We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good and reasonably cheap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Chula Vista, California, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“good and reasonably cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

we went there for 3-4 days and went with the all inclusive package. sit in Jesus' area at the buffet, great server.

pros - resort is nice, staff is great, price is right, beach access, dining, cabanas, drink selection
cons - hard beds, internet, business center.

Room Tip: get the bed topper at check in, you'll need it, the beds are very hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear User: Eddie R

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media. and that you have pointed out many details.

Also It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real,

We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest experience manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    764
    338
    158
    94
See reviews for
613
789
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Melia from 2/15 to 2/19. This was our first time staying at a resort in Mexico - we've spent the last three vacations in Jamaica. Since this was going to be a short trip, we wanted to cut down on the travel time so we choose Cabo. I was not disappointed!

Arrival - we arranged our transfer through TransCabo. After a short wait at the airport we were on our way. The ride took about 20 minutes and we were the first resort stop. Check-in was quick and we were escorted to our room.

Room - our room was in building 2 on the top (4th) floor - Oceanview with a king bed. The room was very spacious and clean. The ceiling was vaulted since we were on the top floor and it definitely added to the spaciousness of the room. We had a view of the grounds and ocean. As others have mentioned, the beds are quite firm. Not too bad for the first two nights, but we requested a topper for the rest of the trip. The mini-fridge was stocked daily with 4 waters, 2 Pepsi's, 1 Pepsi Light and 1 7-Up. The water pressure in the shower was strong and the tub was slow to drain. I soon realized that I had the dials turned all the way up. Once adjusted, the pressure and drain were just fine.

Food - We ate breakfast daily at the buffet. The selection was great and available items changed daily. The mimosa and bloody mary bars were a nice touch. For dinner, we only tried one of the a la carte restaurants - Kujira. We both enjoyed our meals there. We also ordered room service on two occasions. There is a service charge of $10 which they will warn you about when you place your order. Service was quick and efficient and the food was great. The snack bar by the pool served hamburgers, hot dogs, pizza and nachos every day.

Pool - The pool is large and busy, but there is room for everyone. There were a lot of kids in the pool in the mornings, and then by afternoon there were more adults. There is a swim-up bar - serivce was quick, drinks were good. They have a large drink menu and I enjoyed trying different drinks. You do have to get up early to reserve a chair around the pool, but even if you get there later there is room beyond the pool. We made it down to the beach one day, but just to take a walk. There are loungers down on the beach as well, but the beach bar was not open and it is a hike from the resort to the water.

Staff - each and every staff member we came in contact with was friendly and eager to provide service. I never saw our housekeeper, but she was great! Our room was cleaned each day mid-morning, restocked and looked exactly as it did when we first checked in.

Area - we took the public bus (bus stop is right across the street) into Cabo one day. It was a couple dollars and took about 20-25 minutes. Decided to take a cab on the way back, it was $25. Worth the money to visit the Marina and beach areas.

Overall, this resort provided us with exactly what we wanted out of this vacation - a quick, relaxing time with no hassles. I would recommend it to those looking for the same. I'm sure our travels will bring us back to the Melia one day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear User: Jem213

Your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media. and that you have pointed out many details.

Also It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real,

We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest experience manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ND
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Well, ANOTHER fantastic time at our timeshare at the Melia`..........WONDERFULstaff as usual, as this never changes, kudos to you!! The property looked amazing once again, they all do such nice to work to keep it this way, cheers to you all!! Adrianna and her staff at the front desk, are all so helpful and professional. I bought into the all inclusive for 3 days, THAT was wonderful, great food everywhere. If i had 1 negative comment it would have to be, that they need to get the Beach bar going again, is there a reason its not?? We have been coming for about 12 years now, and they use to have it up and running, but its been years. Also, a shout out to all the GREAT and FUN Canadians we met there, u know who u are, we had such a blast w/ you all!!! We'll be back in 2014!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear User: JoniDN

Thank You.

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media. also It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real,

Your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

Your comment in regards to Adriana has been transmitted, she has been congratulated for her efforts , since she was responsible of creating memorable experiences.

We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real in 2014 and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest experience manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

DEAR MELIA CABO REAL STAFF-

We just returned from one our most favorite vacation. We arrived on Wednesday, Feb 15 and departed on Feb 20. I have never felt the need to write a letter before but I really wanted to express our gratitude and appreciation for the hospitality we experienced on vacation.

We were so well taken care of. Our room was beautiful. We did experience Hurricane Hector in the summer and did not get the true experience your hotel has to offer. So very glad that we decided to come back. There are many people I want to compliment you on there are some I didn't get their names but the following employees made us feel so welcomed and always smiled. Really started our day and ended our day wonderfully.

Have to send a big thank you to:

Librado Guevara manager
Kristian Lizarraga waiter
Eduardo waiter
Jesus waiter
Salvator waiter
Marco waiter
Lorenzo bartender
Ruben- bartender
and Adolpho waiter who "absolutely" made our day.

and of course the people who kept our room spotless.

We really loved our vacation, we were discussing that this was one our best. All because of all of you. We wanted to again thank you very much!! We will definitely be returning!!

Thank-you
With fond memories,
Katherine Gaspar and Robert Bottone

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool as well as the ocean. Wonderful setting for a glass of wine in the even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear User: Katica720

Thank You.

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media. also It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real,

Your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels

All your comments to Librado Guevara ,Kristian Lizarraga ,Eduardo, Jesus ,Salvador, Marco
Lorenzo, Ruben and Adolfo have been transmitted and all of them have been congratulated for their efforts , since they are the responsible of creating memorable experiences.

We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest experience manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Travelled Feb 14th - 22nd - From ONTARIO. Anyone from Ontario considering this Hotel needs to read this review. Since we arrive from Toronto Canada late at night on our return we get to make up pretty much full day, leave Hotel 4pm. If you want late check out - extra charge $50 USD. It doesn't matter that our room was never cleaned before 4pm every day, one day maid was there at 5:30pm. There seems to be a shortage of staff here. Also Important, we booked & paid for Deluxe Ocean view, upon arrival we were told good news and bad news. The good we are going to up grade you to Ocean Front but No KING bed two doubles, how romantic. Be very aware this is very common issue, we talked to other guests same issue they don't have enough king beds for the packages they sell. I will be taking this up with Air Canada, if Air Canada is going to promote this Hotel they need to know what they are actually selling.
ROOMS - our room was clean and spacious, with flat screen TV and Rock Hard mattresses like everyone else talks about. SHOWER, be careful. The water is so hot it will burn you if you don't get your head removed from the water pressure.
FOOD - Let's start with A la carte - there are 2 not the 3 that are advertised. But most important if you want to book one you get to stand in a line up that starts at 9am and make reservation, you have to do this for every day you may want to make reservation, you can't pre book !!! Breakfast was best meal of the day, 2 of the 7 nights I didn't eat dinner the food was awful. Don't get me wrong I didn't starve but this is no 4.5 star. And of course Bacon you have to ask for it, don't understand it I'll assume to cut down on waste.
BEACH - disappontment. My own fault I should have been more careful. So you walk down 100 steps or so to get to the beach, you can't walk on it without cutting your feet open, when you finally make it to the water that's when you get soft sand. Also on the beach there are chairs and a bar, however the bar was NEVER open while we were there, the poor waiter took drink orders and climbed up and down the steps for you ALL day long, never ever seen anything like this before.
POOL - nice pool. lots of chairs if you get up at 6am to save one. Oh yes chair hogs. The staff should go around and pull towels off, like the signs state.
ROOM FRIDGE - supposed to have beer, NO BEER UNLESS YOU PAY !!! Yes all inclusive but pay for the beer that is advertised, that is supposed to be in the fridge.
ENTERTAINMENT - when we arrived Thursday night there was a live band, the place was rocking, we thought OK, this is great, finally a Hotel with entertainment. Another disappointment that's only on Thursday night. The other nights are DJ, cassino etc.
Overall we had a great vacation, it is what you make of it. We won't be going back to this Resort EVER. We had Ocean front, block 4, fouth floor. We could see the whales from our balcony. We met wonderful people as we always do but next year we will try something else, since we are Canadian we will probably go back to Cuba.

Room Tip: Block 3 or 4 Ocean front. Direct view of Ocean and view of the whales.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear User DDR-Ontario

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your comments with other travelers through this media.

We thank you for trusting us and for your insights that helps us improve our customer service day after day , we regret that your stay did not turn out as you hoped it would., if you send a email to mexperience@meliacaboreal.com we will respond to your comments as soon as possible.

Regards.

Guest Experience Manager.
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was our second stay at the Melia Resort. We love the location of the hotel as it is mid way between San Jose de los Cabos and Cabo. The staff, the food, the rooms are all great. We had a fantastic waiter at the Palapa restaurant, Jesus. He made our meals memerable. Why only four stars then? Well, this time we found the beds and pillows to be rock-hard. We spoke to several other guests and they said the same thing. Unfortunately we didn't know until our last night at the hotel that they could put a mattress topper on the bed. The lobby clerk told us that they were going to be replacing the beds as they had received other complaints about the mattresses. Hopefully they will carry through with the plan soon. We will certainly be staying at the Melia again!

Room Tip: Ask for a mattress topper when you check in and ask for Jesus (Chuy) to be your waiter at La Palapa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear User: MartinC

We appreciate that you have trusted us once again and for dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media we thank you. also It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real,

Your perceptions with regards to our services and the beds helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest experience manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I traveled with my husband. The hotel is located in a beautiful part of the beach. The beach is not as peaceful as I wanted, but anyway as I could see, it was the best one on that part of the beach. A plus, you can reach the beach right in front of the hotel. The room is huge, well decorated, wonderful king bed with a beautiful Mexican panel, lots of pilows. The swimming pools are huge, there is a bar inside the pool, so you can drink as much as you want and all you must do is cross the swimming pool, seat in the bank and order the whole list. Lots of chairs under the coconut trees, just amazing! Breakfast was a feast with fruits, cakes, cheese, breads, champagne, wine, mexican food. You can also eat all day long as there is a counter by the pool, which serves tacos, salads, sandwiches, fruits, incredible! At night you can reserve one of the three restaurants, any of them will serve you good food. I'v been there during the week of "Dia de Los Muertos- Halloween", and we had an amazing time. The hotel was all decorated, the restaurant served delicious food and the kids were having a lot of fun. We visited the city of San Jose, which is a small village, very simple with a few stores and restaurants. We went on a tour that we bought on the hotel, with a van that took us around and then with a boat to Playa del Amor. We had lunch in San Lucas excellent food, had a tequila tasting session (uau!) and visited a cristal blowing factory, very interesting. San Lucas has a better structure, the hotels are beautiful. I would certainly return to Melia Cabo Real and fully recommend it for an unfortetable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliacaboreal, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear User: CarmoSaoPaulo

Your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes the Melia Hotels.

We appreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share your experiences with other travelers through this media. also It gives us great pleasure to know that overall you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Melia Cabo Real and that you experience the day of the death (dia de Muertos ) a traditional celebration that honors all those that past away.


We expect to have you back to Melia Cabo Real and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Melia Hotels.


Thank you.

Mario Gaona
Guest experience manager
@ mexperience@meliacaboreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Transpeninsular Km 19.5 | Sector 5, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#10 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Melia, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach And Golf Resort
Melia Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Melia
Melia Cabo Real Beach Resort
Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Cabo Real All-Inclusive Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.