We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos to your Saves list
Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. San Jose s/n, Seccion Hotelera 1 Zona Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Saarbrucken, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The hotel is nice. Rooms are fine. Gardens and installations are in good condition. It has several pools - specially the main pool looked inviting but sadly it was freezing - so catching a spot at the other 2 pools was difficult since none of the guest spent time at the big main pool. Food was good but not great. Service was only regular (needed to make long line for check in and to get a table at the restaurant, the restaurants were always running out of something - plates, cups, certain drinks or dishes, waiters mixing up orders, we were not able to open the safe twice etc.) A just ok hotel - I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmeralda G, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hi Maripily2014:

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your experience at Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos. We are very sorry to hear that we were short in your expectations.

Please be sure that your opinion and comments are extremely valuable to us.

The experience you describe is certainly not typical of the level of quality we must deliver to our guests. We truly regret that we failed to meet your expectations.

We look forward to having the opportunity to better serve you during your next visit to Cabos.

Sincerely,

Esmeralda Gallardo
Customer Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    257
    123
    42
    32
See reviews for
160
316
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed at Grand Halo Jan 10 - 20th, 2014 and enjoyed our holiday immensely. This was our third visit to this resort with each time under a different management. We were pleased to find that the food remained very good, great salad bar and love the pool snack bar. Our favourite place to eat is Las Olas being right on the beach and the view is amazing. Had great service from our waiter Francisco, very friendly and always smiling, he actually remembered us from our last visit. Something new this time was the Beach Party which we really loved, hope they continue having it. Only negative thing was no free Wi-Fi, a fee of $15.00 a day is way too much and we were disappointed in not being able to keep in touch with family back home. Hope to return again next year with our friends who also love this resort.

Room Tip: We have always stayed in the east wing with balconies facing west so getting the last of the sun, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmeralda G, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hi Sharon D:

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your experience at Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos.

We value all your feedback, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are also thrilled that you enjoyed our Beach Party.

We are taking your comments very seriously in reference to the Wi-Fi service.

We sincerely thank you for your continued preference. At Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos, we work very hard every day to deliver the highest level of service. Therefore, repeat clients like yourself show our commitment to delivering great experiences.

We look forward to having you back with us again very soon, and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next getaway to Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos.

Thank you again.

Kindest Regards,

Esmeralda Gallardo
Customer Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitimat, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We recently returned from Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos, and I must say it was a fantastic trip! There were 22 of us all together, and everyone enjoyed themselves a lot! The staff seemed a little out of sorts at times, but, from what I understand...most of them were fairly new. I'm sure service will get even better once they all get used to things. (I did find that we did a LOT of tipping on this trip!) We had our wedding close to the end of our trip, and it was OUTSTANDING! Cynthia - the wedding coordinator was amazing! She was there every step of the way, and everything came off without a hitch! It was truly unforgettable and I recommend the wedding package to anyone planning a destination wedding! Our room was lovely, but as others have commented...make sure you get a beach front room, as some rooms don't have the best view. The food was pretty good, but if your staying for two weeks you will probably want to eat out a few times the second week as buffet food starts to all taste the same. All in all, we really loved the Barcelo! We will be back again forsure :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmeralda G, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Rhea D:

Thank you for choosing Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos for your recent stay in Los Cabos. We have read your comments about the hotel, and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests' satisfaction is our main priority.

We will make sure we pass along the nice words to Cynthia, our Wedding coordinator.

Again, thanks for your feedback.

We look forward to having you back with us again very soon, and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next getaway to Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos.

Best Regards from Los Cabos,

Esmeralda Gallardo
Customer Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed in room 2508 from Jan.27-Feb.3 and were treated royally from all the staff.Very friendly,courteous,and accommodating.This was our fourth all inclusive vacation and by far the best.For an all inclusive the food was great and with a lot of variety.Can't go wrong staying here.We highly recommend staying at the Barcelo.I know we will again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmeralda G, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Ray P:

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your experience at Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos.

We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our resort.

We are glad to read your enjoyed your stay, as our main priority is to deliver the highest level of service and value to our guests.

We look forward to having you back with us again very soon and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next getaway to Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos.


Warmest Regards from Los Cabos,

Esmeralda Gallardo
Customer Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

I was very disappointed it claims to be a 4 star but it's a 2 at its best. It has only one breakfast restaurant so pancakes and eggs every day it has 2 dinner places one Mexican and one Italian which are ok..room service is basically none existent. Location is in San Jose del Cabo which is 40 min from all the action which is in Cabo San Lucas.. Oh and ocean front doesn't mean ocean front if u want a good ocean view you need to book a beach front room.. All and all if your looking to party don't stay here, if your looking to stay away from people it might be for you..

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmeralda G, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Protrknjay:

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your experience at Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos.

We are very sorry to hear that we were short in your expectations.

At Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos, we make a great effort to exceed our customer's expectations, and we make everything that is in our hand to make sure our guests have a pleasant stay.

We regret the inconveniences that you faced during your stay. Your feedback will help us continue working on our commitment to achieving the highest level of excellence in service and quality.

We look forward to having you back with us again very soon and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next getaway to Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos.

Warmest Regards from Los Cabos,

Esmeralda Gallardo
Customer Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We had 5 in our group and were treated very well. Staff is excellent and I must say the Cleaning Staff are first rate. Our Rooms were left in perfect condition each day thanks to the diligent staff. Food was ok we never did make it to the Italian Restraurant but the other two offered good fare if not a little boring. Pools were very cold and thus did not have a lot of people in them. Only bad moment some of our party had was when they ordered drinks they were told "That will be $1.00 please". We reported this to the Front Desk and they are going to handle it. If you want a good time you must consider this but don't just stay at the hotel they have excellent staff to book you any number of tours. Our Favs were Wale Watching, Water Falls, Snorkle, and Hot Springs. Enjoy we did!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmeralda G, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hi Jack W:

On behalf of all the staff, we would like to express our gratitude for sharing your experiences at our property.

We value all your feedback and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We are taking your comments very seriously in reference to the incident by the bartenders.

We look forward to having you back with us again very soon, and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next getaway to Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos.

Best Regards,

Esmeralda Gallardo
Customer Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Barcelo just acquired this hotel from HOLA. There is a brand new hotel construction pit right next door !!!! After 3 days my favorite beer is no longer available. After 3 days the coffee goes from outstanding to watered down crap. Staff are friendly but generally useless with a few exceptions. Ordering a spoon in the dining room was a chore. The wifi was available but didnt work. I have a 1,000 rogers bill. Thank you Barcelo. Multiple restaurants to choose from except half are closed on any given night. The food was ok but inconsistent. Get the exact same thing 2 nights in a row and it is different than the night before. The place has a great location and great layout but the construction next door is an absolute deal breaker. I love the huge deep beach, the water is fine for a stronger swimmer but that ocean needs to be respected. The main pool was freezing cold and generally dirty. It was rarely used by anyone. Hopefully a management overhaul will fix these ridiculous deficiencies. If you want more info please contact me by email at mjgk@live.ca. Go to Dreams.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmeralda G, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Gerry K:

On behalf of the management and staff of Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos, I would like to offer you our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience. Your comments are extremely valuable as they help us monitor our operations. I will personally follow up and make sure that the following training sessions for our staff are focused on your comments in order to prevent the said situations from happening again to our future guests.

The experience you describe is certainly not typical of the level of quality we must deliver to our guests. We truly regret that we failed your expectations. By copy of this letter to our department heads I am requesting all issues be reviewed; however, explanations after the facts are unacceptable and our main concern at this point is that you did not receive the service you deserve and have every right to expect from our Resort.

Please accept our most sincere apologies and we all look forward to having the opportunity to better serve you during your next visit to Cabos. Should you have any additional comments, please be so kind as to contact me directly to my email address: grandfaroloscabos.ventas-asist@barcelo.com


Sincerely,

Esmeralda Gallardo
Customer Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos

Address: Blvd. San Jose s/n, Seccion Hotelera 1 Zona Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos***** is a resort situated on the shores of the spectacular beach on the Sea of Cortés. It is a hotel for enjoying the peace and quiet of Los Cabos, the relaxing atmosphere of San José and the gentle whisper of the sea. The hotel boasts 350 luxurious rooms and suites distributed over 3 buildings: Luna, Estrella and Torre Sol. All the rooms have a private balcony with views over the Sea of Cortés and are equipped with a number of first class details to ensure your stay is a memorable occasion. The most discerning guests can enjoy the Barceló All Inclusive programme on offer at the resort. The Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos hotel is well-known as one of the best All Inclusive hotels in the area thanks to the quality and added value it offers its guests. There are 5 restaurants and 3 bars in the hotel offering a wide-range of gastronomy, including an extraordinary selection of international, Mexican and Italian cuisine. Its on site convention and meeting centre boasts 2,620 m2 of space to accommodate all types of events. Plan your corporate meetings, conventions or weddings in the best facilities on offer in Los Cabos. And not forgetting the youngest members of the family, who can have fun in the hotel's water park or in La Tortuga, the children's club. The Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos hotel is the perfect choice for enjoying your trip. If you are travelling for business, or spending a holiday with your partner or family, don't hesitate in visiting us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Barcelo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hola Grand Faro Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Crown Plaza Los Cabos
Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.