We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great lunch spot before afternoon flight out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Toro Guero

El Toro Guero
Col. San Bernabe, San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great lunch spot before afternoon flight out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

It's a long drive in from Cabo Pulmo. We had time to spare (rare for us ; -) so we dropped the luggage off and checked in early and then headed back out for lunch.

We took a quick drive up the highway towards San Jose looking for likely places. The sign for Viejo San Jose tricked us and we spent a few minutes driving inland before we figured out we had wandered into a mostly residential neighbourhood, with few food options visible. U turn back out to the high way and head back in towards the airport.

and then "Seafood" our favorite siren call, even after a week in Cabo, appears ahead, up on a hill, under an inviting palapa. We right exit off the highway and climb the short steep frontage road and pull into the lot.

Jackpot.

Extensive menu, much variety. We told the waiter we had to be out in an hour to make a flight and he said no problem. Cups of delicious broth are served as starters and then we ordered.

Ceviche El Toro is a wonderful mix of everything in a zingy marinade. Flavourful but not spicy. Crab Ceviche was a mound of picked crab in a milder marinade. I added fresh lime squeezed in and a generous squirt of some pale orangy mayo based dressing. Yum. Fris shrimp tacos were hot crispy and juicy. A huge pulpo plate was delicious, as was the camerones mojo al ajo.

Aguas Frescas were fine, not stellar. Service was swift and friendly. Atmosphere was relaxed and fun. Clearly this is a good sports place as well, a huge screen was playing while we were there.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    42
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“So good we had to come back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We were recommended to this restaurant by a staff member at our resort. It was one of the best experiences we had during our visit, so much so that we went back for our last evening in San Jose. The menu is all seafood and is only in Spanish which we loved. Ordering was a guessing game but everything we had was incredible and we all had to share bites of our meals with each other. The margaritas are huge, and lethal. It was a pretty quiet day after the first night there! Great value for your money. We had two entrees, two huge margaritas, two beers and bought 2 t-shirts, all for about $50 total. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Place for Local Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Ate here on Thanksgiving on a recommendation from a local merchant and were not disappointing! Lovely fresh seafood and great hangout locale!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good local restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This restaurant frequented primarily by locals has been discovered by gringos who have given it good reviews. It has an extensive seafood menu, reasonably priced and promptly served. Staff is friendly and very helpful even though menu in Spanish. Hopefully it will stay a local gem!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Yum!!! Best seafood meal of the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We took a cab from the Holiday Inn to the location in town behind the church (80 pesos). We asked around about the restaurants (there are 2 locations) and got conflicting stories. It seems like they are owned by the same family (father and son or brothers perhaps) and the location in SJDC near the church is the newer of the two.

Our meal started with two complimentary cups of shrimp broth. Then we ordered shrimp and scallop aguachile. Our waiter was awesome, very patient and someone else came out to check our order and make recommendations... not sure if he was the cook or owner maybe? Anyway, if you have never had raw scallops (although they are "cooked" in lime juice) I think you should try them. I liked them better than seared or raw high grade tuna. So good. This dish was served with tostada shells and saltine crackers. There are a million condiments on the table. We also ordered the smoked marlin empanadas which were 3 to an order but they were ridiculously big, also super delicious. There were a million other things we wanted to try but were too full. Highly recommend and I will post pictures so you can see some of the menu and prices too. We left the restaurant by foot and were surprised that we were only a couple streets away from the church, a 3 or 4 minute stroll. The menu is in Spanish and when we were there all of the patrons were Spanish speakers, but I have every confidence that if you smile and ask questions they will help you have a great time and decide what to order. SO many people willing to help and practice their English. :) Love that about this town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toro Guero also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to El Toro Guero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Toro Guero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.