We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD FOOD AND AWESOME STAFF!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. San Jose s/n, Seccion Hotelera 1 Zona Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 39 hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Lethbridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD AND AWESOME STAFF!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We really enjoyed our stay at Barceló, we found the food was really good, good selection of meats and vegetables and everything else. The facilities are very clean and the staff are very friendly and kind. Some of the people we remember are Carmen with the smile of an angel, Marcelo always funny and kind, Efrain, Jesus, Pedro, Ismael, Christian, Felipe and many others who made our vacation so special. They all work very hard and were always very friendly.
I did enjoyed the shows at night, I wish they had some dancing lessons, I love salsa dancing and need to practice more...I did not like the beach, not good for swimming, but the pools are big and nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    184
    88
    25
    22
See reviews for
113
230
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our Room was Beautiful, but the reason for the 4 stars is, the Beds!! Why so hard!?

My Waiters Carlos Castro, and Alberto Welderez<sp> were just awesome, they went out of their way to bring me and my family all we needed, Thank you again Carlos and Alberto!! BTW Carlos they love the picture of us!! Thanks Again, Deb

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor all, Make sure you upgrade to Premium The best rooms, and best views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Mocom1,

We appreciate you took the time to share with us your gratitude for the excellent service you received by Carlos and Alberto. It was their pleasure to went out their way to make you enjoy your food, we would love to see this picture and could share with Carlos, it will be a great memory for him.

We will share your comment about the beds, we will find the solution in order to give the most comfortable stay to our guest.

We hope to have the honor to welcome you again in the near feature.

Warm regadars,

Meredith López
Asistente Ventas
Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Last week I had the opportunity to enjoy six magnificent days at your hotel. The entire personal is very nice and one feels treated with respect and dignity. Katherinne Palma was my host every night I visited La Gondola when eating a-la-cart. Jairo was also very service oriented and Jose as well. I've also enjoyed the show fiesta and the Vegas and latin night shows.
I wish you had more dancing activities during the day and a Disco but perhaps next year when I am planning to visit Barcelo again, you guy will incorporate more entertainment and louder music by the pool.
Thank you for your great hospitality and for the wonderful hard working people that made sure I was feeling okay at all the time.

Room Tip: Get a corner suite if you can,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear E M,

On behalf of all the staff of Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos, we want to thank you for sharing your experience at our resort, we are pleased to read such a wonderful review from you.

We feel honored to read you had a great time ar our resort through the kindness of our staff, we always make our best to make our guest feel as special as they are for us, as you could noticed with the service of Katherine, Jairo and Jose.

It is great to hear you enjoyed your night entertainment, please rest assured that your comments about the dancing activities will be share with our entertainment manager, who is actually working on the activities program, in order to have the most amazing activities for our guest, including dancing activities for sure.

We are glad to read you are considering to come back, please do not hesitate to contact me if you need anything planning your next get away to Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos.

Warm regards,

Meredith López
Asistente Ventas / Sales Assistant
Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our stay 7/8 to 7/15, was enjoyable, food was good especially at The Italian which you have to book the day of, just one thing spoiled our vacation & that was the charge for Internet service which having paid for had terrible reception, we couldn't get on the Internet at all when in our room. We have been to many all inclusive resorts, this one we liked but would probably look at other resorts for our next trip to Cabo.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Limeyp,

We appreciate you took the time to share with us your experience at Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos.

We are pleased to read you had such a great experience at our Italian restaurante, we hope you have tried our special Limoncello.

We are sorry to hear that because of the Internet trouble your stay was not perfect, please rest assured that we will check this situation with our technology support staff , in order to avoid this kind of situations.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near feature.

Warm regards,

Meredith López
Asistente Ventas
Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VACAVILLE, CALIFORNIA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We visited with our 20 year old daughter and a friend in July 2014. We had a 5 day/ 4 night package. The room was very nice and in the front, near the beach. The room was smaller than some other Barceló hotels, but certainly adequate. The pools were clean and large. Most of the poolside chairs had towels on them by 7 AM, and there were not enough chairs for everyone.
The dining was fine, although cleanliness in the poolside lunch buffet line deteriorated as the day went along. The food was adequate, and each day, there was a special served--steak or chicken on a grill, fresh ceviche were 2, that were outstandingly tasty and fresh. The breakfast buffet was usually crowded by 9AM with quite long lines. The breakfast/dinner buffet room needs to be about twice it's present size, or the lunch buffet area could also be used. The beach is clean, but dangerous to swim at. There are large powerful waves, and a strong undertow unless the tide is out. There are no lifeguards. It is suitable for only the most experienced and strong ocean swimmers. Excursions from the hotel are plentiful, but seem unusually expensive. A Dolphin Adventure cost about $115 per person, and was held in a nearby dolphin center in an indoor pool. The girls said it lasted about 45 minutes and cameras were not allowed.

Room Tip: Try to get one closer to the beach. You will be very near the pools, beach and lunchtime dining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Twillie,

Thank you for sharing with us your comments following your last trip to Los Cabos, your opinion is really important for us.

We are glad to read you liked the food and to know you enjoyed the fresh ceviche our chefs cooked, they are really good at and they always make their best to make the most delicious and unforgettable food for all our guest who deserve it.

Please rest assured that your comments are going to be shared with all our head departments, we are working very hard to improve our standards according to Barcelo Hotel & Resorts in order to provide the best service to our guest.

We hope to have the honor to welcome you again in the near feature.

Warm regards,

Meredith López
Asistente Ventas
Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Was at the Barcelo from 7/12 to 7/19, upgraded to the premium package which is the best money I've spent on any vacaction. Al a carte restaruants had some of the best food I've had in Mexico. I want to commend Jimmy at the pool bar, who saw what was happeneing and took steps to correct it (more on that later). Jesus in the Albatros dining room was fantastic, after a couple of days, he was waiting for us every morning with coffee, tea and an ash tray in hand. We got to the resort 3.5 hrs late because once again Frontier airlines was late leaving Chicago. (Never been on a Frontier flight that was on time, Apple, find someone else for your charter flights). Maria, our concierge was waiting and made chech-in a breeze. resort was probably no more than 50% full. Now the problem, my wife and I go to Mexico 2-3 times a year, always all-inclusive, and have never experienced the discrimination against non-spanish speaking people that we did on this trip. I'm not talking about in town I talking about at the resort. We always seen a little discriminationn on our summer trips but wrote it off due to 90% of the guest are spanish speaking during the summer, but this trip it was blatant and obvious. Jimmy at the pool bar saw it happen to us repeatedly the first couple of days and finally came over, apologized, and went out of his way to make our trip fun. The other bartenders would make eye contact and then go to a spanish speaking customer. Same thing happened in the buffet restraunts, Thank God for Jesus who treated everyone the same and made us look forward to breakfast every morning. We love the Barcelo and have been to 4 different ones a total of 7 times, we will definitely second guess going to another, especially during our summer trips.

Room Tip: Go Premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback following your last stay at our resort. We are glad to know you love Barcelo Hotels & Resorts, we are pleased to read we were part of your Barcelo´s experiences.

We are delighted to read you lived the Club Premium benefits, absolutely a VIP service you can join at our resort as you could notice from your check in until your check out. We feel proud to hear that the food you tried at our resort was one of the best you have ever tried in our country.

We are very sorry to hear you felt this discrimination, the experience you describe is certainly not typical of the level of quality we must deliver to our guests: however we are going to focus on your comment and we are going to addressed this situation to the training department.

We hope to have the honor to welcome you again the next summer, it will be our pleasure to pamper you. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you need any help planning your next get away to Los Cabos.

Warm regards,
Meredith López
Asistente Ventas
Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked a premium room with ocean view. Was given a pool view and the receptionist said that you can see the ocean from a distant.
Extremely poor service. No one picks up the phone for room service.
You have to make a reservation for few a restaurants in the resort. Despite of making one, you have to wait a long time for food. Short staffed.
It's a scam to have a premium package. There is no perk to having one except the concierge to check in and out!!
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Pay a little more and find a better hotel for yourself.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Lavclin,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your experience at Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos. We are very sorry to hear that we were short in your expectations.

We are taking your comments very seriously in order to improve our level of service, food consistency, including a clear understanding of the inclusions of our Club Premium.

Warm regards,


Meredith López
Asistente Ventas
Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos

Address: Blvd. San Jose s/n, Seccion Hotelera 1 Zona Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos***** is a resort situated on the shores of the spectacular beach on the Sea of Cortés. It is a hotel for enjoying the peace and quiet of Los Cabos, the relaxing atmosphere of San José and the gentle whisper of the sea. The hotel boasts 350 luxurious rooms and suites distributed over 3 buildings: Luna, Estrella and Torre Sol. All the rooms have a private balcony with views over the Sea of Cortés and are equipped with a number of first class details to ensure your stay is a memorable occasion. The most discerning guests can enjoy the Barceló All Inclusive programme on offer at the resort. The Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos hotel is well-known as one of the best All Inclusive hotels in the area thanks to the quality and added value it offers its guests. There are 5 restaurants and 3 bars in the hotel offering a wide-range of gastronomy, including an extraordinary selection of international, Mexican and Italian cuisine. Its on site convention and meeting centre boasts 2,620 m2 of space to accommodate all types of events. Plan your corporate meetings, conventions or weddings in the best facilities on offer in Los Cabos. And not forgetting the youngest members of the family, who can have fun in the hotel's water park or in La Tortuga, the children's club. The Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos hotel is the perfect choice for enjoying your trip. If you are travelling for business, or spending a holiday with your partner or family, don't hesitate in visiting us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Barcelo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hola Grand Faro Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Crown Plaza Los Cabos
Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.