We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Valentina Restaurant

Villa Valentina Restaurant
Villa Valentina | Carretera Transpeninsular Km 31.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
6241426612
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Baja Regional Cusine
Allamuchy, New Jersey
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This restaurant is not typical. It's hard to explain because the setting is an artsy, Mexican square with a bar, wine room, artisan cubbies and a restaurant. The food was very good but not great. It's worth a trip but getting to the restaurant to park is a little tricky. It's best to circle around the Mega store and pull up in front of the restaurant.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    23
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Villa Valentina is a truly amazing place where you feel like in a movie set or on a theatre stage. There´s Tanya Talamante´s art gallery, there´s a beautiful gift shop, a bar and a restaurant that serves hamburguesa de camaron: DELICIOUS!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Sublime food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Villa Valentina is a very interesting place of which the restaurant is one part. The other businesses clustered around the courtyard and along the entry hall provide a lot of details to the dining space, but they don't intrude on the dining.

The staff here was extremely accommodating, knowledgable about the dishes, and justifiably proud of what the chef was going for...a sort of Latin fusion. While our young son slept after his pasta, heather and I shared several appetizers, an arugula salad and each had a main.

As appetizers we had short rib tostadas which were intensely flavored from the long slow braising. For me the appetizer winner ( if there has to be one?) was the duck confit huaraches. The duck on a corn masa 'shoe' was tipped with a wonderful mole and plated with some crema. Crispy duck skin pieces added just enough crunch.

I ordered Mofongo fish as my main course, which uses elements from Peruvian and Dominican dishes. The hearty whitefish ( dorado or bonito?) was crusted with corn and plantain chip pieces. The fish rested on a bed of perfectly stewed green lentils. This was plated with a purée of stewed plantain and prosciutto - wonderfully sweet, particularly when paired with a medium spicy salsa which could have been Peruvian aji. This was the sublime part of the meal....but truth be told it was all great.

Heather had wine while my son and I had decadent raspberry/coconut smoothies.

No room for dessert, which was a short list as it turned out. We left completely satisfied.

The restaurant is sort of out of the way behind the Mega store with the entrance facing the highway. We walked from the Grand Mayan in 20 minutes and cabbed back. We will definitely return and highly recommend it!

High end meal for 2 1/2 with two smoothies, wine and two San Pellegrinos - $96 tax included.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
2 reviews
“Stunning Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The area around the Restaurant is decorated like a mexican mediterranean Villa, you'll loose yourself in all the details!!The food is amazing and the courtyard is surrounded by a Wine Shop (We had nice glass of wine there and Wine Tasting), Cupcake Shop (We bought the Carrot Cake Cupcake, delicious!), Art Gallery (Tanya thee owner was giving day classes to a group of tourists) and a Mexican Home Accesories Store.(I bought some wonderful plates. Overall, a very very nice way to spend the morning sipping coffee and in the afternoon we came to have a drink and enjoy ourselves for a while. Thanks Villa Valentina!! We loved your place!!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I'm in love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My husband and I made a happy discovery when we wandered into Villa Valentina. This place is a feast for the eyes. It is an home decor store as well as art gallery, as well as restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
We met Tanya, resident artist and gallery owner. After some conversation she told us all about their art classes they offer. They have wine and art nights and even kids classes. We signed up and had one of the best family days ever. I thought I was going to have to drag my five year old out after three hours! Our teacher extraordinaire, Jasmun was fantastic and we all learned so so much. Of course it is hard NOT to be inspired in such an atmosphere.
We followed art class with a lovely dinner, also great service.
Some reviews are hard to write because I run out of superlatives, this is one of them. Do yourself a favor and stop by this gem. You will be inspired and leave happy. Guaranteed!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Valentina Restaurant also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Villa Valentina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Valentina Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.