We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent local eatery next to a gas station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Toro Guero

El Toro Guero
Avenida Centenario, San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
6241307818
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“An excellent local eatery next to a gas station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had a great dinner at this seafood shack next to a gas station. It is really where the locals come for fresh and delicious seafood. We had seafood ceviche, baked clams with cheese and a grilled fish dish. Everything from the seafood broth and buttery bread that we were given as soon as we sat down to our entrees were excellent. If you want homey, local and cheap seafood, come to this place. Leave all tourists behind to the overprice restaurants.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    54
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great local place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Awesome, what a find. A real locals eatery, recommended by our hotel owner who arranged for johnathan and team to cook our sport fishing catch! Yes, we brought our fish and they made the most wonderful selection out of it. The best Sierra we ate in the 5 weeks we travelled Mexico! Clams were great too. Thank you so much for making us welcome. ( This is a daytime place to eat so arrive before 3/4pm).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Amazing tacos gobernador”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Very popular seafood reataurant in san jose del cabo, We had tacos gobernador for lunch and they are amazing! you should order them when staying in cabo

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really FRESH Seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My friends and I went to this place on the recommendation of the staff at cactus car rental and we absolutely loved it!

Our server (Jonathan) was fantastic and very patient. The menu is entirely in spanish and we couldn't understand anyof it. So we just described what we wanted and he said "I'll make you something." He returned with with absolutely beautiful and delicious plate! The seafood is very fresh and the portions are pretty sizeable so bring your appetite. We had margaritas and pina colada -- both of which were fantastic. The empanadas are the best I've ever had.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing shrimp tacos!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Upon visiting San Jose del Cabo, my boyfriend and I had been told to check out El Toro Guero by many of the locals. We were not disappointed. He had the breaded fish plate and I had shrimp tacos. Both were delicious. They do a shrimp taco where the shrimp is grilled and in a stew and it was amazing. Their regular fried shrimp tacos were also great. I've tried several different places in the Cabo area and these shrimp tacos were the freshest and tastiest. The fish plate was also excellent. It came with rice, potatoes, tarter sauce and tortillas. The salsas were good. The service was great. It's a great place to go to for some good seafood at affordable prices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toro Guero also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to El Toro Guero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Toro Guero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.