We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Lovely and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

We stayed here after attending a wedding in Mexico City. We don't usually do all inclusive beach resorts, but it was a lovely experience.
The hotel was lovely and clean and the room was huge. It was nicely decorated and the bed was really comfy. Aircon was good.
The pool area was very nice and as was the pool (though we found a dead rat one morning in it)
Food was good, drink good, very impressed by the all inclusive package.
The hotel is in a nice location, not too far from Cabo San Lucas, but far enough away so as to be quieter and more relaxed.
All in all had a lovely relaxing time and if we ever go back to Mexico would return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    776
    343
    157
    95
See reviews for
628
805
23
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

This was our second annual trip at the Cabo Real and the resort itself is beautiful. The outside pool area is very pretty and the food this year was actually much better than last year. The beds are not very comfortable and the rooms are between a two and three star. We go to golf so we can stand the beds for five days but I really wish they would invest in pillow top pads. Then I would really love it!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

This is an all-inclusive hotel located on the beach. Great location, staff, and atmosphere. Will be back again.

Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Melia Cabo was a average all-inclusive resort.....food average to better, rooms, big but very average....fridge was always warm, air conditioner was loud and did not work that well. Bathrooms were basic and not set up too well.
Not much to do after 11 pm....
Best part was unlimited drinks. staff and fun with other guests and activities.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

We weren't quite sure what to expect. We chose Melia after reading other Trip Advisor reviews and we really were happy to have chosen to stay here.

It was a great value. Nothing fancy but really nice. The staff was very helpful and attentive. There was no one bothering us about time shares, which was GREAT. A few vendors but they weren't overly aggressive. Food and drink were fine and plentiful. There is a nice bay where you can go swimming, though the water is still quite rough. It is Cabo, after all. The activities were a little cheesy but it didn't bother us. We were just there to relax. It was pretty quiet, since it's the slow season. Great for us! We pretty much had the beach to ourselves. Most people were lounging near the pool. Probably since there was a bar there. The pool was really cool because it had some nooks to hide in so it felt semi-private. The room was fine. Like I said, nothing fancy. Oh! I think most rooms have at least a partial view of the beach. That was great! We had a garden view room and could still see the beach.

I would definitely recommend going there and would probably go back again. Our trip was too short! I can't wait to go back.

Oh, my only minor gripe is with Noberto, who helps to book activities like dolphin visits and jeep trips and what have you. I wish we had booked that before because he tacks on an additional commission. No matter what you do. He quoted us an amount that was higher than it should have been and when I pointed out the conversion rate was lower than what he was quoting, he still managed to quote us the same higher price. He said that he tacks on 5% while most other vendors tack on 10-15%. Seems a little shady.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica,CA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

I'm kind of torn about writing this review because some of the staff were so wonderful and generous that I feel bad to say that I will never return to this hotel and I would not recommend it to a friend. THE FOOD IS SOOOO DISGUSTING!! They really do not invest at all either in the quality or presentation of the food, Everything tasted bad, even the veggies. My husband and I were so disgusted we went to bed hungry almost every night, They do not hire people that know how to cook and I heard from someone who works in the hotel that they reuse the food that was not eaten the previous day. The pool and beach were beautiful and some of the staff were great but other than that it was a dump. The rooms are very small and outdated, the furniture is stained and torn up, if you don't call reception and ask for your room to be cleaned they don't clean everyday.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

This hotel was a total let down. We were totally blown away by the lack of amenities and good service. My husband and I have traveled to many palces around the world and would have to rate this as one of the worst resorts. The only upside was that it had a swimmable beach, however you aren't even allowed to bring lounge chairs down near the water. Also, there aren't any cocktail waiters on the beach or at the pool. We wish we stayed closer to Cabo San Lucas because you'll definitely want to rent a car if you stay at the Melia CAbo Real. It is about a 20-25 minute drive into town. Cabo San Lucas itself is amazing...this hotel not so much. By the way, the hotel only lets you eat at the Japanese restaurant or the Mediterranean restaurant a limited number of times during your stay...We thought everything was all-inclusive, apparently not. You are allowed to eat at the not so great buffet whenever you want, but you won't want to. oh and don't even try to get a late night snack. Even room service closed by 10pm.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#10 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia and Melia so you can book your Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach And Golf Resort
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Melia Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Melia
Melia Cabo Real Beach Resort
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.