We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DECKMAN'S San Jose - CLOSED

DECKMAN'S San Jose
Km 29 Highway 1 Costa Azul | Costa Azul, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
6241726269
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $100
Cuisines: Tapas, Contemporary, Eclectic, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: KM 29 Costa Azul
Description: DECKMAN'S San Jose offers a daily changing menu, progressive 100% Mexican wine list, live jazz and great bar! Award winning Chef-Owner Drew Deckman greets you nightly with a culinary celebration of local and Baja California Ingredients. Live Music on a regular basis! Mexican Craft Beers and ample outdoor seating.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Most amazing dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Amazing dinner! A fantastic Mexican dining experience not to be missed. Forget the menu, have Deckman and his crew bring out whatever the Chef likes. We had 7 courses with a shot of Mezcal to top it off. I took pictures of each course. I can't stop talking about what a great experience it was.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    144
    27
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Modern Food in San Jose del Cabo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Had dinner at Deckman's last week and it was perhaps the 4th or 5th time we've eaten there. Drew Deckman's food just keeps getting better and better, and his inventiveness has redefined modern food in southern Baja. No wonder he's been asked to be a judge on Top Chef Mexico! Great atmosphere at the restaurant, and the service was flawless.

He has a great bar, and hand-picks most all of the spirits - especially the mescals (we've had a tasting there; he'll pour you a flight and explain the subtle differences between each one). He's also now brewing his own craft beer, which is great.

Deckman's is a "Don't Miss" in San Jose del Cabo!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Deckman's is a real treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a business trip to Cabo. We go there quite often and never miss an opportunity to eat at Deckman's in San Jose del Cabo! Chef Drew Deckman, a creative artist when it comes to conceptualizing and realizing his ever changing menu, never disappoints!. Using only the freshest local ingredients his food is exciting and delicious. You can choose to eat either a la carte from the blackboard menu or put yourself in Deckman's capable hands, which is always a fun way to go. The atmosphere is causal and relaxed. The full bar has anythng you feel like drinking. and the wine list, which focuses on the wonderful wines produced in Mexico's Valle de Guadalupe, is an eye and brain opener! Deckman knows what he's doing. He's cooking some of the most original food in Sothern Baja. Don't miss dinner at Deckman's!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Second time around was even better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My dad and I came here back in December and I vowed to come back for my birthday in April. The food is that amazing! We got the seven-course meal and added on an extra course of foie gras. I definitely left there full! Each course is so elegant and the flavors and sauces match the main dish so perfectly. We already have plans to return when we are in town in June!

This place is pretty pricey, but totally worth it to try out new foods. We have had Gustavo as our waiter both times and he is amazing. He explains all the food, where it is from, etc. Great service, excellent food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best service in Cabo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Creatively prepared food and beautiful preparation. When there was a miscommunication about one of the dishes we ordered, Chef Deckman came out to our table to apologize and personally take care of us. The staff's commitment to making sure we had a great evening was exceptional. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DECKMAN'S San Jose also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DECKMAN'S San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.