We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morgan's and Morgans Encore!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cellar Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

The Cellar Restaurant & Bar
Hidalgo y Doblado, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
+52 624 142 3825
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in the art district of downtown San Jose Del Cabo in a Herritage building. Open air dining in the courtyard or even a private diningroom. Open Parrilla cooking. The BEST STEAK IN TOWN !!!
Cupertino, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Morgan's and Morgans Encore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We read most of the reviews and this past week went to both restaurants.

At MORGAN'S, we had a wonderful meal in the open air courtyard.
We tried the lamb chop appetizer- bone licking great! Then moved on to the entree of medallion of beef and shrimp. Superb as well. The patio area was casual, and romantic as the candles flickered, table for 2 by a small waterfall, and the open hearth grill a visual delight.

MORGAN'S ENCORE- the sister restaurant ,alongside the art walk ,delighted us with some if the 3 best appetizers we have ever had. We sat on the upper level where the fireplace added warmth and ambience.
- citrus salad( fresh grapefruit, lightly crusted goat cheese,) YUM
- eggplant Parmesan ( melted in your mouth good)
- meat balls
They serve homemade baked bread with an onion filling.
We left saying, NEXT time in San Jose del Cabo, we are THERE!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    28
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing food - Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a great restaurant! A beautiful setting, wonderful staff and fantastic food.
I think the prices were very fair in comparison to a similar meal in the United States or Canada and the quality was amazing!
Try the coconut shrimp - to die for!! Also personally greeted by Morgan herself! A wonderful night out and a real treat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worth every peso...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Ok, this is not an inexpensive restaurant, but it is upscale, friendly and the food is delicious and well presented. Their version of a caprese salad is made with sun ripened cherry tomatoes, fresh greens, basil, feta, thinly sliced red onions and a light olive oil vinagret dressing. My entree, the fresh catch of the day, grilled snapper on a bed of fresh vegetables and limón rice pilar. Moist and perfectly seasoned fish. I tried a local red wine blend on the recommendation of Daniel. Luis my waiter was kind and attentive. After a week of eating on the cheap, this was a great splurg and well worth the $640 pesos. Great atmosphere outside under candlelight with a local musician providing entertainment. Treat yourself.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beware - it's way too expensive for Christmas and holiday dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had been to Morgan's before and liked it - but never thought it had the best food in town. We had Christmas dinner there last week and in no way was it worth between $65.00 to $80.00 for a Price Fixed Holiday meal. Worse yet, the food was at best OK. We will not go there again but will continue to go to Morgan's Encore on Art Walk night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Truly disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I went with my 2 teenagers on Christmas for dinner. I'm giving it one star because I am feeling generous this holiday season.
The restaurant was not full. The service was slow and inattentive. The steaks were just aweful: chewy , tough, and lacking flavor. The lobster tail was also chewy and bland tasting. The tuna, despite being cooked to order ( rare) was tough and chewy. The key lime pie was frozen solid. We had a long day of travel and I was in no mood to complain.
I will not ever go back and cannot recommend this establishment at all.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cellar Restaurant & Bar also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cellar Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.