We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast issue - service charge or tips?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Transpeninsular Km. 19.5, San Jose del Cabo 23447, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Hotel is Closed
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Vancouver, B.C.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Breakfast issue - service charge or tips?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

The room rates are expensive but we decided to try the Hilton based on its reviews. Now that we’ve returned from our Spring Break trip, I wanted to provide some honest feedback to balance out all the comments on this website.

Although I agree it’s a beautiful facility, room rates are not cheap. On top of this, Hilton charges an additional 10% resort fee on the total room cost.

The first few nights of our stay was in a partial oceanview room. The rate included a "free" breakfast. The coupons we were given for these “free meals” read that 25 pesos per person per meal would be charged to the room. For our family of four, that's roughly $10 per morning meal. We took this service charge to represent tips for the waiters. Considering it's a buffet breakfast and we are up and about getting our own plates of food, this is a fair amount. However, our waiter confronted my husband and asked why we didn't leave him a tip. We explained about the total $10 service charge being charged by Hilton and asked if that's not the tip. He nodded to agree but it was obvious he did not leave happy. After this incident, we were left to wonder if the food service charge is yet another revenue grab for the hotel, and none of it is passed onto the waiters? For a meal which is supposed to be complimentary, it is absurd to charge this service fee and then also expect the customer to tip the waiters on top.

That was not the end of our issue. For the last two nights of our stay, we splurged for a full oceanview room. Again, the rate included a "free" breakfast. However, this time, the meal coupons specified 40 pesos per person per meal. For our family, the service charge has now gone from $10 to $14 per sitting. This boggled my mind as to how the same meal would cost $10 service charge one day, but $14 the next. When I asked front desk about it, the clerk tried to explain that the 25 pesos rate applies for Continental breakfast only and the 40 pesos rate is for Full Buffet. This is absolutely not true. We were at the restaurant every morning and offered the same buffet breakfast - full range of items without limitation. My guess is that the service charge is set based on the cost of our room; so when we upgraded to the full oceanview accommodation, the service charge increased accordingly. This was yet another disappointment to what was otherwise a relaxing family vacation.

Aside from the above, we enjoyed our stay in Los Cabos. We really appreciated Pablos' help with meal and tour advice, and all the workers at poolside were fantastic as well.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabrielaBarron, General Manager at Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Thank you for reviewing the Hilton Los Cabos. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Pablo and our poolside team will appreciate your comments. I sincerely apologize for any confusion or frustration you felt regarding our service fees. Your assumption is correct that our service fees go directly to the employees and may be considered as tips. I’m sorry that your server confronted you about leaving an additional tip. That is not our policy. Guests should never feel pressured to offer an additional tip.

Our front desk clerk was correct. The service fee is based on the type of breakfast, not the type of room. Based on your comments, it sounds like you received the full buffet breakfast, even though your rate included the continental breakfast the first part of your stay. It should have been made clear at the time that you were upgraded at no additional charge. I apologize for the confusion. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts on the Hilton Los Cabos. I hope I have helped to answer your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,953
    406
    91
    38
    25
See reviews for
621
1,211
34
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Here is a hotel that should be the model for the rest worldwide. You will not find a better managed facility with a staff that are dedicated to their guests. The moment we arrived until the moment we left it was amazing. The rooms, food, pool, beach are beautiful. Management, Staff are so friendly and helpful. We are retired and well seasoned travellers and this was one of the best vacations we've ever experienced. We can't wait to return.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabrielaBarron, General Manager at Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Thank you so much for sharing your experience of the Hilton Los Cabos. It’s always a pleasure to learn we’ve impressed such experienced travelers, the kind who have seen and done it all. I’m glad you found every element of your stay beyond satisfactory. I know you can’t wait to return, so I do hope we see you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Just got back from 8 days at one of the most beautiful resorts. All was perfect including watching the hump back whales leaping from the sea of cortez while enjoying the infinity pool overlooking the beach . Service was great, rooms devine, food and drink a little pricey , but delicious. Although it is true you need to get up early to get the best lounge chairs,,, there are plenty of chairs for everyone.
So much to do in Los cabos. We had the best vacation ever thanks to HIlton Los Cabos, and their friendly and excellent staff.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabrielaBarron, General Manager at Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Thank you for your comments and for choosing the Hilton Los Cabos for your eight day vacation. Hearing that your trip was the “best vacation ever” is a thrill for myself and our team. They will be excited to see your review. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Beautiful resort hotel and beautiful beach. Food and service is just excellent, and everyone is very friendly. Service is excellent. We stay here and ate every meals and enjoy our view. Beach front of the hotel was beautiful and clean, water was cool and crisp and yes you can swim front of the hotel.

One things, it's too popular with everyone, we had difficult time finding chair by the pool. Mostly due to wedding and conference. And wall is too thin for my taste, such that I could hear people above, and next to our room every morning around 7:00 AM.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabrielaBarron, General Manager at Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with the TripAdvisor community. I’m very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Los Cabos and also that you found time to swim in the ocean. We are located on one of the only swim-safe beaches in Los Cabos, so we always encourage our guests to take the opportunity to experience the Sea of Cortés. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, MN
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Beautiful resort hotel. Very up-to-date property with outstanding service. Gorgeous setting, massive beach. Two amazing infinity pools. Whales came by and gave us a show clearly visible from the pool deck without binoculars each day we were there. Rooms and bathrooms were beautiful, up-to-date, and kept extremely clean. Food was very good. The breakfast buffet was amongst the most lavish I've ever seen. Lunch and dinner were well above average although short of gourmet status. The bar staff isn't well versed with complex drink orders. Stick to the usual gin and tonic, etc., and you're fine. The hotel had a slightly busy feeling although it wasn't out of control. Getting the perfect location at the pool was a bit of a challenge but it wasn't like it was a problem. This place isn't cheap but you get every dollar in value.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabrielaBarron, General Manager at Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Thank you for your review of the Hilton Los Cabos. I’m delighted that you found your stay with us faultless, and that you enjoyed the rooms and breakfast buffet in particular. Sounds like it was perfect timing, too, with the whale sightings every day. Thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

We could not have asked for more during our stay at the Hilton Resort in Cabo. The service was better than any Five Star hotel. The rooms were beautiful and every staff member we came in contact with were polite and more than helpful.

I am a vegan so they made sure they had tofu at the hotel during our stay. They also prepared the most amazing vegan meals for me. We never left the hotel during our stay and could not ask for a better experience.

We are looking forward to our next vacation there!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabrielaBarron, General Manager at Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Thank you for reviewing your experience of the Hilton Los Cabos. I’m glad you enjoyed the meals our chef was able to create for you. Our culinary team is happy to meet the dietary requirements of our guests. Thank you again for your review. We eagerly anticipate your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

My wife and I experienced a week of relaxing vacation while attending a wedding in Cabo. The Hilton "owns" and differentiates itself with the Infinity Pool. There is an Amazing view from the pool of the Beach and Ocean. Excellent service and equipment at all areas of the pool. Excellent food; swim up sushi bar at the secondary pool was very cool.
Perfect vacation for a romantic couple or for a group of friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabrielaBarron, General Manager at Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Thank you for your review. The best thing about Mexico weddings at Hilton Los Cabos is that even though it’s the bride’s special day, everybody gets to have an unforgettable vacation. We appreciate your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km. 19.5, San Jose del Cabo 23447, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#2 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#3 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover award-winning hospitality at Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort-only 25 minutes from San Jose del Cabo International Airport (SJD). Our Cabo San Lucas resort is located on a tranquil swimming-allowed inlet bay between the towns of Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo, and provides the action of the city and a soothing escape from the hustle of daily life. Relax in the sun beside our signature infinity pool, where our Pool Concierge attends to your every need, whether it's a fresh towel or a tasty fruit pop to help you cool down. With an excellent Kids Program, there are specially designed activities for guests aged 4-12. Choose from a wealth of dining options at this Los Cabos resort's four restaurants. Indulge in innovative massage treatments at Spa Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Cabos Beach And Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hilton San Jose Del Cabo
Hilton Los Cabos Beach Resort
San Jose Del Cabo Hilton
Hilton Cabo
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.