We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC VALUE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marisol Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Marisol Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Marisol Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Malecon, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
sonoma
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC VALUE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were truly fortunate to have our one night in San Jose be at the Marisol. A family owned jewel with very pleasant staff. Our room was spotless, comfortable and very quiet. A great location with a newly opened CJ's New York deli on the ground floor. We only hope we can spend more time during our next trip to Cabo.

Dan B

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    36
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
12
57
26
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel is in the midst of the tourist area ;ocated a short walk from a lovely beach. The water was very warm but the surf is too dangerous for swimming. Other nearby beaches are swimmable. This is a small hotel tucked away in a cozy space of its own. Only about 8 rooms. Everything designed very tastefully. Very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I recently spend 3 nights at this lovely hotel. The service was INCREDIBLE! The owner and his family were extremely kind and beyond helpful. My friend and I were made to feel as we were guests of honor. The genuine spirit of these kind people was quite extraordinary, and went above and beyond what is expected of good customer service. The location is just perfect with a beautiful beach just steps away as well as a giant supermarket to accommodate any and all needs. The bus is also conveniently located about 4 blocks away with easy access to downtown cabo san lucas. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel for a great, clean, inexpensive, and wonderful experience. :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

It was our last night in Mexico before a late morning flight out of SJD, and we were looking for clean inexpensive accommodation near the beach. Marisol's location was perfect for us, being just off the beach AND the road to the airport. Due to low season, we were upgraded to their suite room, which was so nice of them, and had an ocean view. The bed was very firm and supportive, just how I like it to be, and the pillows were comfortable. We slept really well and woke up to a continental breakfast (yogurts, coffee, juice). The room was clean, the shower was hot, and the bed was comfortable, so it hit the big three in my book! I will say, this is not a luxury hotel... the linens are not fine, the decor is not modern, there is no pool. But it more than met my expectations for the price.

On top of that, the service was remarkable! This is a family run hotel, and they are working hard to ensure their guests enjoy their stay. They are genuinely helpful, no ulterior motives to make sales for them or their friends or anything like that. One example is the hotel did not provide filtered or bottled water (so be sure to bring your own from the large grocery store in walking distance), and when I asked about it, the man working the evening shift (who I believe was Marisol's uncle) went out to the store and bought us some (which of course we paid for)! So kind! He also gave me some delicious Mexican fruit to try, which I had never had before.

Thanks again to Marisol!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a lovely time. The room was pretty large, clean (thank you, Jesus) and very nice. The hotel is located near the beach (5 min walk) and a big supermarket. Also nearby a nice restaurant (Baja Blue). Because we were here in low season it was not very busy in the hotel but we received excellent service and hospitality. The breakfast is fine with yoghurt, fruits, coffee, jugo de naranja and granola. You can eat this on their lovely roofterras.

We were here without a car which was fine for us but a car will get you easier to the towns of San Jose del Cabo (45 min. walk) and Cabo San Lucas (30 min. with public transport, bus will stop nearly opposite across the Mega supermarket just right of the rotonda with the purple tubes statue).

Furthermore we give special thanks to the help we got from Antonio concerning the pelican, THANK YOU VERY MUCH!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nanaimo
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed for 10 days in May.

This place is such good value for money and Marisol is superb as a host.

Initially stayed in the suite at the front but moved because it was a bit noisy for us so we moved to a side room which was just as good.

The staff are lovely and the breakfast is fine. Its 2 minutes to the beach and although it is not a swimming beach there is a bus 2 minutes away that will take you to any of the great beaches on the corridor.

what made the trip for us was Marisol's advice about where to eat and where to visit on the cape. If you want to experience something else other than happy hours and cheap tacos ask her and she will direct you to her favourite places. She took the time and trouble to plan a day trip for us and helped us when we had a rental car problem. Again for the money one of the best travelling experiences i have had because of her. Her father and uncle also complete characters!

One thing, if you leave your passport for safekeeping ensure that you get it the day before you travel. My only criticism of this place is that if you provide this service then a staff member with a key must be on site at all times.

Thanks again Marisol, excellent value for money and you are very good at what you do.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed one night on the way to the airport. No complaints. Room was clean, quiet, and conveniently located near a mall with a starbucks and grocery store. The staff was very friendly and the service was great. There was plenty of on street parking and a nice running path to the estuary.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marisol Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marisol Boutique Hotel

Address: Paseo Malecon, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marisol Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marisol Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marisol a Petite
Marisol Boutique Hotel Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marisol Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.