We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning for the third time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Returning for the third time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We have stayed at Melia Cabo Real three times, the three of us: My husband, my 17-year-old daughter, and I. We generally do not like to return to the same hotel multiple times, however, we have chosen this hotel year after year, because:

1.) It's near the Silicon Valley, where we live.
2.) The beaches are beautiful.
3.) It has a swimmable beach; one of only three in the whole area.
4.) The hotel is a calm one, without crazy festivities. (At least, during our stays in the beginning of April)
5.) This year, the animation team is by far the best in our experience. We loved being around Valeria, Eric, Juan, Carlos, Suzi, and Luis! They present their program in an interesting and exciting way, that varies from day to day, without being at all annoying. You can see that they enjoyed their work.
6.) We ate at La Palapa every night, because we found it to have the best variety of food, with a beautiful ocean view. The waiters were careful, attentive, and very nice. Our favorite was Ignatio.
7.) Jose, the manager of La Palapa, is very responsible and kept a close eye on all of his employees. Everything was in perfect order.
8.) Both bars were tended by great bartenders, who did their work carefully and with cosmic speeds. At the lobby bar, Eduardo had learned our names and we didn't even have to order our drinks; he remembered what we had the night before.

In general, our vacation was great!
However, here are some things that we would like to see improved:

1.) The evening shows have not changed in all the years that we have attended. Some variety would be great!
2.) The vendors on the beach are annoying. They walk by frequently and offer clothing, jewelry, "Cuban" cigars (which turned out to be fake), and other things. This ruins the reputation of the hotel.
3.) There is a horse-riding business on the beach, (it's not affiliated with the hotel), which would be romantic and wonderful if they cleaned up the horse manure which is found in various spots on the beach. Strolling on the beach becomes a challenge since you have to watch where you step.
4.) There was a large group of government workers (a worker's union, perhaps) that came to stay at the hotel. The noise they made was a nuisance, especially in the mornings and evenings. We didn't notice them too much the rest of the day, though.
5.) A few years ago, Melia organized beach parties for all the guests. Now, they only offer this option for weddings and other special events. It would be nice to bring it back!

In conclusion, the value of this hotel fits the price. We would recommend this hotel for families, but maybe not for "party people". :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear User Maria K:

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

Your comments will be transmitted to the all those who helped build your memorable experiences.
we are working on the points you mentioned in order to provide the excellent service characteristic of Meliá Hotels.
I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Regards .

Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    773
    342
    158
    96
See reviews for
625
804
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dresden, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I haven't always been impressed with All-Inclusive resorts, but Melia Cabo Real was a cut above, and I would be happy to visit again. It was a gorgeous resort, great restaurants and excellent service. The staff were all friendly and eager to assist. Especially Marco in La Palapa. He brought me a fresh-pressed green juice and my brother a Mimosa without us even having to ask. Cheerful, professional, personable.
The pool area is lovely and the beach is also nice, less occupied and quieter. The ocean was perfect for swimming in and there weren't too many sales-types on the beach harassing us.
As a family, we love going into the town of Cabo san Lucas for nightlife and entertainment, so we found it was worthwhile to rent a vehicle as the taxis back and forth can get expensive.

All in all, I'm very impressed and hope to return sometime!

Room Tip: Try to get a ground floor "M" experience room. Ocean front and super convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear User Krista W:

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

Your comments will be transmitted to the all those who helped build your memorable experiences.

I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Regards .

Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed at this resort with some friends, didn't know what to expect, but this resort definitely exceeded our expectations! The restaurants were great, we loved the atmosphere, and great people. I have to mention that the service was second to none, especially the service by our waiter Nerry at La Palapa who took great care of us and made sure we had everything we needed. It's only a 10 minute cab ride to downtown which is not bad. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear User Matthew K:

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

Your comments will be transmitted to the all those who helped build your memorable experiences.

I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Regards .

Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

My wife and I decided to stay in the more peaceful, quiet, and "quaint" part of the Baja California Peninsula. We wanted to stay in an "all-inclusive" as we were mostly interested in relaxing without any particular agenda. While the area apparently offers many different venues catered especially for the water enthusiast (i.e. deep sea sport fishing, snorkeling, scuba diving, whale watching, dolphin discovery, surfing, swimming, etc.) the area also boasts of pristine golf courses, horse-back riding and a myriad of other outdoor activities. Our desire was to simply unwind and rekindle our relationship in the warmth of sunny Cabo and finally selected Melia Cabo Real.

Although the facility is slightly older, it is impeccably maintained! The grounds are beautifully landscaped and the pool was clean and crystal clear. The music was noticeably louder at the pool after 10:00 AM and therefore, we decided to enjoy the subtle sounds of the beach instead. We booked an ocean view room and it was as portrayed with a "partial view" of the ocean along with the neighboring golf course and resort. We experienced beautiful sunsets from our balcony that was large enough for the two of us. The room was spacious enough for us but may feel a bit more cramped for a small family of four.

One of the drawbacks in staying in a resort that is outside of the U.S. is the proliferation of smokers. Although our room is non-smoking, there were people walking around the grounds that were smoking cigarettes and/or cigars. It seems to be that there's no designated section for it. They're everywhere even near the pool.

We picked an all-inclusive because it was important for us to dine on site. There were many venues for each of the meals. Buffet-style meals were the "order of the day" for both breakfast and lunch. Although buffet-style, not in the customary "Old Country Buffet", there was a different specialty food served on different days such as fish/seafood or Brazilian. Full-service dining allowed one to select between Mediterranean (La Terraza) or Asian (Kujira) by making reservations in advance with the helpful Concierge. Our Concierge Roberto was always smiling and very helpful and most eager to make sure that our needs were being met. He recognized us by name right away and made us feel welcome and at home. Breakfast was inviting and a beautiful way to start our day. Buffet-style was served at the more casual La Palapa and also at Agavero. La Palapa offered an unobstructed view of the ocean while Agavero was a bit more formal and closer to the Lobby Entrance. La Palapa seemed to be open more often while Agavero was open only on particular days from 8-10AM. At La Palapa we were greeted by either Horacio or Arnulfo. The service we received was exceptional. We were either offered a "special" Cappuccino or Mimosa to complement our breakfast. Both Horacio and Arnulfo went out of their way to make us feel welcome, special and truly made our stay that much more enjoyable. They either created a heart-shaped design in the foam of our Cappuccino or for lunch, a specially made Sea of Cortez cocktail seemed to settle us more into the lazy afternoon. If that wasn't enough, our dining at Kujira was a cut above. Our server Mario catered to our every need. One night, we were graced with a flambéed dessert that was truly inspiring and delicious. We felt as though we truly made friends and we were welcomed into their home at the Melia Cabo Real.

A couple of travel suggestions to make note of: travel from the airport and back should be secured before you arrive, negotiate before (emphasis added) you commit, and tipping is always a good idea. We were informed that a taxi ride from the airport or to the neighboring cities (San Jose or San Lucas) could be expensive. Be warned to negotiate first with the "taxi mafia" before entering the cab as the fare would be much greater than expected if that was not clearly understood. We elected to go with Transcabo (www.transcabo.com) to secure our shuttle ride to/from the airport. It was reasonable when compared to the other modes of transportation as they had lots to offer in the way of shuttle services and more private transportation. It is a misnomer in believing that "all-inclusive" is that all is included. The people that work to serve the patrons at the resort probably make a fraction of what they deserve and gratuity goes a long way. We would emphasize that gratuity, in the form of a friendly smile, always goes a long way and the unexpected additional financial "tip" was deeply appreciated.

Our time at Melia Cabo Real was enriched by the warmth of those we came to know and enhanced by the facility and myriad of beneficial services we came to enjoy. We would highly recommend the resort to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear User M-GMarkham:

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your comments with other travelers through this media.

We thank you for trusting us and for your insights that helps us improve our customer service day after day , we are working on the points you mentioned in order to provide the excellent service characteristic of Meliá Hotels.

Regards.

Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Cabos
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We just returned from a wonderful stay at the Melia Cabo Real. We were pleasantly surprised that although booking a garden view room, we actually had a partial ocean view. The maid service was excellent, providing a thorough cleaning daily. The location was great with bus service readily available to venture into Cabo San Lucas. We especially enjoyed the theme nights and the endless variety of great food provided from all three restaurants. We greatly appreciated the warm greeting that we received nightly by a host named Jose. We also remember fondly a waiter named Horaczo who attentively served us and made our visit so enjoyable. The bar tenders albeit very busy, were polite, pleasant and attentive. The grounds were immaculately groomed daily. We also enjoyed the nightly entertainment
particularly the local band Azteca. The attitude of the staff attributed to a warm and welcoming atmosphere; consequently, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear User Brian Harold H:

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

Your comments will be transmitted to the all those who helped build your memorable experiences.

I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Regards .

Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My Husband and I, My Folks and my Husbands best friend all just returned from 10 glorious days at the Melia Cabo Real. Everything about this trip was spectacular. The weather, the location and the Hotel. But what was even better, was the Hotel Staff and Tour Agent.

The rooms are clean and nice. Not super fancy, but seriously, if you are on vacation and you sit in your room most of the time, maybe consider not going. We did have a bit of an issue getting towels and face clothes most days but a quick call to the front desk and all was well.

The food was good, lots of variety and choices. After 10 days it was starting to feel repetitive but even home gets that way. Special thanks to Jose (Night host), Andrea, Carlos, Edson, just to name a few of the serving staff that made our meals so enjoyable. You all were exceptional!! On a side note, Manuel in training may need a new placement as he doesn't seem to like dealing with people and was rude and we had to ask to have our dishes cleared while in his section, more than once.

The grounds were clean and well kept. At times there was the odd bottle or cup found lying around a bit longer than normal, but all in all it was very clean and well kept.

The activities staff was SUPER!! The announcer of the events and his "ohhh yaaa," had the whole resort doing it. Erick, Andrew is still counting all the Volley Ball wins. lol Amazing job to you all and thank you for making it such a fun time - Pool Side.

Lastly, a HUGE warm smile and thank you to Lorena Mejia - destination specialist. You can find Lorena in the tour booking office at the bottom of the stairs when you leave the lobby. Her bright smile and warm nature is only exceeded by her knowledge and honesty while helping you to book excursions and arrangements. She is amazing and we all felt that she was one of the very best parts of our stay. Go by and say hello to her, you won't be sorry you did.

We will go back!

Room Tip: We were in the 3rd building, middle floor. Room was wonderful and quiet and had a good partial ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear User TerminalTourist1966:

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your comments with other travelers through this media.

We thank you for trusting us and for your insights that helps us improve our customer service day after day , we are working on the points you mentioned in order to provide the excellent service characteristic of Meliá Hotels.

Regards.

Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My husband and two small kids aged 5 and 6 just returned a few days ago from the Melia Cabo and had a great time. We had been there back in 2005 before having kids and had a different experience, both pleasant but much better with kids. The resort is kid friendly, family oriented, the staff is friendly they work hard and are always smiling and friendly the grill by the pool cater to the kids with kid friendly food and like always, although it is all inclusive you should tip because the workers bust their tail for you and they deserve it. The food is pretty good the a la carte restaurants are good and the buffets are typical however proved to be better then other all inclusives we've been to. The Mexican themed night buffet was very good and the entertainment that night was the best. Cabo is beautiful however the beach is very rough and pretty much unswimmable. Melia has a small section roped off for the kids which is nice because my kids were able to get in the ocean however water shoes is a must since the beach is very rocky. I have nothing bad to say about the hotel, there are not elevators at the present time so if you have a problem walking probably not the hotel for you. If you want 5 star dining, lavish rooms, top shelf liquor, vegas style entertainment don't stay here. If you want to relax, have great service, are not a picky eater, are okay with drinking corona and sipping Bacardi and taking in the beauty of Mexico then this hotel is for you. Also, I don't recommend this hotel if you don't have kids. I have two little ones and I love them to death, but my husband and I take a trip together without them and we make sure we book an adults only hotel simply because we want to get away from the screaming and chaos of children. Not to say you won't have annoying adults that can't handle their booze but that's to be expected I guess..... Anyways great time at the Melia. Building 3 was great, renovated rooms, close to everything and sign up for the Melia rewards program online before arrival, you will get free wifi, you will have to get a new password everyday from front desk but it takes a few seconds and its' worth it for free wifi. Also, we took pics with the photographer on site at the hotel and she was great, a little pricey but well worth it. Last tip, don't book any trips through the hotel, take the bus into town and book them there sooo much cheaper that way...no worries if you don't speak Spanish. Everyone speaks English in Cabo, kind of sad but I guess better for those of you who don't speak Spanish. Anyways, enjoy Cabo have fun and go to Lovers Beach... please feel free to contact me for any questions.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear User Darby30:

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

Your comments will be transmitted to the all those who helped build your memorable experiences.

I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Regards .

Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#10 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Melia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach And Golf Resort
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Melia Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Melia
Melia Cabo Real Beach Resort
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.