We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service EVER!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Marquis Los Cabos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Marquis Los Cabos to your Saves list
Secrets Marquis Los Cabos
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Transpeninsular Km 21.5 | Fraccionamiento Cabo Real, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Marquis Los Cabos)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
San Carlos, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Service EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

A group of us decided to take vacation to Cabo San Lucas in the summer. Since we'd never been, didn't exactly know what to expect. Have to say, was more hot than was comfortable, but was able to find some shade under the umbrellas at the pool. This hotel was amazing. The rooms were large - the beds unbelievably comfortable, and overall, incredibly clean. The staff was unbelievably helpful, kind, and extremely knowledgeable. I do believe you should always know a little of the language to get around, but everyone spoke beautiful English, which made it so much easier to communicate. The food was incredible and the service was THE BEST! In addition, the spa treatments were some of the best I've had, and reasonably prisced. I would definitely stay at this resort again. One caution: when you arrive at the airport there are a lot of individuals trying to get you into their vehicles. These are associated with the timeshare properties in the area. I would book your car service ONLINE prior to arriving, and know that they will be waiting outside the doors. Don't listen to those inside the airport. Wait until you get outside the main entrance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    189
    64
    19
    15
See reviews for
32
540
22
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
suzyq39
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Pros:
-beautiful design throughout
-horseback ($40.00) within walking distance (ask for Sheba)
-nice rooms, nice furniture, nice artwork & statues,comfy beds,generous toiletries (toothbrush, shaver, spf15, comb,etc), state of the art safes
-all ocean view (great ocean views)
-service outstanding (hello Antonio) all over the resort
-food very good (bolognese, salmon provencal, carbonara, guacamole excellent)
-nice beach to walk on( rough ocean in almost all of Cabo, but bus trips to Medano Beach to swim/snorkel twice a week)
-Great pools, chaises covered with large beach towels in advance, snacks served by butlers around pools (drinks too of course)
-not far from airport
-turndown every night with candles, robes, water, flower petals
-***weather**** if you are looking for a place with perfect weather (we went in Jan and July) Cabo is the place. Rains 5-6 days a year, low humidity, no bugs
-Jan-whale watching amazing
-nice day trips available
*****would go back in a heartbeat. Have been all over and this is one of our favorites.

Cons:
-Timeshare approach at check in( but never again, to be fair)
-a little too quiet at night for some people

Suggestions( the manager asked I do this):
-piano bar (like Orchid Bay, Jamaica)
-coco cafe- serve ice cream
-late night snack bar (perhaps keeping coco cafe open till midnight)
- I wish the front desk offered us a deal to return upon check out. We would have signed right there and then for a return.
-secrets iphone app (like P.Vallarta secrets)
- one heated pool & jacuzzi

-These are only suggestions, and in no way diminishes the upscale impression we had of the Marquis.
-In one word---GO! Perfect honeymoon destination (those rooms are outstanding!)

Room Tip: top or bottom floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Me and my bf went here for a quiet vacay, It's about a 15 minute drive from Cabo central where all the entertainment is but as long as you have a rental its worth the drive. The food is good , not spectaular but good, great presentations, great service. I'd advise you to order from menu over buffet. Location is beautiful! Although the beach is too rough to swim its nice to get your feet wet. The whole place is clean, well kept, stocked our mini bar every day with more beer and drinks, 24 hour room service with fresh warm food. Wake up to coffee and bread in the morning. We loved it, very serene and also had music by one of the pools if you wanted to dance. Would definitely stay here again. But bringing lots of mosquito repellent next time!

Room Tip: ocean front is better than ocean view, we thankfully got a comp upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this resort from 06-28-12 thru-07-04-12. The resort is very nice and clean and the staff is very professional. The things I wish I would have know prior to my trip are 1)You CANNOT swim in the ocean. The Sea Of Cortez is very rough. 2)When you check in and you are taken to another room to visit with a hostess, this is really an attempt to get you to sign up to go to a time share presentation. The coupons they give you are basically worthless unless you spend at least $150.00 in the spa. 3)There are no warm whirlpools or hot tubs for use, UNLESS, you pay $15.00 pp per day to use them in the spa and you can't use the coupons towards this fee. 4) Make reservations early with the conceirge to visit the sister hotels Dreams and Zoetry. They seem to fill up pretty quickly and the cost of a taxi each way is $10.00.I would however recommend visting the other resorts because the food was better there. I wish Secrets provided a shuttle to Cabo San Lucas the way Dreams does. Maybe you can arrange to have the shuttle come pick you up if you plan to do some shopping or just want to look around. The tours say they allow for shopping time but not very much and not much selection at the locations they choose. If you want to just lay by the pool and not spend much extra money, this is the place for you. I was also never sure if we should tip the staff however we always did and it was always accepted.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade with a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The service, rooms, food, and location were perfect! The staff was always willing to answer any questions or requests. House keeping was attentive and adjusted to our schedule. I have never been much of a beach person, but this place has changed my mind. The pools were very nice and never overcrowded. We will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for three nights mid June. The resort was practically empty. Three pools, and you could be the only one in! I guess May and June are slow in Cabo. The resort was clean and friendly -- not to mention beautiful. Really a lovely stay. I think the food would have been better with more people on site, but that's just how mass food production works in slow times.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Amazing resort. Best hotel I've been to. Staff is professional in all ways. Great food. Great infiniti pools and beach front. The rooms are amazing, great attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Marquis Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Marquis Los Cabos

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 21.5 | Fraccionamiento Cabo Real, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Marquis Los Cabos)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#9 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Marquis Los Cabos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As of November 1, 2011 Marquis Los Cabos has officially been transitioned into Secrets Marquis Los Cabos offering all of the privileges of adults-only, Unlimited-Luxury® for the first time on the scenic Baja Peninsula. At Secrets Marquis, guests can enjoy handsomely appointed suites with world-class amenities, 24 hour romantic in-suite dining, exciting daytime beach, land and pool activities, nightly entertainment, gourmet a la carte dining without reservations, complimentary international and domestic brand beverages and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda, EasyToBook, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Secrets Marquis Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Marquis Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Marquis Los Cabos Hotel
Marquis Los Cabos Resort
Secrets Marquis Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Marquis Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.