We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the same price you can get better in other parts of Mexico” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Solaris Los Cabos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Solaris Los Cabos to your Saves list
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. San Jose | Campo de Golf, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“For the same price you can get better in other parts of Mexico”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We went to the Royal Solaris Aug 31- Sept 7 2013. Let me start by saying the service is amazing from the wait staff,to housekeeping and our westjet contact was amazing. We found Los Cabos to be a bit more expensive than other parts of Mexico. For the same price you can get a better resort and rooms in other parts of Mexico. The resort is smaller and the grounds are nice and well kept. However it is an older resort and the rooms are OK. Beware the concierge and club solaris they are Timeshares. The beach is beautiful but you cannot swim in the ocean because of the undertows. Since no water activities are offered at the resort there is less to do at the resort.

For more details please read on:

Food -During our stay every night half of the restaurants were closed so there was a limited selection. Twice a week they had a parties you had to pay and extra $45 - 55USD and the restaurants were closed. The buffet food was average and there was not a lot of selection we usually ended up finding something we liked. That meant we kept eating the same salad for most of our time there, There is also a snack bar that is open when the breakfast buffet is closed. Breakfast buffet was pretty good they had an omlette and waffle station. Lunch and supper buffets usually had a pasta station or a roast station. Make sure to read their schedule to see what's open that night.

Rooms - we paid extra for an partial oceanview. We found out other couples just got upgraded and did not pay the extra cost as the hotel was at 50% capacity. The room had a big king sized bed and the view was nice but the room and hotel itself is old. The rooms were a bit worn and the bed was hard. We did get free champagne in our room a couple of times which was nice. The bar was always fully stocked with 4 bottles of water, pop and 4 cans of Tecate beer. The housekeeping was amazing and sometimes made little towel animals.

Pools - it is a smaller resort so there is one main activities pool, a smaller quieter adult only pool next to a hot tub, and a kids pool on the other side of the building. They offer beach volleyball and other activities like aqua-size and games daily. The one day we had a tropical storm the activities staff offered zumba and other games at the lobby they worked hard!

Excursions - we went into San Jose $7 USD cab ride each way or you can walk 20 min or take the bus for $1USD. We enjoyed a $30US excursion which included our transport to and from Cabos San Lucas and the water taxi to the Arch. They drop you off on Pelican beach where you can swim as long as you want. They had several different pick up times. They did a tequila tasting afterwards and you can hang around Cabos San Lucas and check out the different shops while you are there.

We did take the free 20 minute photography session. They had said it was $15 a picture when we came back for the pictures the package was $800 but they had a great deal for us only $500 that day. We ended up only paying for a few pics for $15 a picture but they keep the rest of your pictures and it looks like pictures people didn't pay for are being displayed around the hotel as advertising.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a partial ocean view and get a higher room it is quieter and the view is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. I would love to have you come back and give us another chance to prove that this is not usual for our hotel.

Warm regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,328
    1,235
    595
    289
    247
See reviews for
1,361
1,075
36
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (905)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Selma, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We went to royal solaris in august with our 7yr and 3yr old. We had a great time. The food was good, the entertainment was great. All the staff on the entertainment were so friendly. My daughter got attatched to jessica. She was so sweet. If I had one concern it would be the main pool. It would be to warm by noon. So we would spend our time in the pool mostly in the mornings after breakfast then go and do other things. The kids enjoyed craft time at the kid club. Both the Ladies in there were wonderful. Our room was always kept so clean. (Thank your to our wonderful housekeeper) we were in room 610. Great view of the ocean and resort. For the price we paid and the 6days we were there, we would definitley take our kids again one summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange, ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The greeting was overwhelming with smiles and drinks. Our concierge, Jeff Brooks, was very helpful in every way. When he learned it was our anniversary he sent us champagne to our room along with truffles. He provided us with extra benefits for which we were grateful. Our room was huge, overlooking the pool and patios with a view of the ocean, very comfortable with a spacious patio. The best compliment I give to the chefs who made dining a celebrated delight. Each meal was excellent and varied, the sauces were supreme, the juices freshly made, the meats tender and tasty. The salsas and other garnishes were exquisite. Jesus Santiago at Marco Polo restaurant was a truly exceptional cook, but Alfredo who was the executive chef in the buffet also never failed to please our palate. Our waiters, especially Matias and David, were charming and accommodating. The membership sales personnel, Bill and Oscar, treated us with respect and professionalism. The entire hotel was spotlessly clean and well maintained from the gardens to the hallways. Only complaint which may not be the hotel's fault, the internet was spotty if at all and despite the all-inclusive venue, internet was not free. The amenities lacked some of the 5-star qualities we are used to, but for the price, it is unbeatable. The best for All-Inclusive although the drinks were watered down a tad.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view facing pool and courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

This resort is ideal for families. It has move rooms, good food, lots of cool drinks And children program. If you want a calm, swim beach, gourmet food, and fine wine with nice entertainment, look for another resort. Cabo has many! Our family reunion was fun and the kids loved the children pool and crafts area. That was a real plus for kids and parents.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at the Royal Solaris Aug 26-Sept 1st Sunday to Sunday- we read all the reviews and felt they were above average reviews no serious complaints, the resort looked nice and price was right. Check in went very smooth we had to change rooms however due to proximity of elevators which from past experience that’s not the best room due to elevator traffic early morning when little children are loud waiting for the elevator. We asked to have our room changed; they accommodated our request and moved us the next day to the 6th floor (actually 3rd floor via elevator buttons). This room was very nice located at the centre of the resort (#614) with a great balcony and an incredible view of the resort, beach and ocean. The room overall was very clean and fairly sound proof from other guests, also a bit better quality than the first room so we were quite pleased. The resort overall is very clean and well kept although a little dated, couches in lounge area are a little grungy, the gardens are beautiful and well kept. Employees are very hard working and take pride in providing a great level of service we budgeted to tip at all 3 meals, bar servers and daily tip for housekeeping. This is not a rocking ‘party time’ resort there are more couples and families, however they have a Los Cabos Club tour on Friday and Saturday for those who want to party it up. The guests are very well controlled, the beach bar and the pool bar close at 6:30 pm, the pools close at 8:00 pm, the only bar open until 1:00 am is the lobby bar at the main part of the hotel, well away from beach area. This suited us as we didn’t want to be kept up all night by partying guests. The food overall was good, something for everyone’s taste but buffet is buffet so it can get a little repetitive either way. The two a la carte restaurants were nice, food was good but you have to pay for a larger 1 inch thick cut of steak or for lobster. The entertainment was above average and the crew gave it their best and it was very enjoyable especially the traditional music and dances. We enjoyed the town of San Jose however it’s NOT a 10-15 minute walk from the resort, more like ½ hour to 40 minutes and in 31 degree heat with very high humidity we found it to be a very tiring, hot walk and it ruined our enjoyment of the town as it was next to impossible to cool down (for middle aged Canadians who are used to cooler weather) we took a taxi there and back the next time which cost about $60 pesos each way ($7 CDN) and enjoyed our visit much more. We had a great lunch at Jazmins Restaurant in San Jose and visited the colourful shops and enjoyed the local art shops and personalities. We also took the city bus into Los Cabos for 30 pesos and enjoyed Cabo for the day. We missed not being able to go into the ocean but were well aware of this before booking this resort. The entire area has dangerous rip tides so you cannot swim anywhere along this entire beach however the waves are beautiful and the beach goes for miles. All in all a solid, clean resort with great staff at an affordable rate that met with our expectations for a 3.5-4 star resort..

Room Tip: Rooms at the centre of the hotel above lobby have great views floors 5 & 6. You can ask for a fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The only fish available is mushy white fish. Many dishes have left over meat added to them including mashed potatoes and noodles.
The staff is fabulous and hard working. There are incrediable restaurants nearby. If I was to go again I would stay at an inexpensive resort and eat out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The place was decent but people were so good. I have to personally say very good things about these people who made our stay so comfortable. They went over their call of duty to make things so good for us. Victor and Angel at the restuarent. Aldo and Sara at the front .the kids club was good.and the entertainment team was wonderful.same food every day. Very little choice for vegetarians.. Buffet names for every day were Latin,French etc etc.. But the food was the same.drinks are so watered down.

Room Tip: Choose ocean view.. Standard rooms are no good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Solaris Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Solaris Los Cabos

Address: Blvd. San Jose | Campo de Golf, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Solaris Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Inclusive family beachfront resort with 387 rooms in a Mexican hacienda-style, located in san Jose del Cabo, Mexico. Royal Solaris Los Cabos offers unlimited meal and beverages in our 5 restaurants, Room service (delivery fee), Dinner show at Tehuacan Theater, 4 bars, 3 pools with heather system (including relaxes & kids pools), Business center, Spa and beauty salon ($), Steam room, fitness center, hospitality rooms, on site shops. Other services include 24 hr medical service (on call) ($). Shuttle service to Cabo San Lucas ($). Weekly activities program for all ages. Tennis and basketball courts, also beach volleyball court. Theme parties and dinner shows. Junior's club (video games). Live and ambient music at the lobby bar. Kids club & Mini Water park. Scuba diving demo at the diving pool. Meeting room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Solaris Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Solaris Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Royal Solaris Cabo San Lucas
Los Cabos Solaris
Los Cabos Royal Solaris
Royal Solaris Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Solaris Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.