We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There be whales here captain!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Solaris Los Cabos

Save Saved
You added Royal Solaris Los Cabos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. San Jose | Campo de Golf, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 39 hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Shady Shores, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“There be whales here captain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is our third visit to the Royal Solaris Los Cabos in February. This year the whales seemed to also enjoy their visit as a number of them showed themselves off the beach and on the boat outing. The weather was great, 80's to lows in the 60's. As always Mathias at Rosemarino's took great care of our morning breakfast with Blood Mary's and Mimosa's just for the asking and a couple of morning, just because he could. This year they turned Rosemarino's into a steak house two nights a week. We went there one night and it was enjoyable to have a steak in the beach front setting. Marco Polo and Panchos had their normal great fare. The rooms have been updated some with flat screen TVs and fresh paint.

They do a good job of keeping the vendors out of the main beach area which is nice when you are relaxing with a Pina Colada and good book. The sunrises are well worth getting up for so that you can watch the sun pop up over the Sea of Cortez in a blaze of color.

They used three projection TV screens in the theather to show the Super Bowl. The snacks were OK, but not great and it was fun to watch the game with a large group of people.

We took a 15 minute walk to downtown San Jose del Cabo and they have spruced up the downtown area and there are a few new eating and drinking establishments. The streets are clean and everyone is very friend and not too pushy about getting you into their store.

Overall this is a great location for relax and enjoy the warm weather.

Room Tip: You can not go wrong the ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and watch with us the Super Bowl!
We hope you will come back and visit us soon!
Warm regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,068 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,040
    1,062
    499
    260
    207
See reviews for
1065
933
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnetonka, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Ana Estrada was very helpful in arranging our activities even when she had to leave to attend to a sick child she made sure someone else was available for our party for meeting all of our needs and scheduling issues. Very clean rooms - our bathrobes were missing though - other people in our group had them - not sure why they weren't in our room. Enjoyed the pork entrees more so than the beef or chicken - I think someone with allergies to different foods might find this a very frustrating adventure. I ate zucchini (and shouldn't have) as it was in food without my knowledge. All in all we had a lot of fun and sun at the Solaris with our family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed the food of the resort, and we pride ourselves on thoroughly excellent customer service.

We invite you back for your next trip to Los Cabos.
Warm Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I travelled back to Los Cabos for the second time within the last 3 years. Last time we stayed closer to Cabo San Lucas, this time we opted for a resort closer to San Jose Del Cabo. We loved the location. The resort is nicely situated and nestled in where walking distance to all amenities (Mega Mart, Pharmacy, Restaurants, Shops, transit system, beach) was convenient.

The resort is well maintained. Very family orientated. Had its share of time share/vacation homes representatives; however, they were very civil and not harassing in any way. Once you say "not interested" they remember.

The airport shuttle to the resort was approximately 20 minutes. We travelled with Sunwing, our enroute to the resort was quick, we were the second drop-off.

Upon arrival, check-in went smoothly, no problems, front desk was friendly. Our room was a standard with a king-sized bed which was comfortable, lots of pillows. We had a courtyard view on the 2nd floor. Was good. Not too noisey at all. When there was evening activity it was a bit loud, but it didn't last for very long - meaning the parties hosted by the resort for the time share patrons ended at a reasonable hour; it was moreso the other travellers that were a bit disrespectful - can never understand why it's necessary for people to disrespect resort rules and feel the need to break them by splashing around in the pool after it's closed, and the need for the other travellers having to scream loud profanity - I find that to be in poor taste - so if anything, security at the hotel for this reason really did nothing to stop it. This didn't go on every night, a couple of nights only while we were there, guess it stopped as a result of these travellers leaving the resort.

The food was plentiful. 1 big buffet for the breakfast, and always 1 for supper. Snack shack by the pool; also another buffet set up for lunch by the pool too - need to wear clothes and shoes when going to that one - we opted for the snack shack as it was more casual and you can just walk up as you are in your swim attire.

2 a la cartes - we only went one night - it was okay - the Marco Pollo (italian) was nice, but not a lot of food that we ordered. My hubby was satisfied with it, but wouldn't give the whole experience a thumbs up. I thought it was enough to eat.

Nightly entertainment in the theatre always started early (8 pm) and didn't last for very long. But that's okay as it would then continue on in the resort's lobby where for the most part the entertainers would engage the crowds to join in. It was good. The performers were very good and I enjoyed their performances. Very talented group of dancers.

The lobby was always clean. Free Wi-Fi in the lobby area; if you didn't bring your labtop - there is internet service to purchase.

The resort is also very family orientated. From the looks of it the children had fun.

There is a hot tub, an "adults-only" pool, and another pool - all were great. The water in the hot tub was great - not too warm - it overlooked the sea.

The vendors on the beach were out daily, a rope would determine how close they could get to the people. It was good. They did everything to grab your attention from afar. They would catch you though when you wanted to venture near the sea - ha ha, but it was all good, they were pretty respectful - I guess it's all about how you answer them back to, right? Watching some people made me laugh and sometimes just shake my head - these vendors are just trying to do their jobs, have a little respect for them people, a "no-thank you" goes a long way. They aren't going to bite you. (sorry, just an observation I had)

The all inclusive entailed a stocked fridge - for the two of us there was 4 bottles of water daily, an assortment of 4 cans juice/pop, 4 cans of beer, and coffee supplied for our morning coffee. I would think because there was only 2 in our room that's why 4 was the average. If there are more of you, you'd probably have a larger quantity. That was enough for us as I know we didn't drink our amount of every day. The bottled water I did use when brushing my teeth, but only at the beginning, a sign in the bathroom did state the water from the tap was filtered.

Upon departure from the resort, all went well with check-out. Our shuttle arrived promptly and we were back to the airport in no time at all.

Many thanks to the Royal Solaris staff - we would consider visiting again, however, we like to try new places and new chains. We had a positive experience with this hotel. We would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Rooms facing into the courtyard could be a bit noisy, but not too terribly bad - it's not as a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our 10 days at the hotel! All the theme nights were fantastic, great food, great service, better than great bar service (Pedro) and a dynamite entertainment team (Poncho, Dany, Becca, Jess and Zoe)!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thanks for those nice comments, and be assured we will tell all the entertainment team your nice words!

We will waiting your for the next vacation season!

Warm Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We booked our trip here for our anniversary. We upgraded our room for an ocean view suite. If we stood on the patio and stuck our bodies off over the rail (4 stories high), we could see the ocean. Hmmmm, so that is what I paid extra for? Also, we were booked in a smoking room that was covered with cigarette ashes. Nowhere did it mention that we had to clarify smoking or non-smoking. I have allergies and asthma so that was not okay. After showing us SEVERAL rooms, they moved us to the 5th floor, garden view room, which was apparently a non-smoking floor. However, there were ashtrays down the halls of the entire floor. They sprayed enough Fabreeze in the room that it could have suffocated a small animal (the room still ended up reeking of smoke). We stayed the 1st night because it was too late to move to a different hotel because the booking agents were gone for the evening. The beds were rock hard making it a restless first night of our vacation.

The facility was dirty (brown stains all over the ceiling and walls). Mildew covered the grout in the tiles. There was no hot water in the morning to take a shower. The furnishings were reminiscent of bad 1980's curtain decor. I would describe the the snack bar at best, mystery meat with a side of who the heck knows what. The breakfast was actually not that bad. SO I guess there is ONE nice thing I can say about the resort. On day 2 we ended up transferring hotels. After specifying to the cab driver to be taken to the next resort, the hotel specifically told the cab driver to take us to the airport (which he did). Thanks for waisting another 1.5 hours of my precious vacation time!

The hotel manager told us that they would not charge us the cancellation fee; however, they changed their tune when our travel agent discussed the situation with them and made us pay a 2 night cancellation fee and we still paid for the ocean view room when we actually stayed in a garden view room ($40 cheaper p/night). Hopefully trip advisor will not erase this review as we did stay one night (too many) at Royal Solaris Cabos. I had not specified that in my earlier review. What I have learned from this experience is that I will never bargain book again. You get what you pay for.

Room Tip: The price might look appealing but don't book it... Spend the extra cash and enjoy some luxury w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. I would love to have you come back and give us another chance to prove that this is not usual for our hotel.

Warm regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a wonderful family friendly resort and so I thought it best for the 3 children who just stayed here to write the review. This was our third visit to the hotel and we thought it was amazing again. We love the theatre shows, and they are suitable for all ages. The food was delicious especially the breakfast buffet - they made donuts, crepes and all types of eggs to order. The staff were always ready to please, smiling and helpful. I am a picky eater but they were always helpful by making me special food to eat. The Kids Club Instructors named Dora and So So were spectacular. They always had a fun movie and crafts in the afternoon. The water slides are the best. The big pool is fun for everyone and has a wonderful 'swim up bar' where you can order anything you like - smoothies, virgin Pina Colada and juices.
The staff at the Pool, especially Danny always had fun games to play, like bingo, water dances, volleyball games and ping pong tournaments. The hotel is right on a nice, wide beach with great boogie boarding. There are lots of vendors on the beach but they left you alone as soon as you said 'No'. The water is very shallow for a long way out. They is a great adult pool, gym and spa. We wish there was a hot tub for the kids to use!

Room Tip: Pay extra money for pool or ocean side rooms. The higher the rooms the better they get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit at Royal Solaris Los Cabos and for sharing such a wonderful review. We thank you for giving us the opportunity to be of service to you.
I do understand through your detailed comments that we succeeded in making your stay enjoyable. We will always do everything within our means to ensure that your needs and expectations are met.

We look forward to welcoming you back at any of the Solaris Hotels in the near future

Warm Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was our first time in Cabo and we had a great time! I want to say a special thank you to Armando Flores, our concierge. He was extremely helpful, friendly and always had a smile. He was never too busy to talk to us or help us, even after we said no to the membership! Thank you Armando for giving us a great holiday!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we will tell Armando all the nice words you say about him, we are also very happy you had a nice stay with us, we hope see you soon again!

Warm Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Solaris Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Solaris Los Cabos

Address: Blvd. San Jose | Campo de Golf, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Solaris Los Cabos 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Inclusive family beachfront resort with 387 rooms in a Mexican hacienda-style, located in san Jose del Cabo, Mexico. Royal Solaris Los Cabos offers unlimited meal and beverages in our 5 restaurants, Room service (delivery fee), Dinner show at Tehuacan Theater, 4 bars, 3 pools with heather system (including relaxes & kids pools), Business center, Spa and beauty salon ($), Steam room, fitness center, hospitality rooms, on site shops. Other services include 24 hr medical service (on call) ($). Shuttle service to Cabo San Lucas ($). Weekly activities program for all ages. Tennis and basketball courts, also beach volleyball court. Theme parties and dinner shows. Junior's club (video games). Live and ambient music at the lobby bar. Kids club & Mini Water park. Scuba diving demo at the diving pool. Meeting room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Royal Solaris Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Solaris Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Royal Solaris Cabo San Lucas
Los Cabos Solaris
Los Cabos Royal Solaris
Royal Solaris Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Solaris Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.