We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning food!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Matador

El Matador
Paseo Los Marinos esq. | Balandra y Portaviones Col. El Chamizal, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
6241570443
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: El Matador is the finest restaurant in San Jose, owned by a former Matador, Pablo Velez. It boasts Mediterranean Mexican dining. It is in a neighborhood next to the Nun's Hospital. Their Scallopine Marsala is to die for as well as the other items on the menu. Please add this restaurant to your list. I can't imagine why it hasn't been on there as we have been eating there for at least 3 or 4 years.
Feltham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Stunning food!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Went for my birthday. The setting is lovely in the courtyard. The food was absolutely faultless - a beautiful rack of lamb and a fillet steak. Appetisers were also good - very well presented. Good choice of wines and friendly intimate service. A bit tricky to find as it is in a residential area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    133
    18
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

The food was outstanding. I did not expect to find fine Italian dining in this little tourist town but I was plesantly surprised. We had the lamb and the steak they where excellent. The qualitiy of the cuts where excellent and the presentation and taste was unique. The staff was plesant without being overbearing. I would go back again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, IL
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Dinner at El Matador is in a beautiful house occupied by the restaurant owner and chef. You can watch you meal being prepared with a view from your table of the open kitchen. The food was fantastic and the owner took us for a tour of the kitchen after we were finished with our meal and introduced us to his uncle and brother who work in the kitchen with him. This was a very relaxing experience.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Deserves its number 1 rating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Four of us had dinner here. Very nice, new outdoor courtyard with soothing fountain. Young serving staff was very attentive. We had the only Mexican bottle of wine (and the least expensive) on the wine list: XA Vinos Domcq ($ 18 usd). For appetizers we had grilled sizzling octopus (outstanding), 2 Caesar salads made at table side, and very flavorful tortilla soup. For entrees we had 2 fillets, cooked exactly to our specifications, rack of lamb with subtle light mint sauce, seared on outside, little fat; and a NY strip steak which was cut table side to desired thickness from a large piece and weighed; nicely marbled, flavorful beef taste--all excellent. Sides of potato puree, with asparagus, beet, squash, carrot. Save room for desert: key lime pie layered, with just the right amount of tartness; strawberry flambé like a cream, very light and fresh tasting; molten chocolate cake worth the 10 minute wait for them to bake it--very chocolaty (a chocoholic's dream)-- with ice cream cream. With coffee, wine and all, average cost for the 4 of us was $ 59 usd.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just wanted to add my glowing review to all of the other excellent reviews. We had a large group of 20 which occupied the main floor interior. Chef Pablo Velez did an excellent job and even flashed his Matador cape for us in demonstration of his form! The service was lovely. We highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Matador also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos

Been to El Matador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Matador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.