We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and creative tapas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DECKMAN'S San Jose - CLOSED

DECKMAN'S San Jose
Km 29 Highway 1 Costa Azul | Costa Azul, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
6241726269
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $100
Cuisines: Tapas, Contemporary, Eclectic, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: KM 29 Costa Azul
Description: DECKMAN'S San Jose offers a daily changing menu, progressive 100% Mexican wine list, live jazz and great bar! Award winning Chef-Owner Drew Deckman greets you nightly with a culinary celebration of local and Baja California Ingredients. Live Music on a regular basis! Mexican Craft Beers and ample outdoor seating.
Redding,CA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Good and creative tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I shared several tapas selections, including scallops and octopus. Our server was very knowledgeable about what to order and how much.
We had the chocolate dessert combo-delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    27
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Okay, but really expensive.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Food was good, but really expensive. I've heard Deckman isn't all that nice to the locals. We did a tasting menu, and I am a vegetarian so there were limited options.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Most amazing dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Amazing dinner! A fantastic Mexican dining experience not to be missed. Forget the menu, have Deckman and his crew bring out whatever the Chef likes. We had 7 courses with a shot of Mezcal to top it off. I took pictures of each course. I can't stop talking about what a great experience it was.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Modern Food in San Jose del Cabo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Had dinner at Deckman's last week and it was perhaps the 4th or 5th time we've eaten there. Drew Deckman's food just keeps getting better and better, and his inventiveness has redefined modern food in southern Baja. No wonder he's been asked to be a judge on Top Chef Mexico! Great atmosphere at the restaurant, and the service was flawless.

He has a great bar, and hand-picks most all of the spirits - especially the mescals (we've had a tasting there; he'll pour you a flight and explain the subtle differences between each one). He's also now brewing his own craft beer, which is great.

Deckman's is a "Don't Miss" in San Jose del Cabo!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Deckman's is a real treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a business trip to Cabo. We go there quite often and never miss an opportunity to eat at Deckman's in San Jose del Cabo! Chef Drew Deckman, a creative artist when it comes to conceptualizing and realizing his ever changing menu, never disappoints!. Using only the freshest local ingredients his food is exciting and delicious. You can choose to eat either a la carte from the blackboard menu or put yourself in Deckman's capable hands, which is always a fun way to go. The atmosphere is causal and relaxed. The full bar has anythng you feel like drinking. and the wine list, which focuses on the wonderful wines produced in Mexico's Valle de Guadalupe, is an eye and brain opener! Deckman knows what he's doing. He's cooking some of the most original food in Sothern Baja. Don't miss dinner at Deckman's!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DECKMAN'S San Jose also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DECKMAN'S San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.