We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 amazing experiences at Flora's!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flora's Field Kitchen

Flora's Field Kitchen
Las Animas Bajas | Las Animas Bajas, San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
+52 1 (624) 355-4564
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Floras Field kitchen is about handmade food using our farm fresh ingredients. Our goal is to create a healthy family meal with a sense of place. Our day begins at four in the morning when Jose the baker arrives to fire the wood oven. Working with sourdough cultures and pre ferments he makes loaves of Pain L'ancienne baguette, ciabatta, sourdough, focaccia, whole wheat and herb breads. Chefs, cooks, stewards, the butcher and farm hands begin arriving after first light. Throughout the morning produce comes in to be washed and prepped while the line gets fired up to prepare the first meals- through dinner there is harvesting going hand in hand with cooking. All meats served at Floras Field Kitchen come from our nearby 150-acre ranch where animals are humanely raised on diets that do not include hormones or antibiotics. In the evening, and for Sunday brunches, the wood-burning oven becomes Mamas pizzeria. We make Neapolitan style pizza with fresh mozzarella and dough that is built over time and handled lightly.
South Orange, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“2 amazing experiences at Flora's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband & I just came back from our first trip to Cabo & Flora's was a must visit for us, after seeing all the fabulous reviews. We drove ourselves there and got completely lost (if you drive yourself, do not follow Google maps!)... We called Flora's hoping for directions and Erica the event manager stayed on the phone with us until we found our way. We had an amazing experience. From the homemade drinks served in mason jars, to the live music (amazing band on Tuesday & Saturday nights), to the grounds and fire pits... we fell in love with Flora's before we even had the food, which was delicious from start to finish. Our awesome waiter Rigo helped us choose some great wine, and the whole experience was so wonderful, we repeated our Saturday night visit 3 days later on Tuesday. We already can't wait to go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    592
    124
    45
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Headed to Floras for breakfast with a friend who was visiting. Was a little diappointed that they only offered a buffet, so our choices were limited. The food was great, the coffee wonderful and the atmosphere charming. Service was a little lax and we had to ask for more coffee, twice, as well as milk. Great baked goods and we enjoyed our visit. It was pricey, though, for a breakfast for two women who are lighter eaters and only split a couple of the items.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern california
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great place, OK food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Went to Flora's after hearing good things through the grapevine and maybe our expectations were too high. It's a great spot, I wish I'd seen it in the daytime and during a more active growing season. There are outdoor gardens, a pond, art. It's really cool with a strong family vibe. The have a bunch of dogs, one of them was wandering around which was no problem, she was perfectly behaved and added to the character of the place. The restaurant itself is a great reworking of an old building, seems like it could be hot during some times of year but was great when we were there. Our meal was just ok. The menu is limited and the choices were not quite what we liked in the first place so that could be a factor as well. Many pork dishes and seasonal fare. We were there in early December so winter vegetables were featured, one very interesting choice was the beet margarita which was surprisingly good! Tried the carrot margarita too and didn't like it as much. The salads were very tasty and in season also. We would come back to Flora's as the overall experience is worth the trip and I would like to try it in a different season.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere ~”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is our 5th time at Flora Farms -We went Christmas week and the Atmosphere is GREAT - They had a Big Screen Movie up in the Field and it was playing " It's a Wonderful Life" - They had Live Music (always great) and we had alot of fun - I'm giving 4 stars instead of 5 because they didn't have my favorite Spaghetti & Meatballs like usual (we spent $60 on the cab ride alone ..$25 + tip each way) so was a little bummed but the place is Beautiful and SO unique you have to try it ~

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Another wonderful dinner at Flora's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Took my daughter to my favourite restaurant and now she knows what I am always talking about! We had a fabulous dinner of beautiful salad and handcrafted pasta...truly a conisseur of fine food would appreciate. The warmth and greetings of familiar staff and mama the house dog whom we all love and especially lovely Vanessa made our evening a memorable experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flora's Field Kitchen also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Flora's Field Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flora's Field Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.