We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best secret in Mexico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Matador

El Matador
Paseo Los Marinos esq. | Balandra y Portaviones Col. El Chamizal, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
6241570443
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: El Matador is the finest restaurant in San Jose, owned by a former Matador, Pablo Velez. It boasts Mediterranean Mexican dining. It is in a neighborhood next to the Nun's Hospital. Their Scallopine Marsala is to die for as well as the other items on the menu. Please add this restaurant to your list. I can't imagine why it hasn't been on there as we have been eating there for at least 3 or 4 years.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best secret in Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had a fabulous meal at the Matador. The restaurant is located on the outskirts of San Jose and a must stop if you like great food. The Cesar Salad is made at your table with the freshest ingredients and is the best I have ever had. The spinach Ravioli is "to die for". It is made fresh and prepared with a wonderful sauce . The wines are very reasonably priced making the dining experience one of a kind . This is the best restaurant in San Jose and Cabo San Lucas. Pablo and his Staff do a wonderful job.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    132
    18
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leawood, Kansas
1 review
“So different and fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

What a perfect evening at El Matador.
Such great tastes of fresh ingredients mixed with cuisine of Mexico and Italy.
A new and different look to elegant in the middle of San Jose.
A very worthwhile experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“What a treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Every positive review of this restaurant is true. We decided to give it a try recently during our first visit to San Jose del Cabo, Mexico, and I'm glad we did. The restaurant is located on the first floor of a home in a quaint neighborhood, not too far off the main road. The owner/chef is an actual matador who still performs occasionally and lives in the home. Back to the food. Expect greatness and you won't be disappointed. My tuna steak was perfect and their tortilla soup was outstanding. Following our meal, the chef gave us a tour of his kitchen. Friendly staff, interesting menu, great food with an excellent presentation. Don't miss this one! www.elmataorrestaurante.com

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We visited El matador last November and it was amazing, the food is great everything perfectly cooked and the flavors where incredible, you must try the Scallops appetizer it is delicious, you will really enjoy this restaurant, it is probably the best location in Cabo, but you will have a unique experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Made with Love (and Garlic)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a wonderful passion filled meal at El Matador in San Jose del Cabo recently. The food was flavorful and very generous portions (perhaps just a tad too much garlic in everything) The cocktails were fun and had a great kick. With the open kitchen you got to see the chef's (the matador) cook with his heart to make every dish with love and flavor. A really fun night off the beaten path.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Matador also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to El Matador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Matador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.