We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isolated, expensive, but still very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Transpeninsular Km. 19.5, San Jose del Cabo 23447, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Isolated, expensive, but still very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I had hoped to spend our whole four-day Los Cabos vacation at the Hilton. Unfortunately, we were able to stay only two nights, because during the last two nights of our stay the entire hotel had been reserved by Sony for a corporate retreat.

The first thing to say about the Hilton Los Cabos is that everything was beautiful: our room, the lobby and other public areas of the hotel, the pool, the beach, the ocean. (Actually it's the Gulf of Cortez, but it looks and behaves like the ocean. More on this later.) The room was not the luxurious kind you would get in one of the better Hiltons in Asia or Europe; rather, it was typical of a nice if somewhat dated beach hotel, the kind of room you'd expect in Waikiki or Bali. But it was clean and comfortable and had a beautiful ocean view, so we were happy.

There are however, a few drawbacks: the hotel is pretty much in the middle of nowhere, 10 kilometers from San Jose del Cabo and 20 kilometers from Cabo San Lucas. There are no shops or restaurants anywhere near the hotel, and taxis are quite expensive. This means the hotel restaurants have got you where they want you, and this is reflected in the prices. On our first night we were not very hungry, having eaten on the plane, but we still managed to spend almost US $50 for two drinks and an order of nachos. The drinks were good but the nachos were not. So on our second afternoon we went into Cabo San Lucas -- there's an inexpensive and reasonably pleasant public bus every 30 minutes or so -- and had a wonderful meal at an Italian restaurant called Pan de Bacco for less than our snack had cost at the hotel the night before. (Breakfast was included in our room rate; the breakfast in El Meson restaurant was fine, although probably not worth whatever you would have to pay for it if it were not included.)

Another disappointment is that the beautiful beach by the hotel isn't very swimmable, or at least it wasn't during our stay. A few people, mostly young men, were braving the surf despite the red flags, but I gave up after getting knocked over by the first two waves that came along. The good news is that the pool is large, cool, and inviting. It wasn't overcrowded at any time during our stay, although the hotel seemed to be quite busy.

The problems we encountered were substantially mitigated by the courtesy and efficiency of the hotel staff. Faced with a dizzying array of dicey-looking transportation options at the airport upon our arrival, we called the hotel and the concierge recommended a shuttle that took us to the hotel for $14 per person. He also gave us information and advice about the public bus to Cabo San Lucas, and later he arranged a $20 taxi ride to our next hotel in San Jose. (All prices in this review are in US dollars.) We also had pleasant encounters with the reception staff, housekeeping, waiters, waitresses, and the hotel manager.

In retrospect, we probably should have rented a car. This would have cost about $50 per day including the Mexico-specific liability insurance the rental companies make you buy, but it would have saved us about $80 in taxi and shuttle fares and enabled us to go out for lunch or dinner without waiting for a bus. We might even have gotten to one of the protected beaches a few miles down the road where it is said you can swim safely even when the waves on other Gulf beaches are too dangerous. The Hilton does not charge for parking.

Room Tip: As always, high floors tend to be quieter. Ocean views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,737
    362
    82
    35
    20
See reviews for
540
1083
29
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Hilton Los Cabos is a beautiful resort. The rooms all have good ocean views, although the palm trees block the view on floors 1-3 somewhat (floors 4-6 have the best views). The service was excellent. The reason for 4 stars is the location, wireless, and expense. The resort is located about half way between San Jose de los Cabos and Cabo San Lucas. With nothing else within walking distance, and both "cities" a $20-25 taxi ride, you are captive to the prices at the Hilton. All 3 restaurants are very good but most things are between $20-40. The beach is beautiful but right in front of the hotel the water is too rough for kids under 10. There is a place just 100 yards away where the water is calmer. The Wireless at the Hilton required that we call the business center and give them the MAC address of each device that we put on. I'd also recommend the family package, which is an additional $30/night but provided free breakfast and free wireless. I believe that paying for the breakfast was at least $20/person. Lastly, seating around the pool can be tight and is done on a first come first serve basis. By 7:30am, people had put towels on many of the "best seats" around the infinity pool. Near the hotel there are also horses and waverunners. We did the waverunners for an hour which was a lot of fun.

Room Tip: Rooms on floors 4-6 facing the infinity pool are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have been remiss in writing this review. We go to Cabo twice a year and I failed to submit a review for this hotel. Our experience here was fantastic in every way. The rooms were beautiful. Service outstanding. Food excellent. And pool and beach setting very nice. If I'm not mistaken, this place is owned by the same people that own the Beverly Hilton in Beverly Hills. So, if you are predisposed into thinking you know what a Hilton is, take a second look. This place is amazing. I would stay here again in a heartbeat except for the fact that we bought a timeshare in Cabo. But we will always have very fond memories of our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

How can Hilton call this a golf resort when they are not affiliated with any golf courses? There is a golf course across the street, yet Hilton does not even provide a shuttle! One needs to take a taxi to and from the course. As for the service, terrible. They don't want to know of any issues, nor do they try to make things right. I would not stay there again, even as a loyal Hilton customer, at least when I travel withing the U.S. for business.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your candid review. Although we do not have a golf course on site, our goal is to make sure guests are aware of the world-class golfing destinations nearby, and throughout Los Cabos. We also offer a 20% discount to several of the nearby courses so this is an aspect we like to emphasize. Unfortunately, we are not able to provide transportation due to local transportation laws.

We are very concerned that you found the level of service you received less than desirable. Each and every member of our team operate within the singular mission of providing over-the-top service – so to hear that you felt you received anything less is extremely disappointing. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to make things right, if you would kindly contact us directly at enjoy.loscabos@hilton.com. Thank you for again for your review and for choosing our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Hilton Los Cabos is a truly wonderful resort. The entire staff is very attentive to your needs, and the food at all three of the restaurants is excellent. It seems that all the rooms have a great ocean view, the pool is big and gorgeous, and the building is beautiful.

The only downsides were the location, and the food prices. Since you can't walk to any other restaurants, you're eating at the Hilton or driving 15 miles to San Jose del Cabo or Cabo San Lucas, so every meal is going to be expensive.

Below are some tips I wish I had learned before the trip:

LOCATION
The Hilton is located north of the town of Cabo San Lucas, and south of San Jose del Cabo. Those towns are about 20 or 25 miles apart, and the Hilton is in-between them. Therefore there are no places that are within walking distance to eat or shop or do anything. The hotel next door (Cabo Real) is an all-inclusive place, so you can't even go over there to eat.

You can swim in the sea at the Hilton, despite what you may hear. The beach has a steep slope, which means that after a wave breaks it may pull you back in when the water rushes down, but it doesn't try to pull you out to sea. I saw lots of kids playing in the waves, but I wouldn't recommend it for small children at all, nor for any under 12 without close supervision.

CURRENCY EXCHANGE
The currency exchange in the airport is a ripoff. The rate for dollars to pesos was 10.3, and the rate from pesos back to dollars was 14.0. The actual rate should have been 12.7 pesos to the dollar. That means that if you start with $100 US, convert to pesos, and back to dollars, you'll only get $74 back. I believe the Hilton front desk will convert your dollars to pesos at a good rate, but almost everything on the peninsula can be paid for with US dollars, so you don't need much anyway.

TRANSPORTATION TO/FROM AIRPORT
We took the shuttle from the airport to the Hilton, which was $14 (US) per person, so for our family of four this was $56. The taxi fare for the same trip is only $30, so go ahead and take a taxi if you have more than two people.

TIMESHARE BARKERS
Yes, the timeshare people are persistent and try to trick you. If you just want to catch a shuttle or cab, walk past the people inside the airport who approach you - you don't have to answer them - and go stratight to the curb side. In the airport, they try to make you think that they are the ones you need to see for transportation. Most people try to be nice to others, answering back if someone asks a question, and the barkers exploit this tendency.

However, you may want to attend a timeshare presentation - we did. They promised to reimburse us for the airport shuttle, provide transportation down to Cabo San Lucas (the Casa Dorada), feed us breakfast, give good discounts on activities we may want to purchase, give us all a ride on a glass-bottom boat out to the Cabo arch, take us back to the Hilton, and pay for our transportation back to the airport, all in exchange for sitting through a 90-minute presentation. The people made good on all these promises (except the 90 minutes was more like 2.5 hours). The breakfast was a wonderful large buffet, not just the continental breakfast we expected. We purchased the ATV adventure for only $28 per ATV for a two-hour outing, which is a very good discount off the advertised rate. Overall, the timeshare experience was positive, but be warned that they are very persistent and insistent.

PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION
Taxi fare down to Cabo San Lucas is $25 each way, but you can catch the public bus right out in front of the hotel, and the fare is only 20 pesos (about $1.60) per person. The bus will take you right down to the San Lucas marina. You can also take the public bus up to San Jose for the same fare, in case you need to go to the Mega or Wal-Mart for anything.

CABO SAN LUCAS
We also had two really nice evenings in San Lucas. There are loads of restaurants around the marina. We did the glass-bottom boat ride out to the arch, which dropped us off at the nearby beach for an hour while we swam and jumped off the big rock. One evening we ate at a restaurant a couple of blocks from the marina, called Los Tres Gallos, which was a very nice experience - outdoor seating in a garden area, with the ladies cooking the food right there near the tables. I highly recommend this place.

People say that the beach at San Lucas is the only swimmable beach in the area, but when we went it was so overcrowded that we didn't go in the water there. Do your ocean swimming up at the Hilton instead.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We recently visited the Hilton Los Cabos for a five night stay. This was a return visit; we had also stayed at this hotel in 2007.

The hotel consistently met or exceeded our high expectations. The property is very well maintained and the staff are well trained. The pool and beach areas are well managed. As is I suspect the case with all rooms, we had a great view and nice balcony. We used various hotel services -- room service, internet, the fitness facility -- and were more than satisfied with each. The internet did slow down in the evening when demand was high, but that's a small quibble. We ate at two of the hotel restaurants and were pleased with each. Staff were friendly, helpful, and attentive.

The pool gets more business than the beach. We visited in August and the good recliners by the pool were taken (in the sense of being reserved with towels) by about 10 am. Less desirable recliners (those without umbrellas or a short distance from the pool) were always available in our experience. Seating at the beach, on the other hand, could be had at will. Recliners were stored toward the back of the beach, but there was s hotel staff member nearby to move recliners and umbrellas near to the water. I was particularly impressed by the fact that hotel staff were certainly available to bring drinks and food to pool or beach guests, but that they didn't feel the need to check in every half hour or so to see if you wanted to order anything. In this, the Hilton Los Cabos is different from other Mexican beach resorts where we have stayed. The ocean was largely calm and very comfortable for swimming, neither too cold nor too hot.

We had rented a car and this allowed for easy visits to Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo. Each is worth a visit if you have the time and both offer a variety of dining options. The hotel is slightly closer to San Jose del Cabo, but each is accessible in less than 20 minutes. The nearest large grocery is the Mega in San Jose del Cabo. If you have a car, it's definitely worth a stop to pick up groceries and drinks.

All in all, we had a great trip and the Hilton added to this experience. I anticipate that we will return someday and hope that that return will not take the six years between between our last visit and this one.

Room Tip: Rooms facing to the east get morning sun and to the west evening sun. We enjoyed retiring to the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarzana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Beautiful hotel right on the water with all activities available right there. Service was absolutely amazing. You might need a car to go to some places by the marina and sightseeing but some activities come pick you up. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort

Also Known As:
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hilton Los Cabos Beach And Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Hotel
Hilton Los Cabos
Hilton San Jose Del Cabo
Hilton Los Cabos Beach Resort
San Jose Del Cabo Hilton
Hilton Cabo
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort San Jose Del Cabo
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km. 19.5, San Jose del Cabo 23447, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#2 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort offers one of the few swimmable beaches in Los Cabos and a variety of both lively and leisurely activities for guests to enjoy. The hotel was designed to reflect the rich Spanish heritage of Mexico, featuring tiled roofs and a hacienda courtyard featuring a large, elevated, cascading pond exemplifies its relaxed ambience. Guestrooms feature colorful textures, hand-hewn treatments and exquisite furnishings, Italian-marble bathrooms feature rainfall showerheads and separate oversized bathtubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Amex, Venere, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.