We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dream Come True” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Organic Farm Tour at Huerta Los Tamarindos

Organic Farm Tour at Huerta Los Tamarindos
Calle Las Animas, Las Animas Baja, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
624-105-6031
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Farms, Ranch & Farm
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Organic Tour in Huerta Los Tamarindos: 45 minutes, 6 guest minimum, $38 USD. Guests arrive and congregate under the large mango tree where they are offered fresh juice or iced lemon grass tea. As this is a working organic farm with strict hygiene standards, they will be asked to wash and disinfect their hands before the tour begins. Baskets and scissors will be distributed for collecting produce from the field, and participants will receive an instructional flier with information on organic agriculture. As the tour continues to the field, the guide, an agricultural engineer with vast experience as an organic farmer, will point out different aromatic herbs and vegetables, demonstrate the proper way to pick each of them, and explain what it takes to become a certified organic farm and how this differs from conventional farming. The last 10 minutes of the tour will be devoted to questions and answers from the tour group. There will be an opportunity for guests to use the restroom or have another glass of juice or iced tea. The tour will end in the ranch house, affording guests the opportunity to purchase a variety of products produced on the farm, including tomato sauce, and infused oils.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Dream Come True”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The passion of the owner Enrique Silva is inspiring. To see the love and care he puts in to this organic farm was well as the attention to quality and detail will impress you and the ingredients, food and products coming from the farm are the best in the area.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    3
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiama, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic organic food experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The combination of fabulous food, service and ambiance is what makes this unique organic farm such a fresh experience. Well worth a visit if you are in San Jose as it shows a wonderful perspective of what can be achieved in the Baja desert.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Organic Farm Tour and Cooking Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My daughter and I paid for a private tour and cooking class of the organic farm. It was awesome, well worth every penny, and one of the best experiences of our Cabo vacation. Enrique was a fantastic host. He spent time with us explaining everything you ever want to know about organic farming. Then he took us into the field where we picked the fresh produce we used in our cooking class. After that we spent several hours cooking several delicious dishes. We learned so much about the foods the locals enjoy and about cooking in general. When our culinary treats were done cooking, we all sat down to a delicious feast. I never knew Mexican food could taste so good! It was a fabulous experience and we would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to the Cabo area.
One word of caution: the road to the organic farm is not suitable for cars. You must have an all terrain vehicle to get to the restaurant/farm. If you do not have access to an all terrain vehicle, let Enrique or Lulu know and they will gladly pick you up!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fun & something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

A really fun afternoon. We didn't have a rental car but Lulu helped us arrange transportation, we didn't get to pick the food but we had a great tour with Eric the head chef and owner. We had lots of fun cooking in the outdoor kitchen :-) And the food we made was great and since we got the recipes we'll be trying some of them at home too!
We met a couple of great people too and had fun with them later. It's a bit pricey and I wouldn't recommend this for children unless they really like cooking.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“New concept”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Novel location and concept--food so so--but view the cottage built using straw for walls great idea but pricy!!Nice afternoon diversion.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Organic Farm Tour at Huerta Los Tamarindos also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Organic Farm Tour at Huerta Los Tamarindos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Organic Farm Tour at Huerta Los Tamarindos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.