We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic lodging, dining, and beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Costa Azul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Costa Azul to your Saves list
Casa Costa Azul
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km. 28.5 Carretera Transpeninsular, San Jose del Cabo 23406, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic lodging, dining, and beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We spent 5 nights at Casa Costa Azul this month to celebrate our anniversary, and although we had high expectations based on others' reviews of this hotel, we were still blown away. Each aspect of the hotel has been masterfully designed and crafted by Jorge and his family. Swimming in the saline pool felt great (Jorge mentioned that in super hot weather he has to add some chlorine, but during our visit with temperatures in the 90s it was saline only). This was our first visit to the Cabo area, and we wondered whether it would really be possible to enjoy a quiet, romantic getaway in such a tourist-oriented area. We were delighted by the comforts, peacefulness, and privacy this hotel offered. Each part of the hotel and grounds is beautifully designed, decorated, and maintained. We saw more birds enjoying the gardens and fountain on this small hotel property than anywhere else we visited in the Cabo area. We enjoyed sitting on the patio/pool deck listening to the sounds of surf and palm fronds rustling in the breeze rather than tinny music through loudspeakers (common at many hotels in the area). We enjoyed lying on the beach at night stargazing, and actually being able to see most of the southern constellations with little light pollution.

We also enjoyed delicious breakfasts made to order each morning by the amazingly talented chef Fernando, and served with great congeniality by Angel... even delivered to our balcony by special request one morning. Fernando designed delicious dishes around our food allergies, inspiring us to try to make some of the same things back at home. And for our special anniversary dinner, Angel set an artful table on the beach, surrounded by tiki lamps and luminaries in the sand, with a centerpiece of shells and blossoms illuminated by tea lights. Each course was beautifully prepared and exceptionally flavorful. We made a reservation for dinner in the restaurant another night, and that was delicious too. We loved every aspect of our stay and hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Views from the Ocean King Deluxe rooms are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    13
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
58
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This special boutique hotel is very casual and relaxing. The hotel gardens are beautiful and the
ambience of the hotel is very nice. Our stay was made special by the kindness of the owners and staff. Jorge and Christina truly care about your stay being memorable with them and the restaurant staff Guillermo, Angel and Fernando were wonderful. The terrace restaurant is open air and the breakfasts are delicious (especially the omelets). The candlelight dinner on the beach is a must! We had a breathtaking view from our room (#33) which was directly facing the ocean. I have stayed at other properties in Los Cabos and this is the hotel that I will return to the next time I'm in Cabo!

Room Tip: Spend the additional $$ and reserve a room facing the ocean, you'll be happy you did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Where do I even start? We loved the people, the room, the service, the view...overall this was the perfect place for us to stay in Cabo. I am very averse to the all inclusive/resort experience and would much rather spend my money and time at smaller, boutique or family-run B&Bs or hotels and initially was concerned that we would not be able to find anything like this in the Cabo area. The bed was incredibly comfortable, the furnishings were simple but truly gorgeous works of craftsmanship, and we loved our view from our ocean-facing king room. We were able to sleep to the sound of the waves crashing on the shore & wake to sunrise over the water every morning - it was heavenly. Jorge and the rest of the staff (most of whom are family) were helpful when asked but otherwise really allow the guests to have whatever kind of experience they would like. The on-property restaurant provided us with delicious, amazing breakfasts every morning. We looked forward to seeing Guilermo the restaurant proprietor, Fernando the cook, and Angel the waiter every day. Take them up on the offer to have a candlelit dinner served on the beach- it was delicious and absolutely memorable. The price to stay as Casa Costa Azul is excellent compared to the big resorts up and down the road - go before this place is 'discovered' by the masses! The bus stops right outside the hotel and the ride to both Cabo and San Jose del Cabo is cheap, fast, and easy - we only sprang for cabs when coming home later at night. Great care is taken to maintain the property, garden, pool deck, and rooms, all of which are gorgeous are kept impeccably clean. The beachfront sand is literally raked perfectly each morning after sunrise. In our room the Wifi was a bit spotty but we really didn't care- we were on vacation after all and this felt like a true escape from the real world....

Room Tip: Spring for the ocean front room if you can, the view was magnificent, as was falling asleep to the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Very nice place. On costa azul with other properties around, so not isolated. Family run and well kept. Nice gardens and decorations. Rooms are also nice, and views from end rooms are excellent - other rooms have oblique view. No elevator so upper floors do some stair climbing. Restaurants and bars are not adjacent, so need to plan to travel for that (had a rental car, so was not an issue). There is a restaurant on premises and breakfast included. They will do a dinner on the beach which is very nice. I like this type of destination much more than big resorts.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the rooms at the end of each floor of the building for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We chose Casa Costa Azul for a one night stay before a flight. It's location along the strip made the airport a short ride in the morning. The hotel was very quiet, very well maintained and overall quite nice. Our ground floor room was a bit dark, but some may like this for sleeping. The bathrooms are pretty but small. The pool is also small, but very modern and stark. It could use some plants and more comfortable furniture. You are sitting on a platform jutting right out to the beach. It makes for lovely views of the ocean and sunrise, but may feel rather exposed to some people. The hotel grounds were nicely landscaped and the beach was raked and smoothed each day. The staff was friendly and helpful. If you are looking for clean, well kept and very quiet, Casa Azul is everything so much of Cabo isn't!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

This new 15 room boutique hotel was built lovingly over a period of 11 years by the owner and his family, and their care and pride shows in every detail. The location on a semi-deserted beach is superb. The rooms are furnished with a combination of antiques and pieces made for the hotel. Although the hotel has no dining room a continental breakfast is set up in the reception area, and for a private, romantic dinner the hotel will set up a candlelit table on the beach and bring in a cook and waiter. Heaven on a beach.

Room Tip: For incredible views book a room that faces directly on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We were looking for a smaller hotel, away from the activity of Cabo San Lucas, and are so pleased to have found Casa Costa Azul on Trip Advisor. It's truly a gem. Situated right on a beautiful stretch of beach outside San Jose del Cabo, we learned while there, that the hotel is the product of many years of planning and work on the part of the husband and wife who own and run it. There's very much a family feel among the staff and the attention to detail and care that they have put in is apparent all around. Nothing feels stuffy or overdone, rather, the décor is tasteful, thoughtful, and authentic...Mexican artisanal tile work, rustic wooden furniture in the rooms, and a lush, tropical courtyard all add to the ambiance...There is a nice patio and small pool that faces the ocean, but we preferred to spend out time, just yards away, on the beach.

The intimate five or six table was the perfect place to eat breakfast, lunch or dinner, though we mostly just ate breakfast there, because one of the best restaurants in Cabo (Deckman’s, which came recommended by the hotel owners) is literally, across the street. But that's for another review...

The owners and staff at Casa Costa Azul were very polite, helpful and friendly, but also unobtrusive. They arranged our airport transportation (approx. twenty minute taxi ride), recommended restaurants and were available for questions when we had them.

If you are sensitive to noise or a light sleeper, I recommend requesting an ocean facing room on the top floor, as there is some road noise on the other side of the hotel (which the owner told us prior to making our reservation) and we could hear the people above us when they came home from a late night. Other than those small things, our time at Casa Costa Azul was enchanted--and felt too short!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Costa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Costa Azul

Address: Km. 28.5 Carretera Transpeninsular, San Jose del Cabo 23406, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Costa Azul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Costa Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Costa Azul Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Costa Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.