We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice vacation...not thanks to Melia” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 39 hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Vancouver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice vacation...not thanks to Melia”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I will start by mirroring some of the positives...extremely clean and well kept property. Beautiful grounds, lovely lobby, restaurants, pool, beach, etc. All gorgeous. The property is small, but it's cozy. Beds are hard, but we liked the change. Drinks are fantastic...they are strong and they have a great board with lots to choose from. The small cove is great for splashing in the waves safely, but it is a federal beach and there are people there from all resorts, locals, vendors etc. (just something to keep in mind) The beach is a bit of a trek from the resort and you get hounded by vendors.
The food is subpar. Some of my family is picky, but I am not and it was so so. The mimosa bar at breakfast was a big hit. The Japanese restaurant exceeded our expectations, but the variety, freshness and temperature of the food at the buffet was very poor.
The most disappointing aspect was the service...it was either nonexistent or extremely unenthusiastic. We are usually good tippers, but we VERY rarely got the kind of service that deserved anything at all. Waiters in the Palapas rarely smiled, service was slow and dirty dishes stayed on your table till you left. We have been to a few all inclusives in Mexico and they have all been better than this. If you are looking for an average 4star, you are fine, but if you are hoping for something better, don't come here

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear user: familytravel70

Thank you, for your comments and perceptions with regards to our services which helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.,

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media. thank you for trusting us, we want you to know that we are in the process of replacing every single one of the mattresses in the hotel , all this in order to provide a better service.

We regret that during your stay . you did not contact any of the managers on duty in order to give us the opportunity to help you .

I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Regards .

Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,036 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    701
    750
    335
    157
    93
See reviews for
603
774
21
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We are from Vernon, BC and stayed at the Melia from March 23 to April 2, 2013.
My husband and I visited the Melia with another couple and we all agree that this was a wonderful experience. Great food, friendly employees, unbelievably clean rooms and grounds. We would all come back in a second. This is not a resort for young people who want to party as it is very laid back and not a lot of social events, but we didn't care as we are all middle aged and 'all partied out' from our younger days. Warm sun, relaxation, good food and a few off site adventures made this the perfect holiday. Thanks you to the Melia and your attentive staff for a memorable experience.
As for those hard beds people have complained about.....they really weren't as bad as we expected. For all those people who complained about anything else at the Melia I have a feeling that nothing would satify them no matter where they stayed.
The only thing I do wish they had was more shopping on site or perhaps a huge kiosk type shopping tent on the sands below the resort like a few other resorts have.
Also because I am handicapped and have a walker I would have loved to have had easier access via outide ramps to the main building. Other than that .....no major complaints.
Thank you again......it was hard to come home. Val from Vernon, BC

Room Tip: I am handicapped so found that it was easier to be in a room closer to the ocean and in a building t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear user: Valriep_13

Thank you, for your comments and perceptions with regards to our services which helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.,

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media. thank you for trusting us.

I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Regards .

Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Pros: fantastic location not far from airport but also not overcrowded with city tourists, beautiful property, private beach with wonderful views, excellent service, very clean facilities/pool, great value

Cons: very hard beds, food is extremely average, "activities" offered are very lacking, tennis court is covered in sand

Room Tip: Facing the golf course is very quiet with great sunset views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear user: Jacob M

Thank you, for your comments and perceptions with regards to our services which helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.,

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media. thank you for trusting us, we want you to know that we are in the process of replacing every single one of the mattresses in the hotel , all this in order to provide a better service.

I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Regards .

Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Not the best I have stayed in but definately not the worst. Our room was not ready when promised (3 different times) but we were able to get some food and drinks while we waited. On our 6th night, my husband got locked in the room (the door would not open) and maintenance had to climb over the balcony from another room and completely remove the door handle to get the door open but this minor hiccup was fixed quickly and efficiently. The food is okay. I have stayed at other all inclusives where you do not have to stand in line for 1 hour each day to get an 8:30 or 9:00 reservation at one of the non-buffet restaurants. I'm sure we could have gotten an earlier time if we waited in line longer than 1 hour. You had to get up between 5 and 6 o'clock to reserve chairs by the pool or overlooking the ocean even though the posted signs claim you cannot reserve chairs. This was during Spring Break though. The beach is the biggest I have seen but rocky until you get closer to the water. The kids had fun boggey boarding until my daughter was stung by a jelly fish. There was a group nearby that rented out jet skis, kayaks, horses, etc. We did the jet skis and horse back and would recommend both. Overall we had an okay expereince but doubt we would return to this resort. The wait staff was nice (especially if you tipped after your meal in the buffets). We always had a table waiting and ready for us because of that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear user: Holly B

Thank you, for your comments and perceptions with regards to our services which helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.,

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media

I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Regards .

Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davison, Michigan, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great. Food is always available. Alcohol is as well, especially nice in the pool bar. the resort is very clean. Staff is also very helpful, except for the desk staff. Pool is wonderful. Not too many young children, not very many spring breakers either. Nice and quiet if you are looking to relax.
Medium. Chair reservations for the pool are like all warm weather resorts...the early bird gets the best chairs. Beds are not as hard as reviewed previously.
Poor. Got a first floor room, tried to get it changed to no avail. Kept hearing from front desk..all booked up. People coming and going should have opened up some rooms. Reservations to two restaurants don't make sense..always half empty.

Room Tip: Figure out how to ask and get the room location you want.....then tell me how you did it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear user: Ellen L


We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media, we thank you, for your comments and perceptions with regards to our services which helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Regards .

Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

* Rooms: very good

* Food: good to very good (especially the Palapa) - I am a vegetarian and ate mainly fruits and vegetables

* Employees:
Always smiling, attentive and courteous.
Grecia, responsible for seating the guests at the Palapa restaurant, tried to personalize our experience. She was polite, warm and always greeted us with enthusiasm.
The waiters were great too:
Jesus, Abelardo, Uriel... are only a few examples of people who showed a great attitude - always smiling, helpful and trying to attend our every need.

* The entertainment was fun - especially the magic show.
We would have liked more folkloric shows, without an excessively loud sound system.
One night, there was a Mariachi band - for a wedding - that was the kind of ambiance we really like - less amplifiers - more authenticity.

* What we also liked is that there were all kinds of people there: Families with children and grandparents, teenagers... They were from various places: USA, Canada, Mexico... it was like a small international community.

* Location:
A bit too far from any small town for us.

* Transportation:
Taxis were very expensive.

* Tour:
The tour of the two cities was a good way to get a feel for were we were.
Cabo San Lucas is more commercial; San José del Cabo is more traditional.

* Overall:
It's a good place to go for relaxing, especially if you stay at the hotel.
You can take cooking and dancing classes (for free)...
There are many tours (they tend to be expensive).
Marine life is great: whales, sea lions, pelicans...
You cannot swim in the ocean - only the pools.
Nice gardens and architecture.
Personnel generally extremely nice.

¡Hasta luego!

Room Tip: Stay away from the "commercial concierge", who try to get you to go to "high pressure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear user: C D


We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media and most important that you have pointed out every single detail.

Thank you, for your comments and perceptions with regards to our services which helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

The personnel you mention. Grecia Jesus, Abelardo, Uriel. will be congratulated for their efforts , since they are the ones responsible of creating memorable moments.

I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Regards .

Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We recently returned from a stay at the Melia. We had a wonderful time and only a couple of minor issues.

We made reservations for a king bed room and upon check in were told that there was only double bed rooms available. Since had anticipated this issue from reading other reviews; I made sure that my travel agent reach out to the resort as well as calling the hotel myself. No luck we were given a double bed room. Thankfully the hotel moved us the next day when a king bed room was available.

The rooms are average sized, clean, and in decent shape. We had no complaints about the room. Couldn't get a good handle on the temperature for the air conditioning overnight...but nothing to make a fuss over.

The food was good at all of the restaurants. We tried both buffet restaurants, both a la cart restaurants, and the pool grill. Everything was nicely presented and well prepared. The only downside is that reservations for the a la cart restaurants are required daily and they need to be made early in the morning or you don't get a time slot. Would be nicer if the reservations could be made for the entire week. That way you can avoid standing on line to make them everyday.

The pool is large and relaxing. The pool loungers seem to go super early in the morning. People seem to get up at the crack of dawn and put a towel on every lounger by the pool. We would be by the pool by 8 am and just about every spot was taken. We decided to rent a cabana in order to secure a spot. The cabana worked out great and our pool server was excellent. We had a little bit of an issue on a couple of days were people even moved away the two loungers next to our cabana. But the staff was great and made brought us two loungers as replacements.

The beach is nice and swimmable. Much better than some of the other beaches we saw during our trip. The hotel has some cabanas and loungers by the beach where you can get some shade. It is a bit of a walk to the water but it gives you a way to work off all the excellent food. The only thing that would have made the beach nicer would be if the beach bar was open. And if the pushy salespeople were removed.

The spa is very nice. I booked a manicure/pedicure during our stay. The two women that took care of me (Consuelo and her sister) provide excellent service and I would have booked more services if we had more time.

The mini club (children's club) is also excellent. The women (Marisol and Angelica) there were GREAT with our 10 month old. We felt comfortable dropping our son off when we needed a baby break. He had a great time crawling and playing in the mini club. And both ladies made sure to pay extra attention to him especially since the other children were much older than him.

We had a wonderful trip and would return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear user: Gabbyola


Thank you, for your comments and perceptions with regards to our services which helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media and most important that you have pointed out every single detail.

The personnel you mention. Angelica , Consuelo ; Cony and Marisol will be congratulated for their efforts , since they are the ones responsible of creating memorable moments.

I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Regards .

Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Melia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, BookIt.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach And Golf Resort
Melia Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Melia
Melia Cabo Real Beach Resort
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.