We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed for the cost” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos to your Saves list
Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. San Jose s/n, Seccion Hotelera 1 Zona Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
1 review
“Disappointed for the cost”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel and the views were breathtaking. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

I was disappointed with several things. The biggest disappointment was with the front desk. Check in was painfully slow. They didn't even offer our vouchers for things that should have been discounted such as the Wi-Fi. We paid full price and then realized the hotel had 1/2 off vouchers.

The front desk messed up our restaurant reservations 3 different times (once to the wrong restaurant and twice with the number of people that needed seating) This was stressful.

My age 14 daughter loves sushi and she couldn't even get into the only restaurant that offered sushi because she's under 18. We were told it was because alcohol was served at that restaurant...well duh, alcohol is served EVERYWHERE you go there.

The food was very good in all the restaurants, but the bar service was incredibly slow and inefficient.

The rooms were not all that clean and on several occasions we had to call the front desk because towels and wash cloths were not replaced fully (we didn't even have a proper amount on the initial day) The coffee in the room didn't get replaced when used. The room refrigerators barely kept items below room temp and milk spoiled quickly. You could hear quite a bit of noise from adjoining rooms (women's heels from above, toilet noise, ect)

Overall, it was a good experience, but not great. The attention to detail from the front desk seriously needs to change. If we go back, we will try a different hotel. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to friends at this time.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify non smoking rooms. Ours was stinky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    257
    123
    42
    32
See reviews for
160
316
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Thanks Manuel Olachea for the well prepared drinks and good service.(very consistant)
The entertainment crew consisting of Christian, Gina and Fernando were excellent.
Food was too good as I gained weight even though the activity crew kept us very active.
The evening speciality coffees at the firepit were awesome!
Karen the waitress in the morning buffet provided excellent service and went out of her way to make us feel welcome.
Weather good. Food Good, Drinks Excellent! I would give this a 4.5 if I had the option.

Room Tip: Pool view upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We arrived the 14th of Dec. and stayed until the 21st. Travel time from airport was around 20 minutes. Check in was quick although we did not come in a big bus load. If you come in with a bunch of others you will have a much longer check-in time.
Right from arrival you are greeted by very friendly staff and bubbly. The resort was very relaxing and short walking distance to everything other than climbing stairs. ( Hey you have to get some exercise right). The resort also has a gym for the hard cores. I used it once to burn a few of the calories I was eating and drinking. Following is a little breakdown of the resort.

Rooms: Spacious with separate bathroom and stand up shower. Also flat screen tv and locking safe. We used ceiling fan most of the time because Air conditioning was not really needed and was a little noisy anyway. Balcony has two chairs ,table and rack for drying swim suits. If you want a good view of the resort I recommend a room facing the inside. Outside rooms either face another resort or one under construction. This was the first time at any resort that the maid left me a thank you note for the great presentation of my tips and sweets. She also caught us when leaving to personally that us. That was one of my best memories. She deserves a raise or promotion. Thank you Mayra! I hope I spelled it right.

Food: Had a wide variety by changing up the menu every nite. Seating and atmosphere were very good.
We only ate at the Mexican ala-carte during our stay. Nice decor but the only draw back was it did not have any Mexican Food on the Menu. Go to buffets and you will have more success.

Service: Was top notch when we first arrived but by the weekend the resort was nearly full and of course the service got slower. especially around the pools. It was quicker to get a drink at the lobby bar and go back to pool. The walk was not that far.

Pools: This resort has some nice pools and hot tubs. Two of the smaller pools are heated and the large one with swim-up bar is not. The stools at the swim-up bar are always in the shade so we never used. First resort I ever been to that the stools were not full. The infinity pool is not salt water as claimed but it was great anyway. After tanning by the pools it was great to relax in the larger hot tub with changing mood lites later in the day. Great conversation to be had there also.

Beach: The beach is large with plenty of room. The sand is course and loose, so walking a long distance with tire you out unless you walk the wet area by the water. You will have local vendors on the beach from around 9 am to dusk. They will approach you but if you say no they will leave you alone, unlike many other resorts. The people in general in Los Cabos are very polite and friendly.

Weather: Mornings can be cool but warm up to 70,s during the day. Did not have any rain during stay but did have some cloudy days, which I was told unusual for the area. However I did get a great tan.

Entertainment: Shows start in the eve. and are pretty good with of course Michael Jackson show being everyones favorite. This show has a different twist with a little rapping mixed in. I never seen that at other resorts. There is three patio heaters for the shows to keep you warm for the cooler evenings. So if you are the type that likes heat go a little earlier to sit by one.

As with most Barcelos the grounds are clean and pretty. For just going thru a hurricane in Sept. this resort rebounded pretty well. The tower which was last to open, opened the nite before we had to leave. It opens evenings and you must be 18 to visit.
I hope you enjoy your stay here because we did. If you like my review and pics I would like your vote. Thanks and Enjoy your stay!

The Brixes

Room Tip: Any room facing inside or the beach would be the best for views. Also higher than ground floor gives...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

What a true vacation destination. Beautiful facilities/amenities, perfect beach, friendly staff, clean rooms, tasty food and quality location. Our family had three side by side rooms and we loved our experience.

Room Tip: Recommend the swim up access rooms that are BEACH SIDE. Some rooms are swim up, but are tucked behi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Barceló is a good place to go and unwind in the sun. The staff is helpful and friendly and the food is sufficient in quality and quantity. We've stayed there earlier in the year, and were concerned about the hotel's comeback from the hurricane in September. When we left yesterday (December 20th) everything was back up and running with the exception of the tower bar and sushi restaurant....and they will be open within two weeks. Only four major hotels are open in San Jose del Cabo, with 11 still closed for repairs. The dedicated staff at the Barceló is one major reason why the hotel was closed for less than 60 days after the storm.

We opted for the Club Premium upgrade to our room and the concierge staff, with ViVi in particular, where always attentive and helpful. If you are lucky enough to get Felix as your bellman at check in, you will appreciate his warmth and attention to detail for any of your requests.

The resort was not too crowded on this visit, but in May it was probably at or near capacity, and we were pleased that on both visits the guests were all there to enjoy their vacations, and not to "raise hell".

We have stayed at other hotels in the area over the years, and the Barceló is just as enjoyable as the others we've been at.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear TednCharlotte

We are so grateful that you took the time to share with us your comments following your last stay at our resort.

We feel so glad that you liked your premium room and that enjoyed the food, your comments are very helpful to know if we are doing a good job and what we have to improve.

Our goal is deliver the highest levels of service that our guests deserve and we are working every day on this.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

On behalf of Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos we wish for you and your family a Merry Christmas and an excellent New Year 2015.


Kind Regards,

Sofia Rivera.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Will never stay there again bad service no follow up or threw .food not much variety or good.service slow premium room no top shelf liquor had 9 yr old twin girls couldn't get any restaurant to feed us one night no reservations finally second time at door Chinese buffet let us in no open buffet every night

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We were looking to have a quiet relaxing short vacation in the Los Cabos area. The Barceló supplied the bill very well. One factor to keep in mind was that the hotel was half full, given the recent hurricane and its aftermath. So it was quiet. We don't know what it would be like if closer to full. In any case, our room was clean and nicely furnished, the staff were friendly and very helpful, and the location was fantastic, walking distance from the wonderful town of San Jose. The beach was not so great, difficult to walk on with its very soft sand, and swimming in the sea was impossible. But walks into the town and to the local starbucks were delightful. Swims in the warm pools were great and one could -- though we didn't -- go horseback riding on the beach. We really appreciated the fact that we could easily get chairs by the pool to read and that it was relatively peaceful. There were a few loud mouth clowns -- as there always are -- but most people were respectful of others' spaces. In terms of food, though the buffet breakfasts and lunches were mediocre, we really enjoyed the dinners at the Italian and Mexican restaurants. Portion sizes were good, the food was varied and tasty, and the staff were all wonderful. For a short quiet vacation in the sun at a reasonable price, we would go back.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the street and above the bar area are actually quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear brian790

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your last stay at our resort.

It is great to know that you really liked your dinners at our Restaurants La Gondola & Las Jicamas and that you could enjoy your reading at the pool area.

We always like to know your comments because make us realize what were your feelings at your stay with us.

Our goal is deliver the highest levels of service that our guests deserved and be sure that we will improve the service in our buffet restaurants.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

On behalf of Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos we wish for you and your family a Merry Christmas and an excellent New Year 2015.


Best Regards,

Sofia Rivera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos

Address: Blvd. San Jose s/n, Seccion Hotelera 1 Zona Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos***** is a resort situated on the shores of the spectacular beach on the Sea of Cortés. It is a hotel for enjoying the peace and quiet of Los Cabos, the relaxing atmosphere of San José and the gentle whisper of the sea. The hotel boasts 350 luxurious rooms and suites distributed over 3 buildings: Luna, Estrella and Torre Sol. All the rooms have a private balcony with views over the Sea of Cortés and are equipped with a number of first class details to ensure your stay is a memorable occasion. The most discerning guests can enjoy the Barceló All Inclusive programme on offer at the resort. The Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos hotel is well-known as one of the best All Inclusive hotels in the area thanks to the quality and added value it offers its guests. There are 5 restaurants and 3 bars in the hotel offering a wide-range of gastronomy, including an extraordinary selection of international, Mexican and Italian cuisine. Its on site convention and meeting centre boasts 2,620 m2 of space to accommodate all types of events. Plan your corporate meetings, conventions or weddings in the best facilities on offer in Los Cabos. And not forgetting the youngest members of the family, who can have fun in the hotel's water park or in La Tortuga, the children's club. The Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos hotel is the perfect choice for enjoying your trip. If you are travelling for business, or spending a holiday with your partner or family, don't hesitate in visiting us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Barcelo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hola Grand Faro Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Crown Plaza Los Cabos
Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.