We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish tacos I've had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Dahlia

Casa Dahlia
Morelos and Zaragoza, San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
(503) 922 - 3434
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best fish tacos I've had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Lovely quiet courtyard with about 5 tables. The food was excellent. Try the Jamaica tea-it's unusual but very refreshing on a hot day. They have wifi and it's also an art gallery.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wood-fired excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

A small place as described by previous reviewers, we also found it during the Thursday night art walk. The service is friendly, the location is tranquil and the pizzas from the outdoor wood-fired oven were only surpassed by the flan which was also prepared in the wood-fired oven. Also one of the better salads we have had in SJdC. Wine selection, while limited, was good and reasonable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Casa Dahlia is Baja Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Is it just me or do other people go on vacation and end up vibing with one place, usually a business, that becomes their home base? This trip Casa Dahlia gallery & cafe was that place for me. Friends and I first stumbled upon Casa Dahlia while touring the various downtown galleries. Casa Dahlia was showing the first exhibit I came across that really captured my attention, and so I spoke with Leah, the owner, about the artists (she is one too). Like everyone I meet who is originally from Oregon, Leah is simply darling, and Casa Dahlia is a darling expression of Leah and her partner Julio's creativity and love. Leah curates the exhibits and hosts weekly movie + dinner nights in the gorgeous outdoor garden cafe, while Julio creates unique mouthwatering meals for breakfast and lunch...like the fish tacos he catches fresh, himself, via spearhead fishing, or the wood-burned pizzas we had on movie night (3 different ones at 3 different times: marguerite, mushroom, and pepperoni, with a first course salad, and flan for dessert. Btw, the serving of the courses, and each slice of pizza, was so well-timed that I was always perfectly satiated throughout the 90-minute film. This is one thoughtful operation.)

But Casa Dhalia didn't win home base status just because of the food. The day after I met Leah I returned to the gallery (which was a block away from our hotel) to get some dinner reccs and beach suggestions, and I met Hector, who also hosts and manages the gallery at times. He was super kind and offered me all sorts of advice while pulling out maps and drawing maps if the ones he had didn't apply. It seemed like every time I went back to my traveling companion with my report she had more questions, and so I must have popped in on Hector with questions at least a dozen times in two days. My friend and I had an absolutely wonderful stay in San Jose del Cabo. The first half of my trip was spent at Cabo Azul Resort, and the second half at a small place in downtown. I have to say, thanks to Casa Dahlia's quality and local hospitality, I enjoyed the second half of my trip even more than the first.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Treat for the Senses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This lovely little cafe is located at the back of the Casa Dahlia restaurant. It has just re-opened after being closed because of the road work in front. The menu is limited but it all looks good. I had the grilled fish tacos which were accompanied by a delicious salad. Everything was perfect. the outdoor cafe space is delightfully landscaped. And the best part is that you have to walk through a wondrous gallery to get it. Don't pass by this one. The cafe and the gallery are both treats for the senses.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Intimate and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hidden in the historic centre of town this tiny restaurant outdoes its size with the quality of food. Pizza on thurs/fri from a brick oven, live classical guitar, all in a hidden courtyard behind an art gallery. They do breakfast and lunch other nights. You won't be disappointed if you seek them out.
Try the coffee too....it is the best in Mexico.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Dahlia also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Casa Dahlia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Dahlia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.