We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you don't want the frills, then this is your place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If you don't want the frills, then this is your place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was my first time travelling to an All-Inclusive Resort and it was nice. The service was amazing! The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food was ok, nothing to write home about. Italian night at the buffet was probably the best. If you want a poolside lounge chair, then you better wake up at 7:00 and head down to claim your spot, even though the signs posted say "no reserving of lounge chairs". The jacuzzi is supposed to be for adults only, but kids were in it, which I did not care for. Around 5:00pm the jacuzzi becomes a drunken party central with about 30 people in it, even though the sign says "10 people maximum capacity". The pool is nice and clean, a little warm. If you want to go to the ocean, well be prepared to walk 30 steps down and then another 30meters to the water. Not convenient if you can't walk very well (knee replacement surgery). Some nights there was loud yelling and partying that could be heard from the room. Overall, an ok experience. It would be nice if they enforce some of the rules...no kids in the pool, no reserving chairs, keeping the partying down.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear user: bcgirl73

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

Your perceptions with regards to our services helps us improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels,

On the other hand about the rules and regulations in the pool area , we will like you to know that it is a difficult to control those specific areas, since we believe that it is matter of respect and principals.

We expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations and with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Regards .

Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    777
    343
    157
    95
See reviews for
628
806
23
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Squamish, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was our first time travelling to an All-Inclusive Resort and was amazing. The service was amazing! Our favourite waiter, Jesus Villa may have been the best server I have ever had. Warm and gracious, he made our trip even better! Some of the food was alittle bland (fish and seafood) but there were lots of options and the property was spotless.

Room Tip: Ask for a matress cover, because the beds are very firm
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear user: LizD

Thank you, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels,

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

We expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations and with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Regards .

Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I try to write my reviews solely based on information of the hotel and not so much about my experience for if you have a bad experience with a staff member/room/food issues for this usually skews the review towards the negative.

Hotel Location:
Right in the middle of both downtown Los Cabos and San Jose del Cabo. Its about 10-15min drive from to both downtown locations from the hotel. Ocean views from pool area are outstanding and uninterrupted. Perfect for Whale watching from Nov-March (best times are early am or sunset).

Hotel Grounds:
Very clean and kept up really well. I never saw any ugly eye sores that stood out. Maintenance staff usually up around 630am preparing the grounds for the day. The grounds incorporated a lot of the local environment by having a lot of desert-ish like type of gardens surrounded by lush green lawns.

Pool Area:
Pool was small compared to most pools that I have experienced at other resorts, but never felt crowded and had plenty of space in the pool. They have shallow section for the kids and the deepest part of the pool was probably 4 feet. When out of the pool (lounging section) its pretty cramped and no chairs are available even if you wanted the worst location of the pool. There isn't much real estate outside of the pool in most areas so this limits the space and chairs that can be around the pool. You must get up early to claim your seat at the pool. All chairs are gone by 730am.

Beach Area:
Since the hotels in this area are on a small cliff you have to take a hike down a set of 50 steps to get to beach level. From here the actual ocean is about 100+ yards from the hotel itself. The sand from hotel to sea shore is not beach sand but more playground/natural sand and its pretty rough walking so bring flip flops. They have some small bamboo umbrella stands and beach chairs for you to sit on, but they themselves are about 100 yards from ocean and you really can't see or hear the ocean because you have to go over a slightly small sand dune to see/get to ocean.
Tip about beach: Bring beer/drinks down to beach for its a long haul round trip and they don't serve down there. Also drag the chairs down to the ocean, you'll be in the "vendor zone" but say "no" and they'll leave you alone.

Hotel Rooms:
Good thing they have a beach and pool and your not in your rooms too much for they are probably the worst part of this hotel. They are in need of an update and need attention. Be careful in the shower, the hot water is extremely hot and it takes a while to figure out the temp also there is no room to maneuver in the shower and I'm not a big guy. The dorm room fridges they had in the room are on their last legs. All three of ours shook and made noise so we unplugged them. The beds are extremely hard and need to be replaced. It hurt to sleep. Hopefully Melia reads these reviews because the constant thing that all reviews are saying is that the beds are rocks. Once you check in ask for a mattress top for it helps a little. I think Fred Flintstone had softer beds than this resort.
Tip for Rooms: Ask for a room far away from the lobby. At night they have a band that goes till 1am and you can hear everything from the closet rooms.

Food:
Food was "ok" at all of there restaurants. You have to remember that they are cooking mass quantity of food so not all of it is going to be great/awesome food. There are some items that were good and some that were nasty. I brought my 5 year old daughter and if she didn't like the food I'd get up and find something else. That is the good thing about the "all-inclusive" resort, if you don't like it toss it and go with something else that is good and you can't expect the best food quality.

Drinks:
They have two kinds of Beer at the pool area: Corona and Modelo
Topshelf Vodka: Smirnoff
Topshelf Tequila: Jose
They will not give you these drinks unless you specifically ask for them. If you ask for a vodka tonic they'll give you some bottom shelf vodka.
Tips: The rooms do not have beer/alcohol in fridge just water. Load up at the bar or you can stop by the mini market downstairs and purchase $2 beers.

Kids Club:
Open 10-1 and 3-5 ever day. My 5 year old loved going here. They did a great job and kept both sets of kids happy and it gave the adults some "kid free time". Its suited for kids 3-9. Kids over 9 would probably be bored.

Cab Fares:
$40 from to airport
$25 to downtown cabo

Overview:
For the price of an All-Inclusive its not a bad deal considering how expensive Cabo has gotten. The food quality of restaurants are about average or on par for an All Inclusive resort. The grounds are pretty and kept clean, but the biggest major draw back that this resort has going is the quality and state of the rooms. Would I go back?? Tough to say....right now my back is telling me no. I would spend the extra $50/person/night for a better hotel...just because of the beds.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear user: bafiske

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media. And most important that you have pointed out each detail in a objective way.

Your perceptions with regards to our services helps us improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels,

On the other hand and since you mention the beds were your mayor concern , we will like you to know that we are in the process of replacing every single one of the mattresses in the hotel.

We expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations and with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Regards .

Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

* TERRIBLE experience!
* Staff was extremely rude - would not let us check in until 3pm sharp! Only smiled and said NO.

* Room was comparable to a MOTEL 6 - beds were hard as rock. Shower/bathroom were outdated and slippery. Sheets were old and not comfortable.
* Food was bad as well. All "special" dinners were booked for Wed night by the time we checked in. They said that we could stop by and see if there were any cancellations...Upon arriving at 6:30 we saw the restaurant at 25% full. Empty tables everywhere. The hostess said "NO", not surprisingly and offered us a dinner reservation at the other non-buffet restraunt at 10:30 PM.
*
* Dinner buffet was about the same as the breakfast and lunch buffet - most of the items were cold, dry, or just plain bad.

* No free WIFI - they charged $18USD per day per device! It would be down for hours at a time throughout the day!
* Pool area was OK - chairs and umbrellas were available if you got them early enough. There were a fair number of families / kids there so it was not quite as relaxing as we would have hoped. There was an entertainment DJ working a microphone from around 11am-5pm with all sorts of games - again not what we were looking for.
*
* Being an All Inclusive resort I would have expected there to be more that 1 walk up bar and 1 swim up bar serving drinks as there was here. Factor in that there was only 1 bartender at each of these bars and the average wait time for keg beer or a non premium cocktail was 10-15 minutes.

* Very tired place with terrible service (minus Raul the bell hop who was great!). I would not recommend this resort to anyone unless they were looking for a cheap all inclusive family type resort, but even then I would have to think that there would be better AI resorts then this in Cabo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest: Mbarbour14
We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your comments with other travelers through this media.

We thank you for trusting us and for your insights that helps us improve our customer service day after day , we regret that your stay did not turn out as you hoped it would due to some of our services, if you send a email to mexperience@meliacaboreal.com we will respond to your comments as soon as possible.

.
Regards.

Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

spent 2 weeks at the all inclusive melia cabo real. Result is I am now enrolled in the Betty Ford detox center and Jenny Craig!! Everything was very good. Food, service, accomodations and cleanliness. There were only a couple downsides, the brochure said there was a shuttle bus into town, it had not been running for a couple of years, although the local buses stop infront every 20 min. or so, the beach was not swimable due to strong tides, and pool was not geared for any swimming, splashing around maybe. The hotel was very nice and clean, but a little dated, as it was opened in 1990. This is a very good resort for couples or families.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest bruinssuck

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

We expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Regards .

Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The good news. Very smiley and helpful staff. Position on the beach is good. The lagoon pool is clean but inadequate provision of sunloungers later in the day. Can get boisterous in the late afternoon when the 'free' liquor starts to flow.
The bad news: The 'condo' rooms are very tired with worn out furnishings , cracked tiles and generally shabby appearance. The mattresses are hard and the pillows like concrete.
Urgently needs some money spending on it. Barely 3 star.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest: Nigel G

We thank you for trusting us and for your insights that helps us improve our customer service day after day , we regret that your stay did not turn out as you hoped it would due to the Vacation Club Rooms ., if you send a email to mexperience@meliacaboreal.com we will respond to your comments as soon as possible.

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your comments with other travelers through this media.

Regards.

Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I loved this resort, if you enjoy peace, quiet and relaxation this is your place! I got married at this establishment, on November 11, 2012, and considering that there were two other weddings that same weekend, one of which was of 300+guests, my guests and I were highly attended to and were extremely accommodating- to my party which was 45-50. I(I do recommend their services to anyone- I coordinated a group offering for my guests and I through Cabovillas.com- ask for Jenn *she like the Wedding Coordinators were EXCELLENT communicators)

I am Mexican American, first generation born in the US, and I know authentic Mexican cuisine, the food at their buffet style restaurant was superb. However, I do feel that their Italian/Mediterranean establishments food was a bit bland, the Japanese restaurant was great. Nonetheless, staff were all GREAT.

Note:
*Professional pictures that the resort has on Facebook do not do the resort any justice, the moment you walk in you know you are going to be taken care. The environment is easy breezy, great for couples, families and friends getaways!!!

**Tip your bartender, server and staff....

*Melia has a different lounge areas throughout their resort, my favorite by far was the "Lunadas" (Bonfire) area. We stayed out until 2-4am and there were no issues with guests, or staff.

*If you make the trip to downtown Cabo go to 101 Kruda great little bar! Mouthwatering Clamato's Preparados (Bloody Beers) . . . . Also in downtown, absolutely the best mariscos in Cabo, "Las Mariscadas" (find them on Yelp/Tripadvisor)

*Stay away from main street "mexican" restaurants, they are horrible...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest Marinakilljoy

Thank you , It gives us great pleasure to know that you had wonderful experiences during your wedding at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

Your comments will be transmitted to the all those who helped build your memorable experiences.

I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back for your anniversary at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.

Regards .

Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Melia, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach And Golf Resort
Melia Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Melia
Melia Cabo Real Beach Resort
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.