We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buzzards Bar & Grill

Buzzards Bar & Grill
Laguna Hills, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
011-521-113-6368
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: We are located in Laguna Hills just 10 minutes outside of Puerto Los Cabos.
findlay, ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“fun find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were staying in a house in the neighborhood nearby, and the owners had recommended Buzzards. So, we went. Great decision. Very friendly, and fun, chatting with other patrons....sitting under a palapa roof, on the sand. Our whole group decided that the coconut shrimp was the best any of us had EVER had....anywhere! The poblano peppers were very good, and the flan was heavenly. fun, friendly, casual, and very tasty. The only warning i would give is for the road, coming from town. STAY IN THE MIDDLE! chunks washed away on the sides, which could be hard to see at night. I drove my group crazy, saying "stay in the middle!!" ...all week....LOL.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    20
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Paz, Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Off the Beaten Path but Worth the Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

If you're looking for a unique experience during your visit to San Jose - and if you have transportation - you won't want to miss Buzzards - where "old buzzards rule!"

My wife and I had been to Buzzards several years ago but recently friends visiting Los Cabos from the Chicago area wanted to see the "countryside" so we drove them out to Buzzards, on the shores of the Sea of Cortez. The Bar & Grill is definitely out of the way, but here's some simplified instructions to help you find it: (a) follow the San Jose del Cabo "hotel zone road" (aka Paseo Malecón San Jose) NE until you come to a glorieta (traffic circle) with a sign pointing to the left that say "Puerto Los Cabos, (b) take that left and continue about 0.7 miles (1.2 km) until you see a turn to the right that takes you over a bridge. (c) Continue following the signs to Puerto Los Cabos, but pass the entrance to the marina and start watching for signs to Buzzards. (d) There's one fork in the road just past the cement plant - bear left there and continue on, even though by now you will be sure you are lost! When the road reaches a "T" where you can see the Sea of Cortez, Buzzards will be on your immediate right. If you have GPS in your car, set it for Lat. 23.073098, Long. -109.628674.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hard to find so worth the drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This little hidden gem was great. The staff and owner so friendly gave us lots of information. Fun T-Shirts and hats to purchase. The drinks good bloody Mary was the real thing no mix made from scratch with real seasonings and spices. Beer cold and food great! Burgers Fries Buzzard toes fish tacos guacamole chips salsa even the salad was great. We had a large group so was bale to try many items on the menu. I would for sure come back here!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Buzzards has been one of our families favorite places to visit for the past 10 years! The food is outstanding! The coconut shrimp and the onion rings are the best I have ever had! They cook our freshly caught fish to perfection, the beers are cold and we just love the atmosphere! Paul Meredith (the owner) is a great guy who will sit and chat with us each and every time we go. He definitely makes us feel welcome and we look forward to visiting him each time we are in town. We love the laid back Mexico feel his place has and highly recommend Buzzards to both locals and tourists.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Out of the way but yummy coconut shrimp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for take-out dinner to take back to our villa but this place was recommended for their taco salads and coconut shrimp. If you're down in the area of San Jose del Cabo, near the Puerto Los Cabos.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buzzards Bar & Grill also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Buzzards Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buzzards Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.