We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 39 hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service and experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I had an amazing time at Melia Cabo Real, the good far outweighed the bad. The staff was unfailingly polite and helpful which made an already great trip even better. The property was beautifully manicured and sparkling clean. We also got a great deal on our stay, it ended up being very affordable compared to other vacations we've taken. As a bartender myself, I appreciated that the bar used Bacardi, Smirnoff and Cuervo in their mixed drinks, a much better quality than I expected from their rail. I loved that they had a bottle of vodka at the breakfast buffet so I could pour my own screwdriver in the morning!

A few places they could improve include:
-The buffet food was better than I expected, but it got a little bit monotonous. Plan to get a meal somewhere in town or at another resort just for a little bit a variety.
-The beds are as firm as everyone says. Call the front desk and ask for a mattress pad... housekeeping will get it set up for you and it makes a huge difference.
-The beach is rocky and a little tough to walk on. Plan to spend more time by the pool where it is more comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear User. Jake F

thank you for your comments, it is always a pleasure to receive feedback's from our guests in order to help us improve the quality and services of our Hotel Melia Cabo Real. We truly appreciate the time you spent doing it.

We are thrilled to know that overall you had a great time during your visit to Melia Cabo Real,

Your comments in regards to the hotel will be taken in consideration also , we want to inform you that we have started to replace all the mattress from the hotel , all this in order to provide a better service.

We are at your service for any future requirements . We trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Regards

Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,043 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    704
    750
    338
    157
    94
See reviews for
605
777
21
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

It was my first time coming to Los Cabos with my boyfriend. We had a great time at this resort. No complaints whatsoever ! The food in the buffet and restaurants was delicious. Nice pool, nice room, friendly employees and great food ! Marco was our waiter every morning in the "La Palapa" buffet and he was very friendly and Fernando was great as well ! We will definetely be visiting this resort again :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear User. Poly P

Thank you for your comments, it is always a pleasure to receive feedback's from our guests in order to help us improve the quality and services of our Hotel Melia Cabo Real. We truly appreciate the time you spent doing it. We are thrilled to know that you had a great time during your visit to Melia Cabo Real,

Your comments in regards to the hotel will be taken in consideration and your thoughts will be transmitted to Marco and Fernando since they are responsible of creating memorable experiences.

We are at your service for any future requirements . We trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Regards

Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were in a room through RCI timeshare and it was despicable. The mattresses were comparable to a slab of rock and the furniture was ugly & outdated. Renovations were occurring on the other side of the hotel; however, when I asked if we could be moved I was told due to us being with RCI it was impossible. (A little hard to believe with a 50% occupied hotel.)

We LOVE Cabo and a lot of reasons why are due to the friendly service received everywhere we go. Unfortunately, this hotel doesn't treat their customers in the same fashion. We traveled with another couple on this trip and really wanted to give them a true Cabo experience, which fell short by leaps and bounds. An extremely disappointing trip!

Room Tip: Good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear User. Jbbtravelers

We thank you for your comments, it is always a pleasure to receive feedback's from our guests in order to help us improve the quality and services of our Hotel Melia Cabo Real. We truly appreciate the time you spent doing it.

Your comments in regards to the Vacation Club will be transmitted to the person in charge and they will be taken in consideration,all this since it is a different section from the hotel.

We regret that your vacation did not turn out as you hoped it would.

Regards

Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a great experience at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was good for an all-inclusive. The hotel is older, but well maintained. We were able to upgrade to an ocean front room, which was definitely worth the extra money. Overall, a great value. A special thanks for the outstanding service provided by Carlos and Jesus at the La Palapa; also Anna and Pacheco in the Lobby Bar. Only complaint - hard mattresses.

Room Tip: Ocean front or away from the lobby bar, as it can be loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear User. Melissa L

We are thrilled to know that overall you had a great time during your visit to Melia Cabo Real, thank you for your comments, it is always a pleasure to receive feedback's from our guests in order to help us improve the quality and services of our Hotel Melia Cabo Real. We truly appreciate the time you spent doing it.

Your comments in regards to the hotel will be taken in consideration and your thoughts will be transmitted to Carlos, Jesus , Anna and Pacheco since they are responsible of creating memorable experiences.

Also , we want to inform you that we have started to replace all the mattress from the hotel , all this in order to provide a better service.

We are at your service for any future requirements . We trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Regards

Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We received a very good room rate, but the old addage of "you get what you pay for" applies. My high rating of value is due to the low room rate. We stayed end of April to first weekend in May. Great weather during our stay.

Room Tip: The Terrazo Resturant was great; excellent service,great ambience and terrific food. The Lapala...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear User. Tony P

Thank you for your comments, it is always a pleasure to receive feedback's from our guests in order to help us improve the quality and services of our Hotel Melia Cabo Real. We are thrilled to know that you had a great time during your visit to Melia Cabo Real,

We are at your service for any future requirements . We trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Regards

Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just returned from a 5 night stay April 21.

Food: The food was fresh and tasty (except for sushi at Asian restaurant, which was mostly rice and nori). Each meal at the buffet had fresh fruit, salads, and plenty of hot food. Best meal: portobello appetizer, asparagus soup, tomato salad and salmon at the Med. restaurant. Other highlights were tamales at the Mex. night, daily fresh ceviche, and Mango margaritas. If you want a strong drink, just ask.

Room: We paid extra and got a pool/ocean view in Building 3. Definitely worth it. The bed was firm, but comfortable. Bring your own conditioner & sunscreen. They give you towels, washcloths, shampoo, lotion, bath gel and soap.

Service: I have stayed at 3 other all inclusives and the staff at this was the best! Very friendly and helpful. (We did tip at the meals ($1-2/person and sometimes at the bars.)

Activities: We loved the yoga and water aerobics. Pool side games were fun too. There was always something to do. You can also check out games, snorkel gear, boogie boards, tennis equipment, and ping pong from the activity center. Darts & pool table in lobby bar.

Massage on the beach. Turn right and walk about 15 minutes toward Dreams resort). 80 minute massage for $30 USD. Massage was one of the best I've had. Ocean waves in the background and ocean breeze added to the experience. If you can't walk that far on the beach, take a taxi.

Bus system- If you aren't renting a car, take the bus for only 20 p or $2. usd. Bus drivers very helpful. Just tell them where you are going and they will tell you when to get off. We took the bus twice and had a great experience.

Getting to the resort from the airport. Taxi is $65 from airport or $14. per person via shuttle. We took the shuttle. On the way back it is only $35 for a taxi.

Only downside was the water was in the 70's, which is cold for me. We took the bus to Chileno bay (2-3 miles away) and found great snorkeling off the beach (go to the right). However, the hotel staff said the water is warmer (September- December). As others have mentioned, it is a walk to the beach.

Great Atmosphere-All the staff and majority of guests were warm and friendly. We had a great time meeting people from all over the world.

Room Tip: Bring your own conditioner. Ask for a top floor pool/ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear User. DebraSanDiego

We are thrilled to know that you had a great time during your visit to Melia Cabo Real, thank you for your comments, it is always a pleasure to receive feedback's from our guests in order to help us improve the quality and services of our Hotel Melia Cabo Real. We truly appreciate the time you spent doing it and most important that you pointed out many details.

Your comments in regards to the hotel will be taken in consideration and your thoughts will be transmitted.

We are at your service for any future requirements . We trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Regards

Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband stayed a week in January following a busy US trip. We had no expectations due to the booking being made by a travel agent (we requested a "relaxing beach stop over on the way home to Australia") and we were blown away by a fantastic experience. The stay was phenomenal value for money and we were left very relaxed!

- Great pool area
- Not overcrowded, always a table with a view if requested, always a sun lounge available
- All inclusive food was fresh and great quality
- Japanese and Mediterranean restaurants were particularly good
- Friendly and helpful staff throughout the resort
- The beach beds (to hire) were cheap and relaxing
- Situated on a beautiful clean stretch of coast
- We had a good experience at the Spa, but it was on the expensive side
- Although simple, the rooms were clean and pleasant - and well kept by housekeeping
- Fantastic whale watching spot (we also took a boat out to the Arch and saw many many whales)
- Other hotel guests were nice, considerate and friendly
- The only thing less than positive in my experience was that wifi was not included and was on the expensive side

We would return for another stay in a heartbeat and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear User. SD

We are thrilled to know that overall you had a great time during your visit to Melia Cabo Real, thank you for your comments, it is always a pleasure to receive feedback's from our guests in order to help us improve the quality and services of our Hotel Melia Cabo Real. We truly appreciate the time you spent doing it.

We ere at your service for any future requirements . We trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Regards

Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#23 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Melia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach And Golf Resort
Melia Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Melia
Melia Cabo Real Beach Resort
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;