We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, organic and innovative... but just missing the final touch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DECKMAN'S San Jose - CLOSED

DECKMAN'S San Jose
Km 29 Highway 1 Costa Azul | Costa Azul, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
6241726269
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $100
Cuisines: Tapas, Contemporary, Eclectic, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: KM 29 Costa Azul
Description: DECKMAN'S San Jose offers a daily changing menu, progressive 100% Mexican wine list, live jazz and great bar! Award winning Chef-Owner Drew Deckman greets you nightly with a culinary celebration of local and Baja California Ingredients. Live Music on a regular basis! Mexican Craft Beers and ample outdoor seating.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fresh, organic and innovative... but just missing the final touch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This little known restaurant, near San Jose, is a great option to try a fresh, organic and imaginative menu. The menu changes all the time depending on the local ingredients, this is the one thing I love the most about little organic restaurants.
We tried the five course meal. A fresh watermelon with goat cheese to start, followed by an extraordinary plate of oysters. The oysters had some yuzu and cucumber which made them fresh but missing some acidity, in my personal opinion. Next course a white fish capaccio with hot avocado and vinegar sauce. Then a very well cooked quail with baby beets and cous cous. Then a rib eye with an ox tail sauce and a vanilla hint. Finally, an apple and fennel with a cheese gelato and almond crumble.
The place is nice and music is well selected. A little bit hot in the terrace.
Ask for the specific date as the restaurant closes some time during summer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    144
    27
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Same Great entrees...three Different Portion Sizes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a great concept! My wife and I love to go out to a really romantic restaurant and share each others meal choice. Drew Deckman has a better idea. Small sized entrees just like the full "dinner" portions but at a lesser price. Now we can share 4-5 different items from the regular menu...Because the menu changes almost daily we can return several times and never tire of the same thing. Besides...with the extensive wine by the glass options, is a great way to create your own "wine pairing" experience.

This is a "Must" dinning experience while in San Jose del Cabo.

If your heading north to Mexico's "Wine Country" try Drew's summer place there as well. Get the particulars while enjoying dinner in Cabo.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My girlfriend came back from a vacation, when i picked her from the airport she was tired and hungry after long flights. As i heard very good comments on Deckmans we decided to eat there before going back to Cabo San Lucas.

From the moment you enter the restaurant and start to walk up the stairs the place is very nicely decorated. I really liked the entrance with all the plants around, so i had a good feeling from the beginning. The music is perfect for that restaurant and just adds to the atmosphere and creates perfect ambience. It was a hot day in Cabo, but the restaurant had great breeze to cool off. Some places at the restaurant have nice views of the sea, though the only thing i was a bit annoyed was the noise from the high way from time to time and that i couldn't clearly see the see as they are few buildings in the way, but except from that the location is great.

My girlfriend ordered the chicken with risotto and asparagus, the chicken was well prepared. The risotto amount was generous and absolutely tasty; we both loved it (i had to steal some from her).
For me the whole menu looked interesting so i ordered the 5 course tasting menu, what a great choice. All of the dishes were nicely presented. The ingredients were fresh (mostly local ingredients). Each dish was different and interesting, and most important they were all good. The Gazpacho was very refreshing. The oysters were supper fresh and seems like they just came out of the sea. The quail was tender and came with delicious cauliflower puree. The steak with squash and zucchini, the stake came medium well and it was exactly the way it should have been! For desert they gave an ice cream with caramelized apples, the ice cream was light, refreshing and tasty. The only thing that wasn't exactly for my taste was the caramelized apples, I'm not a big fan of deserts that comes with liquor even though it is very popular, but this is my personal taste.

The service was really great. They were all very courteous and attentive but not annoying. The timing was very good.

The restaurant have a nice selection of local artesian boutique beers, i had a dark beer that was full with body but not too heavy. They also have a nice wine list but this time we didn't tried any.

The prices are on the high side, but this is not the usual Mexican restaurant. This restaurant is different and the food is definitely worth the price.

My girlfriend came a bit sick and tired from the flights, the waiters saw it and offered her some herbal teas along the meal. At the end of the dinner she felt much better (still a bit sick) but the attention from the staff and the good food definitely helped a bit.

Over all highly recommended for high quality dinner with local ingrediants.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Drew is amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We went to Deckman's over the holiday with family. The staff are friendly and attentive, and the food is stellar!

They had live music that night - just a guitar player so nothing to intrusive! The setting is lovely, and Drew came out of the kitchen and personally thanked us for dining with them!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

It can be difficult finding a great restaurant while on vacation. Deckman's is probably one of the best findings of a restaurant in which the Chef, and staff truly love food and love to cook. The selections are ever changing, and the combination of ingredients are well thought out. This is a must stop while in the area or worth the trip from afar. Thanks Drew. I look forward to many more wonderful meals.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DECKMAN'S San Jose also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DECKMAN'S San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.