We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waiters and Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. San Jose s/n, Seccion Hotelera 1 Zona Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 39 hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Surrey, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Waiters and Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our Room was Beautiful, but the reason for the 4 stars is, the Beds!! Why so hard!?

My Waiters Carlos Castro, and Alberto Welderez<sp> were just awesome, they went out of their way to bring me and my family all we needed, Thank you again Carlos and Alberto!! BTW Carlos they love the picture of us!! Thanks Again, Deb

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor all, Make sure you upgrade to Premium The best rooms, and best views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    184
    88
    25
    22
See reviews for
112
229
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Last week I had the opportunity to enjoy six magnificent days at your hotel. The entire personal is very nice and one feels treated with respect and dignity. Katherinne Palma was my host every night I visited La Gondola when eating a-la-cart. Jairo was also very service oriented and Jose as well. I've also enjoyed the show fiesta and the Vegas and latin night shows.
I wish you had more dancing activities during the day and a Disco but perhaps next year when I am planning to visit Barcelo again, you guy will incorporate more entertainment and louder music by the pool.
Thank you for your great hospitality and for the wonderful hard working people that made sure I was feeling okay at all the time.

Room Tip: Get a corner suite if you can,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our stay 7/8 to 7/15, was enjoyable, food was good especially at The Italian which you have to book the day of, just one thing spoiled our vacation & that was the charge for Internet service which having paid for had terrible reception, we couldn't get on the Internet at all when in our room. We have been to many all inclusive resorts, this one we liked but would probably look at other resorts for our next trip to Cabo.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Limeyp,

We appreciate you took the time to share with us your experience at Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos.

We are pleased to read you had such a great experience at our Italian restaurante, we hope you have tried our special Limoncello.

We are sorry to hear that because of the Internet trouble your stay was not perfect, please rest assured that we will check this situation with our technology support staff , in order to avoid this kind of situations.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near feature.

Warm regards,

Meredith López
Asistente Ventas
Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VACAVILLE, CALIFORNIA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We visited with our 20 year old daughter and a friend in July 2014. We had a 5 day/ 4 night package. The room was very nice and in the front, near the beach. The room was smaller than some other Barceló hotels, but certainly adequate. The pools were clean and large. Most of the poolside chairs had towels on them by 7 AM, and there were not enough chairs for everyone.
The dining was fine, although cleanliness in the poolside lunch buffet line deteriorated as the day went along. The food was adequate, and each day, there was a special served--steak or chicken on a grill, fresh ceviche were 2, that were outstandingly tasty and fresh. The breakfast buffet was usually crowded by 9AM with quite long lines. The breakfast/dinner buffet room needs to be about twice it's present size, or the lunch buffet area could also be used. The beach is clean, but dangerous to swim at. There are large powerful waves, and a strong undertow unless the tide is out. There are no lifeguards. It is suitable for only the most experienced and strong ocean swimmers. Excursions from the hotel are plentiful, but seem unusually expensive. A Dolphin Adventure cost about $115 per person, and was held in a nearby dolphin center in an indoor pool. The girls said it lasted about 45 minutes and cameras were not allowed.

Room Tip: Try to get one closer to the beach. You will be very near the pools, beach and lunchtime dining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Twillie,

Thank you for sharing with us your comments following your last trip to Los Cabos, your opinion is really important for us.

We are glad to read you liked the food and to know you enjoyed the fresh ceviche our chefs cooked, they are really good at and they always make their best to make the most delicious and unforgettable food for all our guest who deserve it.

Please rest assured that your comments are going to be shared with all our head departments, we are working very hard to improve our standards according to Barcelo Hotel & Resorts in order to provide the best service to our guest.

We hope to have the honor to welcome you again in the near feature.

Warm regards,

Meredith López
Asistente Ventas
Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Was at the Barcelo from 7/12 to 7/19, upgraded to the premium package which is the best money I've spent on any vacaction. Al a carte restaruants had some of the best food I've had in Mexico. I want to commend Jimmy at the pool bar, who saw what was happeneing and took steps to correct it (more on that later). Jesus in the Albatros dining room was fantastic, after a couple of days, he was waiting for us every morning with coffee, tea and an ash tray in hand. We got to the resort 3.5 hrs late because once again Frontier airlines was late leaving Chicago. (Never been on a Frontier flight that was on time, Apple, find someone else for your charter flights). Maria, our concierge was waiting and made chech-in a breeze. resort was probably no more than 50% full. Now the problem, my wife and I go to Mexico 2-3 times a year, always all-inclusive, and have never experienced the discrimination against non-spanish speaking people that we did on this trip. I'm not talking about in town I talking about at the resort. We always seen a little discriminationn on our summer trips but wrote it off due to 90% of the guest are spanish speaking during the summer, but this trip it was blatant and obvious. Jimmy at the pool bar saw it happen to us repeatedly the first couple of days and finally came over, apologized, and went out of his way to make our trip fun. The other bartenders would make eye contact and then go to a spanish speaking customer. Same thing happened in the buffet restraunts, Thank God for Jesus who treated everyone the same and made us look forward to breakfast every morning. We love the Barcelo and have been to 4 different ones a total of 7 times, we will definitely second guess going to another, especially during our summer trips.

Room Tip: Go Premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback following your last stay at our resort. We are glad to know you love Barcelo Hotels & Resorts, we are pleased to read we were part of your Barcelo´s experiences.

We are delighted to read you lived the Club Premium benefits, absolutely a VIP service you can join at our resort as you could notice from your check in until your check out. We feel proud to hear that the food you tried at our resort was one of the best you have ever tried in our country.

We are very sorry to hear you felt this discrimination, the experience you describe is certainly not typical of the level of quality we must deliver to our guests: however we are going to focus on your comment and we are going to addressed this situation to the training department.

We hope to have the honor to welcome you again the next summer, it will be our pleasure to pamper you. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you need any help planning your next get away to Los Cabos.

Warm regards,
Meredith López
Asistente Ventas
Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Booked a premium room with ocean view. Was given a pool view and the receptionist said that you can see the ocean from a distant.
Extremely poor service. No one picks up the phone for room service.
You have to make a reservation for few a restaurants in the resort. Despite of making one, you have to wait a long time for food. Short staffed.
It's a scam to have a premium package. There is no perk to having one except the concierge to check in and out!!
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Pay a little more and find a better hotel for yourself.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Lavclin,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your experience at Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos. We are very sorry to hear that we were short in your expectations.

We are taking your comments very seriously in order to improve our level of service, food consistency, including a clear understanding of the inclusions of our Club Premium.

Warm regards,


Meredith López
Asistente Ventas
Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

You may see from my title that my main complaint about this hotel is that it is too far away from Cabo San Lucas! If you haven't been to Cabo before you will immediately recognize that Cabo San Jose is separated from all the touristy and fun things to do there by a $40-$50 cab ride plus tip to Cabo San Lucas. Our concierge at the hotel even admitted that there weren't many good restaurants in the vicinity and we should go to San Lucas for most of our needs.

As for the hotel itself, it is situated on the beach where waves come crashing down in pounding succession and you are encouraged to not swim at all. (Another thing that Cabo San Lucas has going for it, is that you can swim moderately on it's shores due to it's location.) The staff is very friendly here though and I couldn't find not even one employee who looked like they were unhappy to be there. Every person was polite and well versed in English, although they did teach us some Spanish while we were there. We had fun with that!

On to the food. This is my only other complaint. They have buffets set up at all times of day for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The food was just okay for breakfast and lunch, nothing too authentic Mexican. It felt like a more Mexicanized version of American food most of the time which missed the mark. But dinner was plain awful. Every night they had a different theme of food and whether it was Italian or Mediterranean it tasted greasy and bad. What I was surprised about was that they didn't have a Mexican themed night! I came all the way down to Mexico thinking I would get the best tacos and quesadilla meals of my life and I did not have a one. They have a more formal dinner restaurant on the premises but do to a language barrier and misinformation on the hotel information booklet, we thought it closed down at 5pm. Turns out, that is the last time you can call to make a reservation for later in the evening. Since we were mostly out and about, we never ate there.

As for the room, it was very nice. It had two double beds that were very comfortable and even though it was our honeymoon we enjoyed sleeping in our own bed most nights :) It had a small balcony that gave us a small glimpse of the ocean which was still beautiful. Our mini-fridge was stocked with bottled water and beer every day for free and they did a great job of tidying up while we were out for the day.

To sum up our stay, we loved the staff, the room, and the price. We also really liked the swim up pool bar and adjacent snack bar. We also enjoyed having an all-inclusive stay. But if we had the choice again, we would stay in Cabo San Lucas because even if you did not like the hotel food, you could find a restaurant nearby that would suit you. Unfortunately, it all boils down to location!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Amber P,

Thank you for sharing with us a review following your last trip to Los Cabos, the perect destination for honeymooners.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the view you had from your room and to read our staff was able to create a memorable experience of your vacation.

About the food we will let our head chef know all your comments, who is going to work in a regional buffet; actually we do have a Mexican night every Friday, with mariachi playing, typical dishes and a Mexican show, it is a blame you missed it, for sure you are going to love it.

We hope to have the honor to welcome you again and show you our best quesadillas ever !!!

Warm regards,

Meredith López
Asistente Ventas
Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos

Address: Blvd. San Jose s/n, Seccion Hotelera 1 Zona Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos***** is a resort situated on the shores of the spectacular beach on the Sea of Cortés. It is a hotel for enjoying the peace and quiet of Los Cabos, the relaxing atmosphere of San José and the gentle whisper of the sea. The hotel boasts 350 luxurious rooms and suites distributed over 3 buildings: Luna, Estrella and Torre Sol. All the rooms have a private balcony with views over the Sea of Cortés and are equipped with a number of first class details to ensure your stay is a memorable occasion. The most discerning guests can enjoy the Barceló All Inclusive programme on offer at the resort. The Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos hotel is well-known as one of the best All Inclusive hotels in the area thanks to the quality and added value it offers its guests. There are 5 restaurants and 3 bars in the hotel offering a wide-range of gastronomy, including an extraordinary selection of international, Mexican and Italian cuisine. Its on site convention and meeting centre boasts 2,620 m2 of space to accommodate all types of events. Plan your corporate meetings, conventions or weddings in the best facilities on offer in Los Cabos. And not forgetting the youngest members of the family, who can have fun in the hotel's water park or in La Tortuga, the children's club. The Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos hotel is the perfect choice for enjoying your trip. If you are travelling for business, or spending a holiday with your partner or family, don't hesitate in visiting us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Barcelo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hola Grand Faro Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Crown Plaza Los Cabos
Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.