We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best On the Beach! Small, intimate, boutique hotel next to the surfing beach.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Costa Azul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Costa Azul to your Saves list
Casa Costa Azul
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km. 28.5 Carretera Transpeninsular, San Jose del Cabo 23406, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Lillian, Alabama
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Best On the Beach! Small, intimate, boutique hotel next to the surfing beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Thank you to all of the reviewers for recommending this lovely hotel. My husband and I just returned from a 5 night stay and it was wonderful! We were looking for a small hotel, on the beach, with great views, away from the larger all inclusive resorts. This hotel is perfectly located next to the surfer's beach. You can sit for hours on your balcony watching the surfers from dawn until night, as well as seeing the perfect sun and moon rise. All of the rooms have a balcony and a view, but if you don't mind walking stairs, get the top floor in the front. Great exercise if you plan on eating all of the great Mexican cuisine around town. The rate includes breakfast, which is made to order, whatever you want. Guillermo, the chef, will take your requests and make it happen. The owner. Jorge, his son and his staff, made sure we had everything we needed. Thank you to Hector and everyone for taking care of us. We recommend taking advantage of Guillermo's special private dinner on the beach. You won't have to drive anywhere and you will have the best waterfront dining in San Jose Del Cabo! It was a memorable experience on the beach, watching the colors of sunset, with a great meal and Guillermo and sons taking care of us!

Room Tip: If you don't' mind stairs, get the top floor, all rooms have a balcony, but the front looks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    8
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
45
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
soapboxhero
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed seven nights at Casa Costa Azul. All I can say is WOW! Quiet alternative to resorts. A great family owned restaurant. Jorge is hands on as the owner and is always available to help out. Hector...the day attendant was also a true delight. Clean, beautiful rooms right on the beach. And the breakfasts served by Guillermo are really incredible. We will be back! Thanks guys. You really are the best.

Room Tip: Beach side rooms are beautiful. Wake up staring at the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My husband and I spent a week at Casa Costa Azul in February for our wedding. We had eight relatives who also stayed at the hotel and everyone loved it. It is a place to truly enjoy the gorgeous Sea of Cortez and beach. The rooms are spotless with wonderful re-claimed wood furniture and Mexican-tiled bathrooms. We stayed in a two-bedroom one night and it was very nice but the oceanfront king bed rooms are incredible. Lots of room and amazing views. Breakfast is a part of your stay every morning and you can't beat it. The food is incredible and the service is too. The chef will also make you dinner if you request it in the afternoon, including dinner on the beach. Both the breakfasts and the dinners were the best food we had while in San Jose. It is a short distance from the center of San Jose but taking a cab or bus is very easy to do, as well as renting a car. I would very much recommend Casa Costa for people who are looking for a peaceful place with great service. It is not for people who want a giant resort experience. We stayed at the Ziva Hyatt for one night and I thought it was terrible because it could've been anywhere meaning no Mexican feel or personal touch.

Room Tip: Room 43 - absolutely gorgeous views and so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

You don't get any closer to the ocean than this. Great views, extremely clean, nice owners, and excellent food. This is for the person looking for a lower key, personal experience. Would surely recommend to others.

Room Tip: Book a king suite on the end of the hotel for best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Peaceful, beautifully decorated boutique hotel on the best part of the San Jose de Cabo beach. The view of the beach from our balcony was almost too much for these visitors from the Midwest after months of snow. Cooked to order breakfast is included daily. Lunch, dinner and drinks available on site should one choose to spend every day by the pool and the beach. Room fridge is stocked with beer, water and juice for a reasonable cost. Convenient to to Cabo San Jose by bus or cab or the owner will help you rent a car if you want. Surfboard instruction and rental within walking distance. For any questions email the owner directly at info@hotelcasacostazulcabo.com

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro, Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Great boutique hotel right of the beach, so much nicer than the mega all-inclusive resorts that define the area. Perfect location and friendly service - Jorge Sandoval and his crew were all knowledgeable and most helpful. Excellent views from the balcony, especially in the large king size rooms directly facing the beach. Try dining on the beach in front of the hotel, it is a memorable experience.
You may want to think twice about booking though if traffic noise troubles you: the hotel sits in between the beach and a busy four lane highway. The noise can be troublesome at times, when the wind blows from the wrong direction. Lower floors and ocean front rooms are noticeably quieter (Jorge immediately and kindly moved us down two floors when we brought up the issue).
Note that the traffic issue should improve significantly when when the new inland highway from San Jose to Cabo San Luca opens up next year: most of the traffic should be diverted away from the coastal road and there is talk of building a promenade for walking and biking.

Room Tip: Well worth spending extra for the ocean facing rooms. Ask for lower floors if you're sensitive t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This small hotel is in a great location - right on the beach for great swimming. The breakfasts were excellent. The view of the beach from our balcony was very good. The rooms were large and very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There was free parking for our rental car. The hotel is very quiet and peaceful. When we return to the Cabo area, we will stay at Casa Costa Azul Hotel again.
Jim and Patricia

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Costa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Costa Azul

Address: Km. 28.5 Carretera Transpeninsular, San Jose del Cabo 23406, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Costa Azul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Costa Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Costa Azul Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Costa Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.