We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Formulaic American Mexican” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mi Casa Restaurant San Jose del Cabo

Mi Casa Restaurant San Jose del Cabo
Obregon 19, Art District, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
(624) 146-92-63
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $700
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: One look around Mi Casa and you can see they take obvious pride in their work. Great restaurants should always be about more than just the food they serve. Great restaurants become great because they entice all the senses, not just the sense of taste. Walking through the front door of Mi Casa you get the feeling that you're in for something special.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Formulaic American Mexican”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had heard that Mi Casa was a “must eat” establishment in the small town of San Jose del Cabo. We made reservations and were happily greeted and seated in the outdoor courtyard. The patio is lovely with lots of tropical plants and water features. What was disappointing was the food. It was your typical rice and beans served with everything. The steak was tough and dry and other entrees were not memorable. Even the margaritas were watered down. We were really disappointed. Mariachi wandered table to table but because we weren’t enjoying the food, we waved them on. This is a touristy type restaurant similar to American Mexican chains. It is was also the most expensive and not worth it. With so many other fabulous eateries in San Jose del Cabo, choose something else. We recommend Don Sanchez and Floras Kitchen Farm for authentic and delicious.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    68
    27
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We didn't like the food. Sorry.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We ordered a vegetarian dish and it was unfortunately bland and the vegetables were not boiled/cooked properly so they were hard.

Margarita was good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Mi Casa is a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Mi Casa has been one of our favorite dining spots since we have been coming to Cabo. The seafood is always fresh and the drinks cold. The carne asada was amazing this trip as was the catch of the day mojillo style. The only down side to Mi Casa is the amount of vendors they allow into the restaurant (balloon guy, bird fortune..etc). The band they had tonight was very good! The wait staff was attentive and quick with filling drink orders.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Terrific evening!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our group of 12 dropped in for dinner without a reservation. No problems - we were seated right away in Mi Casa's beautiful courtyard lit with lanterns hanging from trees and beautiful landscaping. The service was great and the food delicious! I had the Camarones al Aguardiente (shrimp dish) and was very happy with it. My BF had the La Carne Asada a la Tampiqueña and it was equally as good. Yes, the mariachi guys come around to the table, but it's all in fun - so just relax, enjoy and have some fun with it. I would definitely go back!!! The atmosphere in the courtyard is both charming and welcoming - whether dinner for 2 or good times with a group!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

The setting is quaint and the service is good. The food however was average at best. Tried the seafood platter and couldn't finish it. I would recommend other resteraunts in the area.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Casa Restaurant San Jose del Cabo also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Mi Casa Restaurant San Jose del Cabo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mi Casa Restaurant San Jose del Cabo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.