We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONE OF HILTON'S FINEST” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Transpeninsular Km. 19.5, San Jose del Cabo 23447, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“ONE OF HILTON'S FINEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I've stayed at this property about 6 times over the last dozen years or so. Usually over a period of time, I tend to notice some wear and tear and need for refurbishment in most properties, but this one has been exceptionally well-maintained.

As drbridges stated, it may be a "your typical Hilton Resort", but in my opinion that sells this property a bit short unless you're used to the Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton's and the like. Even at that, I've stayed at Ritz Carlton's that had nothing on this property..

The setting here is very, very nice. The design is beautiful. The grounds are exceptionally well-manicured and the overall, the property is superbly maintained and very clean. It's a very comfortable atmosphere to be in. Great views of the ocean from the dining room and pool areas.

The room decor is very pleasing with a large bathroom with separate, roomy shower and tub. Lots of room. Nice linens and towels. Comfortable beds. Great view if you're on the ocean side.

I was only to have breakfast but the buffet was certainly two or three notches above the typical hotel buffet. Excellent and very gracious service.

I think a lot of the Caribbean resorts that I've stayed at could learn a lot from this property in terms of customer service and staff training. Everyone that I encountered here was beyond pleasant, helpful and friendly.

I could not pick about the coffee being a little less hot that it should be, but that's about all I can think of from my brief stay.

If the. Hilton level of resorts is to your liking and you want to go to Mexico where it's quite safe, clean and beautiful, I don't see how you will be disappointed in this property.

Room Tip: Don't skimp. Get one on the ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,937
    399
    90
    38
    24
See reviews for
616
1201
34
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solana Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This hotel has great service and absolutely beautiful rooms with a gorgeous view.
I just wanted to say thank you so much to every single member of your staff, and a very special thanks to Felipe Jara (bartender @ the lounge bar) and Pablo (concierge) who made our vacation so pleasant.
Cabo is one of our favorite destinations from now on....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I found the staff to be friendly, professional and very accommodating. The grounds were very beautiful and well maintained. I had a full ocean view junior suite that was fabulous. There was some construction going on that was a little annoying, but not over the top. Nice pool and very comfortable lounge chairs. Dining was good… both breakfast and well their very nice Italian restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

It is a nice hotel and very nice beach. But it is not the best value for money in Cabo. The spa services are way overpriced even with their special deals. The decor in the public areas is not at all the 5*. The service was good. The best part was the beach. It was empty most of the time and very few people would dare to swim in the ocean. It was great, often I would feel that it was my private beach ! This hotel should cost below USD200 to justify it value for money. Overall it is a very nice property.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay at our resort. We apologize that our facilities were not what you had anticipated and appreciate your notes in regards to our spa pricing and décor. We value this type of feedback and take every suggestion to heart. We are very happy that you were able to enjoy the beach and we hope to welcome you back! If you would like to discuss any of these items further, please feel free to contact the resort directly at enjoy.loscabos@hilton.com. Thank you again for your candor and we look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Your typical Hilton Resort. My only quip was that there was no kid-free pools here. We went over Thanksgiving in 2013, and ever single pool was full of kids. Kind of hard to relax. Other than that, wonderful stay, great staff, and nice clean hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, though we are sorry that your experience with our swimming pools was not your ideal. If you should travel to Cabo again, we hope you will give us another opportunity to deliver an experience that is far from typical, Hilton resort or otherwise. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had high expectations as we visited the Hilton Los Cabos in September - mostly to see the turtles. As many of you know, the Hilton Los Cabos is a proud sponsor of conservation efforts for the turtles in Mexico, and it was primarily this reason for us to go there. An amazing opportunity to see, and release turtles was something we couldn’t resist. We booked for seven days, and left after six!

The communication within the hotel, and via the concierges that we spoke to regarding the viewing of the turtles was, in a word, horrible. This led to a level of frustration and disappointment on a property that is (for most that aren’t turtle watching/releasing) a good property.

The Good:

If you are looking for a very nice resort that has a great pool, this could be your place. With two large pools, and an ocean just a few steps away, the grounds and resort are a great place to relax. We certainly see the benefits of this property and recognize why it has overall, very good ratings.

If you wish to eat off property at all, we highly recommend that you rent a car. We rented a car and found it to be extremely inexpensive, and easy to get around. Without it – you will either be locked into the resort or will spend USD $40-$50 to go and return to dinner offsite. The hotel has free parking and with a single major highway it is impossible to get lost.


The Bad:

We are Diamond members of Hilton, and were given breakfast certificates – this is good and part of the benefits of staying in a Hilton for a lot of nights. At this resort, the breakfast is a “continental” breakfast. On day one, I decided to get a bagel, and ….wait….cream cheese. As it turns out, the bagel is part of the continental breakfast (as we were told) but the cream cheese is NOT. Now, if you want to pay the incremental USD $8 for the upgrade, you too can have cream cheese with your bagel. Hmmm….

Note to management – if you can’t offer your diamond members a full breakfast, at least structure one that makes some sense to “most” of us.


The Ugly:

We are probably not like most of the guests here – so this may not matter to many of you, and with the turtle “season” over at this point – I suspect most who read this will not care. But we went to see and release the turtles – something that is highlighted on the Hilton web site – and a significant part of the reason we were at this specific property (vs others in the area).

We arrived on a Saturday, and immediately went to the Concierge desk to specifically ask about turtles and the release program. Pablo works hard – and I don’t want to blame the Concierge staff – but they did not know when or where turtles were going to be released and as far as we can tell – it is not the staff at the Concierge desk – it is a systemic problem that the resort is not communicating.

So, we went to town and had dinner ….. only to find out the next day that the turtle release was in fact held, on Saturday, in front of the Hilton! Apparently (although it is impossible to truly confirm) Saturday WAS in fact the “day” for Hilton if there were turtles to be released.

The next day, we went to the Concierge desk, and again asked about the turtles – and the staff called some numbers and declared “there won’t be any turtles released today”. Well…..having been burned the day before, we headed to the Hilton beach, and discovered a person “digging” out the turtle nests (see photos). We followed that person and surprise, surprise, it turns out that there WAS a turtle release that day. It is clear that for reasons that are logical, the release is NOT going to be in the same location every night. However, even when we KNEW that there were going to be turtles released (because we watched them dug up) the Hilton and their concierge desk had NO idea where things were going to happen. One night, we drove to another hotel where we were told that they were going to be released – only to find out that this was not true.

This ugly pattern repeated itself to the point where we were so frustrated with the Hilton staff/communication, we gave up – and left. In our travels, we have never really been so frustrated with a property that we just didn’t want to be there anymore.

It is truly sad – this is a very nice resort, and they could be doing SO MUCH MORE with the turtle program. We were not the only ones there to watch turtles, and we were fortunate to be able to participate in two releases during our six nights there. But the pain and agony of finding out what was going on, and poor Pablo and his team – they really are TRYING to do the right thing – but nobody is communicating.

This feature of the hotel, and the beachfront that they “give up” to incubate the eggs makes it so that the hotel should be taking FULL advantage of this unique (or relatively rare) feature. There could be such an amazing program wrapped around the turtle program, and when the person was working the nests there was always a number of people gathered around to watch. I blame the management team of the hotel for failure to execute and take advantage of this asset.

One star I hardly ever give, and the "physical" resort generally doesn’t deserve it – but we were so frustrated and disappointed that it truly has left a bad taste in our mouth. With about 10 years of Diamond status (and 60+ nights last year alone) at Hilton, we have come to expect much better. We told the front desk when we left that we were frustrated – but I am not sure that message was received (communication again?) - you are most welcome to contact us.

Note to management – you are missing a great opportunity and from the activity and photos you can see that there are a significant number of guests who did and wanted to participate every night. Pull together a good educational program and COMMUNCIATE to your staff what is going on (and SHARE it with all of your guests) and the resort will benefit significantly. Your staff will claim that they don't control the turtle release - and this may be true - but you can certainly find out what is going on and communicate it in a much better fashion.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this thorough review of your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed the physical beauty of the resort and are sure future and returning guests will appreciate your tip in regards to transportation. We might also add that, for a significantly nominal fee, there is a public transportation stop right across the street from the resort, which many of our guests utilize during their stay.

Also, we appreciate your notes on our Diamond member breakfast offerings and apologize that you felt your status was not recognized in this area, and others.

Lastly, we are quite disturbed to hear of the situation you describe regarding the Turtle Release Program. We are very proud to have co-founded the Los Cabos Turtle Protection Network and to partner with state authorities, federal agencies and other hotels to further this cause. In 2013 Biologists amended new rules to the turtle protection process. We are sorry that we did not communicate properly, and we understand your disappointment and frustration. Now that we have had time to work under these new rules we will do a much better job in communicating to all our guests as we invite them to share this amazing turtle release experience.

We would welcome the opportunity to further discuss these matters if you would please contact the resort directly at enjoy.loscabos@hilton.com. We look forward to receiving your communication and making things right. We thank you for your loyal Hilton patronage and would be honored to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This was our first time to Cabo. We went Jan. 3-7, 2014. From the moment we landed until we were in our room at the Hilton was 55 mins. When we arrived we were offered a margarita and handed our keys and hotel information. We noticed that the resort was pretty full our 1st day due to all the extra lounge chairs they had around the property. But the rest of our days were not as busy and not as many chairs put out. We had a room on the 2nd floor, but it was full ocean front. It turned out to be beautiful! This hotel is on a very long, beautiful beach. We walked for hours in BOTH directions and never got to the end. We also saw whales right from our balcony. Food and drink were not cheap, but they were made well. Food was good and drinks were made perfectly. Everyone worked very hard and were always very nice.
We did an ATV tour with Cabo San Lucas Tours and whale watching with Whale Watch Cabo. Both were excellent and I would highly recommend these companies.
It took us 2 days to find the deli they have on property. This is on the 1st floor by the quiet pool. They have everything in there and was a daily trip for us.
We did take a taxi into Cabo, $25 each way. We were going to do the public bus (right across the street), but decided the extra $ was worth our time to just get there.
There is a company, right on the beach, that rents water fun things. They will even set up fishing and other site seeing boat trips, and have them pick you up right there on the beach.
We received breakfast voucher, but they do charge 25 peso just to use this voucher, and it's only the continental breakfast. You can pay a upgrade to receive the full buffet. I believe it was around $12 to do this.
It is amazing how much work they do at night. We would sit on our balcony and watch them move chairs around, take all cushions and pillows off the chairs, clean up the beach chairs, then every morning they will bring everything back out.
We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km. 19.5, San Jose del Cabo 23447, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#2 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#2 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover award-winning hospitality at Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort-only 25 minutes from San Jose del Cabo International Airport (SJD). Our Cabo San Lucas resort is located on a tranquil swimming-allowed inlet bay between the towns of Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo, and provides the action of the city and a soothing escape from the hustle of daily life. Relax in the sun beside our signature infinity pool, where our Pool Concierge attends to your every need, whether it's a fresh towel or a tasty fruit pop to help you cool down. With an excellent Kids Program, there are specially designed activities for guests aged 4-12. Choose from a wealth of dining options at this Los Cabos resort's four restaurants. Indulge in innovative massage treatments at Spa Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Cabos Beach And Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hilton San Jose Del Cabo
Hilton Los Cabos Beach Resort
San Jose Del Cabo Hilton
Hilton Cabo
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.