We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible customer service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Bartlett, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible customer service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The resort wasn't up to date, bathrooms where horrible, very dark hallways leading to the rooms, and the front desk workers where very bad! No clue about taking care of new arrivals! They had us wait 2 hours for our room and with kids it was a challenge. The food was average the pool was dirty but the bar area was good. The only bright spot was the Kujira restaurant host Esteban Tebbaza was fantastic!!! He was so helpful and very professional! Thank you Esteban!
Also the Kids Club worker Eva was also a big help and the kids loved the club! Thanks Eva!!

Room Tip: Don't ask for a ocean view upgrade! All rooms look out over water! Save your money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear User Isabella1076:

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your comments with other travelers through this media.

We thank you for trusting us and for your insights that helps us improve our customer service day after day , we regret that your stay did not turn out as you hoped it would, we are working on the points you mentioned in order to provide the excellent service characteristic of Meliá Hotels.

Regards.

Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    777
    343
    157
    95
See reviews for
628
806
23
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Apart from relaxing incredibly well, the entertainers always kept the day happy and fun. They each put a LOAD of effort into keeping everyone entertained, but my Favorite was the DJ. Every night from 11pm til 1am he (Erick) would play SO Many great songs to dance to. It was good clean fun that my family and I enjoyed too much! I'm definitely going back again very soon!

-Celeste-

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear User C-Less T:

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

Your comments will be transmitted to the all those who helped build your memorable experiences.

I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Regards .

Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

overall the hotel was very clean,,, rooms were cleaned daily (except for the last night for some odd reason)...
staff was very friendly and responsive..


a la carte restaurants were decent..,,, loved the egg lady... and the feeding trough wasn't too bad..

negs..
..... no beach bar... ,, shows sucked (because there were hardly any)
..... our oceanview suite we paid extra for had a worse view than the normal suites...

overall 6.76 / 10

Room Tip: don't pay extra for the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear User Kengero:

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your comments with other travelers through this media.

We thank you for trusting us and for your insights that helps us improve our customer service day after day , we regret that your stay did not turn out as you hoped it would, we are working on the points you mentioned in order to provide the excellent service characteristic of Meliá Hotels.

Regards.

Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We attended a event that was hosted at this resort, the food was 5 stars & service ..our business takes us to Four Seasons & Ritz Carltons so did not think this was be as great. The buffet food was fresh ( pass on the hot dogs, fries area), and the bartender David was outstanding in taking care of us! Highly recommend the room with the MasterSuite , & Oceanview with jaccuzzi overlooking ocean. We rebooked before we left, and never left the resort for a week it was that enjoyable-

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear User Sharon R:

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

Your comments will be transmitted to the all those who helped build your memorable experiences.

I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Regards .

Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed the first week of Jan. 2013. The weather did not cooperated well, but the everything else was great. The drinks were good, the food was good to very good and our room was very comfortable. It is a relatively long walk to the beach from the resort area and pool. You need to negotiate quite a few steps in the process so if you have any issues with frequent bathroom trips or arthritis, this might reduce your walks on the actual beach.. There is a nice swimming beach close by. (It was too cold while we were there to go in above our knees).
Their lattes with breakfast were very good. We found the property lovely.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Pcmcbride1:

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

Your comments will be transmitted to the all those who helped build your memorable experiences.

I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Regards .

Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, AB
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed at the Melia Cabo Real Oct 13 - 20, 2013. We were not aware the resort was in the Corridor between Los Cabos and San Jose. A taxi ride to go anywhere costs you $25 each way. Also frustrating when a resort that boasted 3 ala cartes really only has 2 open but never at the same time or one night none at all. We ate at the Terraza twice - excellent food and service - Hazael makes the best Mexican and Spanish coffees. We tried the oriental (Kujira) terrible, terrible - just terrible. The pool is very nice if you stay away from the swim up bar - can't stand the idea of swimming in someone's urine. The entertainment crew are virtually none existent - activities around the pool went on some days and some days not. No announcements or invitations ever made to make the guests aware of the activities and this also included the nighttime entertainment.
We flew in from Edmonton on Westjet - the flight was ok but sure hated having layovers and changing planes in Calgary. Also as being a Westjet vacationer we were entitled to certain promos at the resort - what a painful job to be able to get someone to acknowledge this and honor them. Sadly really only wound up with a bottle of house wine and a piece of paper giving me 3 coupons of $25 to be used against a massage of 80 minutes - only using one per massage! Our Westjet rep at the hotel "Victor" was not helpful - really only there to sell excursions. A good example of the lack of information he provided was that even though this was a 4.5* resort - don't drink the water from the tap - at least 5 people in our group were sick because of consuming it.
Cabo is really beautiful and will return but will be sure to stay at a resort in one of the cities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear User Colleen M:

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your comments with other travelers through this media.

We thank you for trusting us and for your insights that helps us improve our customer service day after day , we regret that your stay did not turn out as you hoped it would, we are working on the points you mentioned before in order to provide the excellent service characteristic of Meliá.

Regards.

Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is the second time I visit the resort with my family. As with my first review, everything continues to be EXCEPTIONAL. this is truly a relaxing vacation. You check in, go swimming at the beautiful pool and warm ocean, have some cocktails at the swim-up bar and enjoy the live shows at night. The staff is extremely courteous. Mary our housekeeper was so friendly and efficient, the waiters are the best. Some of the most attentive ones are: Marco, Arnulfo, Joel, Salvador, Jesus and Xochil. Adriana at the front is great too! Eduardo makes the best cocktails at the pool bar. The weather is great in October. The grounds are kept meticulously and are beautiful. I LOVE this place. I have made a mental image to have when stressed out at work ever day and I will return every year!!! thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear User Robceci:

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

Your comments will be transmitted to the all those who helped build your memorable experiences.

I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Regards .

Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#10 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Melia, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach And Golf Resort
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Melia Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Melia
Melia Cabo Real Beach Resort
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.