoon-- I couldn't have dreamed of more if I tried. Just in case you couldn't tell, I am one happy bride. =)

Nearby Attractions:
**Cabo Rey Sunset Dinner Cruise** Begins with live entertainment and rooftop drinks aboard a quadruple-decker party boat. Cruise out to Land's End where the famous arch marks the meeting of the Sea of Cortez and the Pacific Ocean. Fabulous dinner expertly executed and live entertainment bring traditional song and dance alive.
**Esperanza Tours: Snorkeling at Lover's Beach** was an absolutely amazing tour and it included a short glass-bottom boat tour of local landmarks, boxed lunch, transportation to and from the hotel, and underwater photography along with new equipment. Got to see amazing underwater life in the most biologically diverse sea in the world. Shopping time in Cabo San Lucas was also included with this tour.
**Esperanza Tours: San Jose del Cabo City Tour** included a tour of the cactus garden-- designed to represent the many native cultures of people and plants in the area, a tour of the local glass-blowing factory (which included a live demonstration of some amazing skill), a tour of one of the area's oldest churches, and some shopping time. Our guide for both tours was the same person, and he was fantastic-- he gave us the historical overview from ancient to modern times.
**Dolphin Adventure: Cabo San Lucas** Expensive but worth EVERY DIME. We interacted with dolphins in their natural habitat for well over an hour. The trainer was very good at providing detailed, explicit, instruction and helping to facilitate communication between the dolphins and the humans. The animals were eager to please and wanted the mental stimulation of complex interaction; they clearly were well-cared for, active, healthy, and happy creatures. To the facility's credit, the first baby dolphin born in a natural, captive habitat was recently born to the one of the largest females on record at Cabo San Lucas Dolphin Adventures. This was the ultimate experience of a lifetime.
**Cabo Wabo: Sammy Hagar's Cantina** Good food, good music, several atmospheres to please all crowds-- a good place to, "check-in." Next time we'll have to try a few of the other restaurants suggested by locals.

Room Tip: The private pool casitas are expensive but if you are celebrating an important milestone, you absolu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson Station, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I booked our one year anniversary trip to Secret Marquis with our good friends who were also celebrating their anniversary! We wanted to be able to relax as well as go out and take in all that Cabo has to offer. When we arrived at Secrets Marquis, we instantly fell in love with the open air lobby and amazing view of the resort and ocean. We were greeted immediately and brought to our BEAUTIFULLLL, huge suite (which they so nicely decorated with both a "Happy Anniversary" banner on the door as well rose petals, candles, and champagne inside).

Everything about our junior suite was just perfect. The cleanliness, the view, the space, the STOCKED mini fridge, and cute little breakfast cabinet (where they serve you coffee and muffins every morning). My husband who is not the best sleeper slept like a baby every night in the HUGE bed. We ordered room service (available at ALL times and included) quite often and were always treated extremely courteously. We never had to wait more than a half hour for our food which was DELICIOUS (especially for an all inclusive resort)! Also, the shower was most definitely THE BEST we have ever experienced on vacation. AMAZING water pressure and so luxurious.

We were treated SO WELL by every single employee, but there were a few that made our trip as fun as it was! Alex was our go-to bartender. He made it a point to remember our names & drink choices and always served us with a smile! He made us feel like we were "regulars" at a neighborhood bar.

The resort provided great daily activities which were led by two very entertaining coordinators, Cartier & Fernando. One of the activities was an awesome pub crawl which took us to some of the most popular bars in town. They both brought amazing energy to our night and we felt like we were hanging out with friends from home!

This resort is the best of both worlds. Adults only which kept things quiet and low key during the day, but so close to town that a crazy, fun-filled night is just a short ride away! We ALL cannot wait to go back! :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I'd been reading the reviews months before our Thanksgiving day departure, and I am happy to say this resort lives up to all the raves. The reviews also included alot of good advice. Unfortunately, we stopped at a counter before leaving the airport building anyway, after being beckoned by an attendant, and wasted about ten minutes talking to them before finally just walking away. Those people are good at what they do. We met up with our pre-arranged shuttle outside and were soon on our way.
Before we even reached the front desk of the resort we were greeted with champagne, a nice touch. We stayed in room 204, and the view was excellent. The room was beautifully decorated, spacious and comfortable. If you are there with someone you are not intimately involved with you might have a problem with the open design of the bathroom. I was surprised there was no iron in the room, although I'm sure they would have brought one. The tv we felt was sufficient provided you're not there to watch tv. Cnn and 24 hour hardcore porn. What more do you need? The coffee, fruit and pastry delivered every morning is nice, but I must wonder how much of it goes to waste. If we weren't up by 7, we had lukewarm coffee, and sometime the fruit wasn't very good.We got our breakfast at the buffet every morning, which suited us just fine. Overall, sometimes the food was great, othertimes just okay. We ate at Spice one night and I ordered "Tandoori fried chicken". It wasn't Tandoori, and it wasn't fried, which is just as well since Tandoori is baked. It just tasted like plain baked chicken. Once we got iced-coffee drinks at the Coco Cafe and I swear one tasted like nothing but frothed milk. But those are our biggest complaints. The service around the pool left nothing to be desired. Although sometimes they would bring more beer before we could half finish our others. It seemed there were always personnel on standby waiting for a guest to need something - an umrella adjusted, or a lounge chair moved. They were always right there. Of course we did tip, usually $5 for the day, by the pool. One day a tip I left for the maid was taken by the minibar stocker before she got there, so I made sure to tip her personally.
Elisabeth, in the gift shop, was most helpful when I was looking for a newspaper. They only had USA Today, and when I told her I was hoping for a NY Times she took down my name and room number and made sure one came each time their paper was delivered, and called me when it came in!
Whether in response to previous reviews or a natural escalation in service, there now seems to be plenty to do at the resort in the way of activities, and sometimes they didn't have enough takers. I once saw three Entertainment employees playing beach volleyball with one guest. There never seemed to be any interest in the morning beach walks, but the tequila tastings and cooking classes seemed to do real well.
The music playing at the pool on the left seemed like perfect relaxing pool music, the center pool was quieter. One day we saw a baby humpback come up out of the water, not a 100 yards off shore.
My thanks to the reviewers who mentioned the public bus, otherwise we would not have known. The resort doesn't tell you for fear of you crossing the highway. But Fodor's doesn't even mention it in their section on getting around Los Cabos! To be more specific: there is no designated bus stop in front of the resort. You must stand where the bus can pullover, which you will see. Their destination is written on the front windshield of the bus. They usually stop when they see you but you might have to flag them down. Cross the highway and stand to the right for Cabo. $2 dollars per trip.
This was our fifth trip to Mexico(P.V., Cancun, Cozumel) and by far our best. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
11.1 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
8.4 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#12 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 972 reviews
13.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosewood Resort
Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosew...
#1 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
5.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 2,679 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Resort at Pedregal
The Resort at Pedregal
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 stars 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis Los Cabos All Inclusive Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Los Cabos All Inclusive Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 21.5 | Fraccionamiento Cabo Real, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Marquis Los Cabos)
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marquis Los Cabos All Inclusive Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marquis Los Cabos is the only member in Los Cabos of the Leading Hotels of the World. Marquis Los Cabos reopened its doors on March 1, 2015 in an only adults, Marquis all inclusive program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Despegar.com and Low Cost Holidays so you can book your Marquis Los Cabos All Inclusive Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Marquis Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Marquis Los Cabos Hotel
Marquis Los Cabos Resort
Marquis Los Cabos All Inclusive Resort & Spa San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing