We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Great Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Crowsnest Pass, AB
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overall Great Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent a week here in January, we loved it! Being our first trip to Mexico, we didn't know what to expect. But I am glad that I booked our stay here. The food was awesome, lots of selection at the buffet, and the restaurants were excellent. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. The courtyard was beautiful and regularly maintained. We really enjoyed our room, it was clean, and it had everything we needed. My one and only complaint was that the bed was beyond hard. Other than that we had an amazing vacation here, we will definitely come back and recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: Ocean front is worth the extra money. Enjoying the ocean view while in your room is an extra perk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest Sean D

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

Your comments will be transmitted to the all those who helped build your memorable experiences.

I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels


Regards .

Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    773
    342
    158
    96
See reviews for
625
803
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Breakfast and lunch were wonderful, but they reached perfection with the excellent service from our two favorite waiters. Arnulfo and Marco made our visit so pleasureable. They were friendly, kind, attentive, and much more. We always asked for their section because we knew we would not be disappointed.

Joe and Mari

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest Mari J

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

Your comments will be transmitted to the all those who helped build your memorable experiences.

I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels


Regards .

Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Melia Cabo Real is an excellent. Everything was great from the front desk to the housekeeping staff to the bartenders to the wait staff at the restaurants to the staff at the pool that ran some interesting activities.Stephanie was great with the poolside activities. She was fun to be around. And she informed me of things about Cabo that I did not know. The only complaint is that the beds are not very comfortable. I hope that I can get back to this resort one day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest Shifless

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

Your comments will be transmitted to the all those who helped build your memorable experiences.

I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels


Regards .

Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldergrove, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

First alittle about ourselves as this may set the tone of our experience. We are both "mature" adults and depending on the geographic setting of our getaway, we may (or may not) be considered "seniors". Needless to say, we enjoy a blend of freedom to let loose and solitude. To this end, Melia Cabo Real met our needs.

The Melia Cabo Real (Resort) is a beach side resort with a nice ambiance. The main buildings are well maintained and serviced. The courtyard is a lush common ground, a blend of grass and desert landscape with towering palms scattered about. As you traverse the grounds, you come upon a fairly large pool with a poolside bar (definitely the hot spot during the day with all guests). There are plenty of lounge chairs poolside and about. However, as the morning gives way to the afternoon, chairs become scarce, so stake out your territory early for the best spots. The poolside bar serves a wide selection of drinks and beer. Only downside: it closes at 6:00 PM. The bar is self-service or there are staff about taking orders. Their service was very good (suggestion: order two of whatever you're having). For the size of the Resort, there is a small jacuzzi that overlooks the Sea of Cortez. Great if there are 10-14 people in the tub but crowded if more than that. Great for whale watching right from the beachside retaining wall. Bring your binoculars for a better view. Activity every day. If you want to pamper yourself and have one of the best spots overlooking the beach/Sea of Cortez, rent a cabana for $25.00 per day. Comes complete with a cooler of endless cold beer, drinks , water, etc replenished continually by Resort staff.

As for our room(s), it was modestly furnished. If the Resort wanted to raise their overall rating, a refurbishing would be in order. The bed was "firm" (been around for awhile). Although I slept fine, some might find it uncomfortable. Pillows were adequate. Overall, the room was spacious, comfortable and clean. Service staff provided daily cleaning and were very friendly and accommodating. Anything you needed was replenished daily. Since we were staying only a week, most of our time was spent in the common grounds area (pool, lounge, fire pit, beach, etc) or on the balcony, not the room, so no great loss as far as the room goes (not here to watch TV!).

As for the beach, the Resort rests on a retaining bluff overlooking the Sea of Cortez. To access the beach, one walks down a flight of stairs and across 300 feet of coarse sand to reach the breaking surf. During our stay, the red flag warning was posted (pounding waves and strong undertow) which meant no swimming but there was miles of open beach to stroll. Only downside, you are an open target of "beach vendors" peddling their wears. Assertive in their approach but not aggressive. A firm "No Thanks" and they moved on.

There is a fitness facility/gym but in need of a major overhaul. No treadmills or ellipticals. The cycling bikes were dated and in need of replacement. The weight machines were few but adequate along with a selection of dumbbells to 50 lbs. We made do with what they hand (if the gym is not your thing, a run on the beach is a good cardio workout!)

Dinning is either buffet style or a la carte. Breakfest and lunch is buffet style ranging from fruit to fruit smoothies to Mexican and Western traditional dishes. Overall the buffet food was actually very good (better then expected) with quite a bit of variety. Every evening the dinner buffet feature a specific culinary theme which off set the staple menu. Two a la carte restaurants are on site: the La Terazza which offers good food combined with a pleasant setting and a Japanese restaurant (Asian Fusion) for those inclined. Every waiter we had was friendly, enthusiastic and eager to please. Great service! The pool area has a snack bar were you can get burgers (make sure to ask for "well done"), fries, hot dogs and the feature of the day. There is room service for after hours but attached is a $10 delivery fee or head to the buffet, load up and take something back to your room (food and exercise!).

The resort is located between San Jose del Cabo and Cabo San Lucas, so transportation to either centre is either by local bus, taxi or rent a vehicle. Take the bus to Cabo San Lucas for $2.00 (20 pesos) or a taxi for $25.00 (for up to 6 people, each way). Slightly more if you are heading to San Jose Del Cabo. Did not inquire into vehicle rental rates. The Resort does not provide shuttle service.

Overall the Resort was a pleasent experience. The Resort has been around for some time (early 1990's) and the rooms reflect that, somewhat outdated in need of a refresh (especially the mattresses, the rest is cosmetic). The demographics ranged from the single party-hardy crowd to young families to we "mature adults". There seemed to be something for everyone. You'll definitely have a good vacation here. Whether it's a great vacation depends on your expectations. Don't know if this is a true 4* accommodation but definitely a 3.5* plus.

We stayed at the Melia Feb 24-March 03.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest neverneverland95

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

Your comments will be transmitted to the all those who helped build your memorable experiences.

I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels


Regards .

Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved this resort!!! Staff were super friendly and service was excellent. The food in the buffet and the a la carte's were awesome!! Only complaint would be the hard mattress~ but you can ask for a mattress topper. Would definitely return to this resort!!

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest Patti F

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

Your comments will be transmitted to the all those who helped build your memorable experiences.

I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels


Regards .

Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just returned yesterday from a week at the Melia Cabo Real. We had a great vacation overall.
The food was very good, always something great to eat, and loved the theme night dinners - the buffet never became boring. The drinks were excellent as well, as long as you are not a rye drinker because they don't seem to have any good rye. Mango Margaritta, Mudslides, and especially great mojitos!! We really enjoyed the hours in which you could get food - the snack bar opened right after breakfeast and stayed open until 6pm when the buffet opened again. The buffet stayed open until 10:30 and from 11 - 1am you could get burgers and quesadillas in the lounge. Same with drinks, all day almost anywhere until 1am.
The staff were wonderful, the resort was very clean and the rooms very nice. It was very handy having the local bus stop right across the street which would take you either to Cabo or San Jose (about 10 minutes each way).
There was a small section of beach (near the sea doos) where you could swim and we really enjoyed that as well.
There was never any problem finding a decent chair by the pool, there were plenty, and almost all of them had a very nice thick padding and made for a great relaxing day.

I only have one complaint and it was a big one.....the beds.....OMG terrible!!! We travelled in a group of 12 and at least 8 of us are in need of massage therapy or a visit to the chiropracter!
I have never had this horrible of a bed at any resort ever!!! I had read that you could get a mattress topper for your bed, but every time I tried they were all out and I never could get one.
If you can't get one, it might be worth a trip to Walmart and pick up a cheap one for $30. I must say I had several sleepless and painful nights because of springs in my back and the bed and pillows being so hard.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest MarlaTravels

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

Your comments will be transmitted to the all those who helped build your memorable experiences.

I am at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels


Regards .

Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just returned from a week at the melia, and overall it was ok besides the front desk service. Absolutely horrendous! We were on our honeymoon vacation, and at check in ( first people from our full bus ) they couldn't accommodate newlyweds with our prebooked king size bed (Not that you will be getting any sleep in them anyways seeing as they feel like concrete) so instead We had to sleep in two different double beds. They told us to come back The following morning and they would Be able to Get us a new room. Bull. Next morning the same excuse. Morning after the same again. We Spoke with other couples that didnt even request a King bed room and had one. No champagne in the room as promised, no alcohol what so ever in the mini bar ( which they don't stock any of the rooms with , only Pepsi and water). It is an all inclusive resort and we also tried to see if we could get cans for our room so we could take them for a walk on the beach, but nope, although if you pay the thirty dollars to rent a cabanagh beach bed for the day they have cans for you. The bars were very gOod service wise but the beach bar was not open once. Drinks were as strong as you asked them to be. Poolside bar is in the shade for all hours of the day so unless it's plus 35 C then it's mostly empty. Also they don't have any music at all playing throughout the day, which can be nice but doesn't inspire much, even elevator music would be nice. Whales were seen every day jumping out of the water, not far offshore, very exciting. Hot tub is only open until 8pm and then thehy shut it completely down, even asked if they would keep it on for a few extra hours seeing how it is right at the perfect spot for viewing the ocean and relaxing... But of course they wouldn't, why would they want to accommodate the paying customers. The beach is nice if you don't mind being hassled endlessly and have feet made of steel seeing as the five hundred foot walk to the water is on "sand like" gravel. Water is unswimmable for most, but if you are decent in the water then it's a fun wave hopping location ( one of the things we really enjoyed ) . Again beach bar was non existent, and no washrooms by the beach, eight minute walk for anything. As for the food, it was enjoyable. The service was great at both Dinner locations and the buffets were also above par. Again once we were checking out the front desk was like a circus with no ring leader. We were there trying to sort out where the luggage would be stored for an hour before they found the man with the keys and then he disappears and it's another twenty minutes. Our flight wasn't until midnight and we had to check out at noon. We pleaded for a time to use a courtesy room and they gave us a slot at 6-630 for a quick shower, but again when we came to get into the room, no security guard to retrieve our luggage, then the key didn't work, then our time was up. Greaaaaat.... Basically if you are looking for a mediocre 3 star resort this would be a decent place. I don't understand how they recieve 4 star reviews. The location is great being between San Lucas , and San Jose. I would never go back to melia cabo real, as I would never recommend it to anyone I call a friend. Out of fifteen resorts I've been to ranging from 3 star to 4.5 star, this one hits the very bottom.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest Tiko86

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your comments with other travelers through this media.

We thank you for trusting us and for your insights that helps us improve our customer service day after day , we regret that your stay did not turn out as you hoped it would., if you send a email to mexperience@meliacaboreal.com we will respond to your comments as soon as possible.

Regards.

Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#10 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Melia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach And Golf Resort
Melia Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Melia
Melia Cabo Real Beach Resort
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.