We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not recommended” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Solaris Los Cabos

Save Saved
You added Royal Solaris Los Cabos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. San Jose | Campo de Golf, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“not recommended”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I would not recomment this place for anyone looking to party or have a good time.

I was at the Royal Solaris in Los Cabos this November 2012 with a group of 14 people. I have to say that thank god we were a big group cause i would of died of boredum. The Hotel was dead, the discotheque at the hotel is located in the lobby where it is too bright and in a weird location, there wasnt anyone there. If you wanted to have fun at night u had to grab a cab and go to the town and pay for drinks etc.

The Beach.... The beach is nice. We were in the water everyday. There is a barrier by the chairs on the beach so seller dont come bother you. It sucks as there are so many, I am not kidding when i say you cant even past them and see the water. There a security guard as well to stop them from crossing but as soon as he leaves for 5min they are all over the place.

Service... Service is not bad. I have seen better. For example we went to Mexican a la carte restaurant one night, our restervation was at 8 and we didnt start eating until 930. the service was horrible. We were ignored and starving. Some people in our group left and went to town to grab food and had time to eat and come back and we still didnt get our food by then.

There is a lot of time share hasseling there. Be prepared to be bothered by that aswell. I also found out that Royal Solaris is a Time share Hotel and they have a lot of special things for their members which made us feel worthless. All these nice Tiki partys and special outdoor dinners where guest like us travelling with Air Canada Vacations werent allowed to go.

Hotel restaurants and pool close at 8pm. So makes the night long is your hungry at night as there is nothing around to eat but Room Service that is open until 1am and drinks until 1am so cuts the party short. .

I would not recomment this place for anyone looking to party or have a good time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,120
    1,098
    520
    265
    221
See reviews for
1157
958
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We have so much fun & enjoyed our stay @ Royal Solaris. The show, entertainment is awesome. We attended there show every night except weekend. This is the best show I've ever seen, they are the best, ever. The all the performers are wonderful & friendly people. On the weekend we have a chance going out with them on my neice 25th birthday!
All the staff are so friendly & our favorite waiter "MAURO" is no nice & friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

An interesting time at the Royal Solaris. Room was nice and clean. A late evening check-in left us with a bad taste...no food available other than room service for a fee. No 24 hr. snackbar! Breakfast and lunch buffets were good but wish there would have been some authentic tortilla chips rather than commercial stuff out of a bag. The a la cartes were both very good and it was nice to see them change up their menus as well. Again, no access to food after 9 pm other than roomservice. The hotel definitely put lots of effort into the special events for the time share people. we often got the feeling that they had preferential treatment. Hotel was within good proximity for shopping and I felt very comfortable walking the area on my own. As far as entertainment, the theatre shows were fairly enjoyable, although the hotel could improve upon the sound system in both the theatre and the lobby bar. Unless you sat directly in front of a speaker, you couldn't undersatnd the host. The band in the lobby could do with some rehearsals as the girl singing the same songs night after night could remember the words to the songs rather than trying to read and sing them from her iphone.. Of all the staff that we encountered on our trip only 3 stand out. Take a bow, Alberto and Liliana, in the lobby bar, and Very, outside bar server at the palapas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agassiz, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Just spent one week from 13-20th at the Royal Solaris and I am sure it was the best service we have every received in Mexico anywhere! Ramone, Lucy, Angel, Gerry, Victor you are all amazing! The resort is very, very clean. No bugs, garbage or anything ever laying around. One complaint and only one...is that they have made it a time share option at this resort and I do not like how they have signs saying lunch for members this way or that way. It is actually discrimination. Keep time shares out of all inclusives it just gives a very bad vibe. We are all just people on vactaion enjoying ourselves and they should not make you feel like there is a "class" distinction. Other than that awesome. One last thing Juan our host from Sunquest is like non other. He loves his job and makes sure you enjooy your stay. Thanks all so much for a wonderful vacation!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The young, energetic, enthusiastic entertainment staff at the Royal Solaris was the best we've seen in Mexico. We attended their performances on three evenings in the Tehuacan Dinner Theater. You don't need to eat at the Tehuacan if you have reservations elsewhere. The shows start at 8:00 p.m. and last for about an hour. We enjoyed the colorful costumes, the music, and their dancing. After each performance the dancers went to the back of the theater and greeted the audience as we exited the theater. There is a row of empty chairs near the stage that we usually sat in for the best seats in the house. There was no charge for this entertainment.

When we checked in, we requested a soft mattress topper. It was on our bed when we arrived at our room, so our bed was very comfortable. Our room was on the front of the hotel facing the mountains and street. We are seldom in our room, so we didn't want to pay extra for an ocean view. I would recommend this to others if the view isn't important to you. Our room wasn't fancy, but it was fine for us. We used the ironing board to place one of our suitcases, so it would be at the correct height.

The swimming pools are warm and relaxing. There is one separate pool that does not allow children and noise. The entertainment staff provides lots of games and fun in the large pool.

We were impressed with the large variety of included drinks. The friendly bartenders were able to mix every drink that we ordered. We also enjoyed the variety of food choices. We made reservations for the Marco Polo Restaurant by calling at 9:00 a.m. and letting the phone ring and ring until someone answered to take the reservation. The food was very good and was just the right amount. We ate all of our breakfasts at the Cafe Solaris. The lady who makes your omlettes and eggs-to-order was especially cheerful, sometimes breaking out with a song. There was a good selection of rolls, fruits, fruit drinks, pancakes, waffles, etc. The Rosmarinus Restaurant also serves breakfast to those who have timeshares at the Royal Solaris. We ate our lunches in the Rosmarinus Restaurant since it's open to everyone at that time. The snack bar at the pool has a good variety of food including hamburgers, hot dogs, chicken nuggets, french fries, chips & salsa, and daily specials. We did not make reservations or eat at Panchos Restaurant. The food at the Tehuacan Dinner Theater Buffet was also good and there were many choices. We went to the Tiki Dinner Party on the beach from 6:30 - 7:45 p.m. one evening. I wouldn't recommend paying extra money for this. The food and entertainment were so-so. There wasn't enough lighting, so we couldn't see the food on our plates. They did a few audience-participation things that weren't much fun. The Tiki drummers and dancers weren't very entertaining.

The beach at the Royal Solaris is very wide from the edge of the hotel property to the water. The undertow is strong, so swimming isn't advised. We walked for a couple miles along the beach, trying to avoid the occasional horse droppings. There were very few people along the beach.

We walked through the Estuary and on into the town of San Jose del Cabo one day. You could also take a Collectivo/bus into San Jose del Cabo. There isn't a lot to see in town, but we went to the church and plaza and a few of the shops that were nearby.

The ventilation and air conditioning system doesn't remove all of the humidity from the rooms. Our clothes and papers were limp from the humidity.

All of the workers at the hotel went out of their way to smile and be cheerful. They didn't appear to be expecting tips, but we gave tips to many of them. Our concierge was Lupillo, also known as Antonio or Tony. He was very friendly and helpful. On the day we arrived, he had encouraged us to learn about the timeshare program. We reluctantly agreed to do the timeshare tour, explaining that we had no intention of purchasing a timeshare. Everything was low pressure until the last man came to the table to talk to us. He told us we should not have agreed to the timeshare if we had no intention of purchasing. He was quite rude to us.

When we checked out of the Royal Solaris, we were told we could store our luggage until we needed to depart and keep our all-inclusive bracelets to eat lunch and have drinks. I thought this was a very nice gesture on the part of Royal Solaris.

Room Tip: If you don't plan to spend a lot of time in your room, I recommend saving the extra money and ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salmon arm
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times and have been more than happy. we travel with our parents, siblings and children and have found it to always be great. Victor Estrada the food manager is always making sure we have everything we need. the food in the morning and at lunch is always hot, good and plenty of it. i will say we were disappointed this time only with the food in the evening, not being quite up to standards and not hot. our representatives Ana Estrada and Alex Anaya were great with taking care of our needs, friendly and with giving information. The entertainment team did a fabulous job with the shows and getting people involved. Jessica, Becca, Danny boy, Pancho and Mac Daddy . Very friendly staff would reccomend it to anyone. cheryl

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have been to the Solaris 4 times as a guest of a time share owner. Great place, beautiful pool and the service is great. The staff is very friendly and work hard to please you. It's been a lot of fun and we've met a lot of nice people there. There a lot to do and the entertainment crew will keep you busy, if your interested. The food is not gourmet but its good. Never been sick. The water is purified.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Solaris Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Solaris Los Cabos

Address: Blvd. San Jose | Campo de Golf, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Solaris Los Cabos 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Inclusive family beachfront resort with 387 rooms in a Mexican hacienda-style, located in san Jose del Cabo, Mexico. Royal Solaris Los Cabos offers unlimited meal and beverages in our 5 restaurants, Room service (delivery fee), Dinner show at Tehuacan Theater, 4 bars, 3 pools with heather system (including relaxes & kids pools), Business center, Spa and beauty salon ($), Steam room, fitness center, hospitality rooms, on site shops. Other services include 24 hr medical service (on call) ($). Shuttle service to Cabo San Lucas ($). Weekly activities program for all ages. Tennis and basketball courts, also beach volleyball court. Theme parties and dinner shows. Junior's club (video games). Live and ambient music at the lobby bar. Kids club & Mini Water park. Scuba diving demo at the diving pool. Meeting room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Royal Solaris Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Solaris Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Royal Solaris Cabo San Lucas
Los Cabos Solaris
Los Cabos Royal Solaris
Royal Solaris Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Solaris Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.